104 patient evaluations for Amantadine

530 members have decided to share their profiles only with other members of PatientsLikeMe.

florije
3753 thumb
florije
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Sensation: Mild
Overall: None
Cognition: mild
Vision: mild
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: none
Walking: none
I am: vg
I have:
MS

See florije's full Amantadine history

Jan 2, 2011 (Started Oct 17, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Fatigue)
  • Effectiveness
    None (for Balance problems)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Cost: < $25 monthly

May 25, 2010 (Started Oct 17, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Fatigue)
  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Balance problems)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Aug 24, 2008 (Started Oct 17, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fatigue)
  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Balance problems)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
ducdu
38827 thumb
ducdu
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Off
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: mild
Chest: mild
Legs: severe
I am: b
I have:
Parkinson's

See ducdu's full Amantadine history

Jan 1, 2011 (Started Jan 28, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    Moderate
  • Adherence
    Never taken as prescribed
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
old goat
5823 thumb
old goat
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: moderate
Arms: severe
Chest: moderate
Legs: severe
I am: g
I have:
ALS

See old goat's full Amantadine history

Nov 2, 2010 (Started Dec 28, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fatigue)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Dry tongue, Dry mouth

Jan 28, 2010 (Started Dec 28, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Fatigue)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: It makes me a little more active during the day but I am not sleeping through the night so I am backing down the dosage or take the secound dosage earlyer.
Side effects: Dry tongue, Dry mouth

  • 0 helpful marks
bluespring mser
Portrait default thumb
bluespring mser
Sex: M
Data Quality: 0 stars
Sensation: None
Overall: None
Cognition: none
Vision: none
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: mild
Walking: severe
I am: g
I have:
MS

See bluespring mser's full Amantadine history

Sep 1, 2010 (Started Nov 01, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Fatigue)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Never taken as prescribed
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
TLRothwell
19589 thumb
TLRothwell
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
On
Mouth/throat: none
Arms: none
Chest: mild
Legs: mild
I am: vb
I have:
Parkinson's

See TLRothwell's full Amantadine history

Jun 23, 2010 (Started Jan 01, 1983)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I have taken this drug for close over 20 years and haven't had to change the dosage. The wonderful thingwith this drug is that it is also an anti-virual medication and I tolerate it well.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jan 1, 1980 (Started Jan 01, 1983)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Never taken as prescribed
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Advice & Tips: This was the drug I have taken for over 15 years and never increased the dosage. It definatetly has with my stiffness.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
GoCats76
717 thumb
GoCats76
Sex: M
Data Quality: 0 stars
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: none
Chest: mild
Legs: mild
I have:
Parkinson's

See GoCats76's full Amantadine history

May 31, 2010 (Started Jun 10, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: It's hard to tell if this is doing anything at all because when I miss a dose, my symptom don't change.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Fatigue

Sep 11, 2008 (Started Jun 10, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Other)
  • side effects
    Mild (Fatigue)
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Fatigue

  • 0 helpful marks
TejasToo
25936 thumb
TejasToo
Sex: M
Data Quality: 0 stars
On
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: mild
Chest: moderate
Legs: moderate
I have:
Parkinson's

See TejasToo's full Amantadine history

May 23, 2010 (Started Feb 08, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 3 x 50 mg/5 mL Daily
Advice & Tips: In 2008, I was taking Amantadine capsules but dropped them for some reason which I didn't record. The syrup was recommended by a PA in my neurologist's office. My primary management problems with it are related to its form: 1) my wife requires me to keep it in the kitchen where I sometimes forget to take it; 2) I use a cylindrical dosage device which holds 10ml and I tried measuring it painstakingly at 5ml until I noticed that the specified dosage is 1 to 2 teaspoons full (5 to 10 ml) twice a day; so now I fill the device about 2/3 full (7.5 to 8.5 ml) and don't worry about the variation in the dosage
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
indygilr21
14165 thumb
indygilr21
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
On
Mouth/throat: moderate
Arms: moderate
Chest: mild
Legs: moderate
I am: b
I have:
Parkinson's

See indygilr21's full Amantadine history

May 18, 2010 (Started Oct 21, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Skin rash, Dizziness

Feb 17, 2010 (Started Oct 21, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Cost: $25-49 monthly
Side effects: Skin rash, Dizziness

Nov 24, 2009 (Started Oct 21, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    Mild (Skin rash, Dizziness)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Cost: $25-49 monthly
Side effects: Skin rash, Dizziness

Oct 27, 2009 (Started Oct 21, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    Mild (Dizziness)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Cost: $25-49 monthly
Side effects: Skin rash, Dizziness

  • 0 helpful marks
IlliniMS
12481 thumb
IlliniMS
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Relapse: Moderate
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: None
Cognition: none
Vision: none
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: none
Walking: mild
I am: b
I have:
MS

See IlliniMS's full Amantadine history

May 17, 2010 (Started Jun 01, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fatigue)
  • side effects
    Severe (Livedo reticularis)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Discontinued due to side effect of Livedo Reticularis
Side effects: Livedo reticularis

Jan 1, 2010 (Started Jun 01, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fatigue)
  • side effects
    Mild (Livedo reticularis)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Use of this medication has significantly improved early morning fatigue by 90% efficacy.
Side effects: Livedo reticularis

Oct 15, 2009 (Started Jun 01, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Fatigue)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Side effects: Livedo reticularis

  • 1 helpful mark
SCRABBLE37
7203 thumb
SCRABBLE37
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Off
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: mild
Chest: none
Legs: mild
I am: g
I have:
Parkinson's

See SCRABBLE37's full Amantadine history

May 13, 2010 (Started Dec 14, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fatigue)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Apr 21, 2010 (Started Dec 14, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fatigue)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jan 4, 2010 (Started Dec 14, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fatigue)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Dec 14, 2009 (Started Dec 14, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fatigue)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 104 patient evaluations for Amantadine