107 patient evaluations for Amantadine

589 members have decided to share their profiles only with other members of PatientsLikeMe.

rose5
13543 thumb
rose5
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
On
Mouth/throat: moderate
Arms: moderate
Chest: severe
Legs: severe
I am: vb
I have:
Parkinson's

See rose5's full Amantadine history

Jun 15, 2011 (Started Jun 15, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I was put on Amantadine while I was waiting for insurance company to approve Provigil.

  • 0 helpful marks
surf1015
44554 thumb
surf1015
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Mood: Bad
Cognition: Severe
Autonomic: Mild
Head: mild
Arms: mild
Legs: mild
Tremors: moderate
I am: vg
I have:
MSA

See surf1015's full Amantadine history

Apr 1, 2011 (Started Apr 01, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Kirk46
8104 thumb
Kirk46
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
On
Mouth/throat: none
Arms: none
Chest: none
Legs: none
I am: vg
I have:
Parkinson's

See Kirk46's full Amantadine history

Feb 16, 2011 (Started Dec 20, 2005)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Tremor(s))
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jan 1, 2010 (Started Dec 20, 2005)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Tremor(s))
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Dec 20, 2008 (Started Dec 20, 2005)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Other)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
TomR
18887 thumb
TomR
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: mild
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: mild
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: g
I have:
MS

See TomR's full Amantadine history

Jan 21, 2011 (Started Dec 17, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Memory problems)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I took it for one month to see if had any benefit, Will start on Providgil any day now.

  • 0 helpful marks
D'awesome
4080 thumb
D'awesome
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: n
I have:
MS

See D'awesome's full Amantadine history

Jan 10, 2011 (Started Dec 05, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: worked fine but new neuro suggested Nuvigil to do what Provigil and Amantadine was doing together.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Dec 1, 2010 (Started Dec 05, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Worked well in conjunction with Provigil
Cost: < $25 monthly

Mar 15, 2010 (Started Dec 05, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: since some people were taking this for sleepiness AND some people were also taking Provigil and I was already on Provigil and doubling Provigil DIDN'T help improve my somnolence or narcoleptic-like episodes, I asked the neuro to try the combination and together they are helping tremendously. I STILL get the extreme fatigue and if I don't check myself I can still fall off sort of asleep but it's not the instant out like it was and I have more energy longer into the day now. WITHOUT it I couldn't cope. Without BOTH, I'd be bedridden.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 1 helpful mark
florije
3753 thumb
florije
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Sensation: Mild
Overall: None
Cognition: mild
Vision: mild
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: none
Walking: none
I am: vg
I have:
MS

See florije's full Amantadine history

Jan 2, 2011 (Started Oct 17, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Fatigue)
  • Effectiveness
    None (for Balance problems)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Cost: < $25 monthly

May 25, 2010 (Started Oct 17, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Fatigue)
  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Balance problems)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Aug 24, 2008 (Started Oct 17, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fatigue)
  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Balance problems)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
ducdu
38827 thumb
ducdu
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Off
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: mild
Chest: mild
Legs: severe
I am: b
I have:
Parkinson's

See ducdu's full Amantadine history

Jan 1, 2011 (Started Jan 28, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    Moderate
  • Adherence
    Never taken as prescribed
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
old goat
5823 thumb
old goat
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: moderate
Arms: severe
Chest: moderate
Legs: severe
I am: g
I have:
ALS

See old goat's full Amantadine history

Nov 2, 2010 (Started Dec 28, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fatigue)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Dry tongue, Dry mouth

Jan 28, 2010 (Started Dec 28, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Fatigue)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: It makes me a little more active during the day but I am not sleeping through the night so I am backing down the dosage or take the secound dosage earlyer.
Side effects: Dry tongue, Dry mouth

  • 0 helpful marks
bluespring mser
Portrait default thumb
bluespring mser
Sex: M
Data Quality: 0 stars
Sensation: None
Overall: None
Cognition: none
Vision: none
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: mild
Walking: severe
I am: g
I have:
MS

See bluespring mser's full Amantadine history

Sep 1, 2010 (Started Nov 01, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Fatigue)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Never taken as prescribed
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
TLRothwell
19589 thumb
TLRothwell
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
On
Mouth/throat: none
Arms: none
Chest: mild
Legs: mild
I am: vb
I have:
Parkinson's

See TLRothwell's full Amantadine history

Jun 23, 2010 (Started Jan 01, 1983)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I have taken this drug for close over 20 years and haven't had to change the dosage. The wonderful thingwith this drug is that it is also an anti-virual medication and I tolerate it well.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jan 1, 1980 (Started Jan 01, 1983)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Never taken as prescribed
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Advice & Tips: This was the drug I have taken for over 15 years and never increased the dosage. It definatetly has with my stiffness.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 107 patient evaluations for Amantadine