129 patient evaluations for Modafinil

mbgm14
2976 thumb
mbgm14
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Severe
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: mild
Vision: moderate
Speech: mild
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: mild
Walking: moderate
I am: n
I have:
MS

See mbgm14's full Modafinil history

Jun 26, 2015 (Started Jan 10, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Brain fog: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Advice & Tips: Stick to it. Take before noon. It could otherwise keep you awake at night.
Cost: Not specified monthly

Mar 19, 2009 (Started Jan 10, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Brain fog: Can’t tell
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: Not specified monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
thjuland
647 thumb
thjuland
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Mild
Cognition: moderate
Vision: mild
Speech: mild
Swallowing: mild
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: g
I have:
MS

See thjuland's full Modafinil history

Apr 28, 2015 (Started Oct 14, 2005)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: None
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Provigil continues to be a very effective treatment for fatigue, I would not be able to stay awake without it.
Cost: Not specified monthly

Jan 25, 2012 (Started Oct 14, 2005)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: The increased dosage helps to shorten how long I sleep, when I sometimes still fall asleep during the day. I also don't fall back to sleep, right after eating breakfast or lunch.
Cost: Not specified monthly

Jul 19, 2009 (Started Oct 14, 2005)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Cost: Not specified monthly

Nov 7, 2008 (Started Oct 14, 2005)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Provigil has enabled me to stay awake and function all day, without it I fall asleep when I am sitting down longer than 15 minutes. I am still able to nap or rest, even if I just took it and it does not make me nervous or jittery.
Cost: $100-199 monthly

  • 1 helpful mark
marier
49472 thumb
marier
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 23
Condition: Narcolepsy 1 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I have:
Narcolepsy

See marier's full Modafinil history

Feb 28, 2015 (Started Apr 15, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Narcolepsy: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 300 mg Daily

Oct 7, 2012 (Started Apr 15, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Narcolepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 200 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
Tulabee
14440 thumb
Tulabee
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
On
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: mild
Chest: mild
Legs: mild
I am: g
I have:
Parkinson's

See Tulabee's full Modafinil history

Feb 1, 2015 (Started Sep 01, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence): Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I take 300mg/day.
Cost: Not specified monthly

Nov 8, 2014 (Started Sep 01, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence): Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Started on Nov 1. 2014 this season. 300mg modafinil. Yes, I n case I start to doubt if the drug is helpful--it is. Caffeine does not help me feel better. More sleep does not help me feel more lively.
Cost: Not specified monthly

Feb 22, 2014 (Started Sep 01, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence): Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I have been take this seasonally. Note that the "plan" price at Express Scripts was about $1000 for 90 day supply (any dosage); my insurance price was about $100. Now, my insurance price for the same 90 day supply is $20 and I think it's because of generic/patent status.
Cost: Not specified monthly

Apr 18, 2013 (Started Sep 01, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence): Moderate
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I still take this in the fall (when the days are just starting to get short) like the end of August. I then stop in March. I have used Nuvigil or Provigil. If I decrease dose, i am sleepy during day. If i maintain does, it is very easy to stay up until 1am.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Aug 23, 2011 (Started Sep 01, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence): Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Helps with sleepiness during the day.
Cost: < $25 monthly

May 13, 2010 (Started Sep 01, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence): Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Advice & Tips: I liked Provigil. It counteracted the sleepiness from Cymbalta prescribed by the psychatrist, but the dosage wasn't enough for sleepiness from Mirapex prescribed by the neurologist. Medco wouldn't up my dosage.
Cost: < $25 monthly

May 2, 2010 (Started Sep 01, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence): Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: This works. My Rx ran out, then Medco wouldn't allow me300mg/day. then the dr. subscribes a new drug Nuvigil for250g/day. Note that Provigil will go generic soon, and the cost will decrease.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
hank2555
Portrait default thumb
hank2555
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Mild
Cognition: none
Vision: moderate
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: n
I have:
MS

See hank2555's full Modafinil history

Sep 10, 2014 (Started Feb 28, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Great for people like me..Help you use your brain for positive effects.
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Feb 10, 2014 (Started Feb 28, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 100 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
patrickm
453 thumb
patrickm
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: None
Overall: None
Cognition: moderate
Vision: none
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: none
Walking: mild
I am: b
I have:
MS

See patrickm's full Modafinil history

Aug 19, 2014 (Started Nov 01, 2006)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Oct 14, 2008 (Started Nov 01, 2006)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: would be jello without it
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
rose5
13543 thumb
rose5
Sex: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
On
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: moderate
Chest: severe
Legs: severe
I am: vb
I have:
Parkinson's

See rose5's full Modafinil history

Aug 11, 2014 (Started Aug 31, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence): Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Advice & Tips: It is still working well, as my napping and dozing has decreased quite a bit. Thumbs Up to Provigil!!
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jul 14, 2012 (Started Aug 31, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence): Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Advice & Tips: DEFINITELY HELPS SO I'M NOT ALWAYS DOZING OFF.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Dec 1, 2011 (Started Aug 31, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence): Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Advice & Tips: The insurance company stopped paying for Provogil. It took a month to get it approved.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Nov 15, 2011 (Started Aug 31, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence): Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Advice & Tips: I get very tired and could sleep all day. I was on Provigil, but then the insurance company denied refills. It took a month to get the insurance company to approve it.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Aug 1, 2011 (Started Aug 31, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence): Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Advice & Tips: I was on Provigil because e I was sleeping all the time. Then insurance company denied my prescription. It took one month to get me back on it.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Aug 1, 2010 (Started Aug 31, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence): Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Advice & Tips: Without this medication, I sleep on & off all day, and I am constantly weak & tired. I don't feel like doing anything. My insurance company stopped paying for it for 1 month while I appealed their decision. I won the appeal and I thank God I was able to take it again.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
desrat
28533 thumb
desrat
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Relapse: Moderate
Sensation: None
Overall: Mild
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: mild
Walking: none
I am: g
I have:
MS

See desrat's full Modafinil history

Jul 1, 2014 (Started Mar 18, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: Can’t tell
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Cigna won't cover this through CVS as of 5/2014 Dr said they appealed, have heard nothing, so I wonder about that. I have been taking this medicine for a decade, there's no reason that I see why this isn't covered even if it IS a C-IV.

Oct 8, 2010 (Started Mar 18, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: Can’t tell
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: It keeps me awake, which was perfect when I worked 12-hour days. I makes me pretty irascible, but if I take 20mg of fluoxetine with it, my moods are just fine. I wish this wasn't a C-IV controlled substance, it would be easier to get it refilled, but I never have been denied, there's just an extra form the doc has to fax to the pharmacy.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Keeper of the Flame
10493 thumb
Keeper of the Flame
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: All
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: Little
external_stress: Some
Stickman: all
Description:F57y
CFS:?y
FM:7y Dx
I am: b
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See Keeper of the Flame's full Modafinil history

Apr 17, 2014 (Started Jan 07, 2014)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence): Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I take the Provigil with my morning meds and it has made a significant improvement in my daytime fatigue. I have benefited from feeling mentally alert and able to function better. I feel as if some of the weight has been lifted off of my shoulders. I did not notice a real change until after the 4th week.
Cost: Not specified monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Motivatories
10799 thumb
Motivatories
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Relapse: Severe
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Mild
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: none
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: mild
Walking: moderate
I am: n
I have:
MS

See Motivatories's full Modafinil history

Jan 15, 2014 (Started Jul 15, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence): Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I would certainly recommend this drup to keep you awake but it does not increase energy levels
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 129 patient evaluations for Modafinil