104 patient evaluations for Amantadine

555 members have decided to share their profiles only with other members of PatientsLikeMe.

Les1952
36733 thumb
Les1952
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Sensation: None
Overall: Mild
Cognition: mild
Vision: moderate
Speech: mild
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: mild
I am: vg
I have:
MS

See Les1952's full Amantadine history

Aug 25, 2016 (Started Aug 15, 1987)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Multiple Sclerosis)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Mar 27, 2014 (Started Aug 15, 1987)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Multiple Sclerosis)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Vision loss)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
JesswithMS
995 thumb
JesswithMS
Sex: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: mild
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: b
I have:
MS

See JesswithMS's full Amantadine history

Jul 19, 2016 (Started Apr 15, 2014)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Fatigue)
  • side effects
    Mild (Fatigue)
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: Instead of making me to be fatigued, after taking it, the drug actually made me more tired.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
EdSikov
52249 thumb
EdSikov
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
On
Mouth/throat: none
Arms: mild
Chest: mild
Legs: moderate
I am: g
I have:
Parkinson's

See EdSikov's full Amantadine history

Jun 30, 2016 (Started Apr 22, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    Severe (Sex drive (libido) decreased, Dizziness, Swelling in legs, feet and ankles, Difficulty urinating (dysuria), Dry eyes)
  • Adherence
    Never taken as prescribed
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Cost: < $25 monthly

Nov 21, 2015 (Started Apr 22, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 14, 2013 (Started Apr 22, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    Severe (Sex drive (libido) decreased, Dizziness, Swelling in legs, feet and ankles, Difficulty urinating (dysuria), Dry eyes)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

May 6, 2012 (Started Apr 22, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 18, 2011 (Started Apr 22, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily

  • 1 helpful mark
lizzy4451
8001 thumb
lizzy4451
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
On
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: mild
Chest: none
Legs: mild
I am: vg
I have:
Parkinson's

See lizzy4451's full Amantadine history

Mar 29, 2016 (Started Jul 01, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    Mild (Loss of short term memory)
  • Adherence
    Sometimes
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Twice daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
BAWAlex
5242 thumb
BAWAlex
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
On
Mouth/throat: none
Arms: mild
Chest: none
Legs: mild
I am: g
I have:
Parkinson's

See BAWAlex's full Amantadine history

Feb 24, 2016 (Started Aug 23, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg Twice daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jan 6, 2011 (Started Aug 23, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Barbeczak
49056 thumb
Barbeczak
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: severe
I am: vg
I have:
MS

See Barbeczak's full Amantadine history

Feb 22, 2016 (Started Dec 07, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Fatigue)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Twice daily
Advice & Tips: 2 pills daily but the second pill before 2pm. 2pm is inconvenient and easy to miss. I either take both at breakfast or the second at noon but I have forgotten altogether and taken the second at as late as 9pm. I have 0 side effects (like insomnia) but then I've seen NO reduction in fatigue either.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
PD Walker
38330 thumb
PD Walker
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
On
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: mild
Chest: mild
Legs: mild
I am: g
I have:
Parkinson's

See PD Walker's full Amantadine history

Jan 29, 2016 (Started Mar 20, 2002)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Dyskinesia)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Four times daily
Advice & Tips: I have been taking Amantadine so long, I don't know what it does anymore or if it helps with Dyskinesia or not.
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Sep 19, 2008 (Started Mar 20, 2002)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 300 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
relayman
4565 thumb
relayman
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
On
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: mild
Chest: mild
Legs: mild
I am: vg
I have:
Parkinson's

See relayman's full Amantadine history

Dec 15, 2015 (Started May 01, 2005)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
keller
1448 thumb
keller
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Mouth/throat: none
Arms: none
Chest: none
Legs: mild
I have:
Parkinson's

See keller's full Amantadine history

Dec 15, 2015 (Started Nov 15, 2004)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Never taken as prescribed
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Advice & Tips: I stopped taking this drug because it did not seem to be helping any.

  • 0 helpful marks
Pirates
10210 thumb
Pirates
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
On
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: mild
Chest: mild
Legs: mild
I am: g
I have:
Parkinson's

See Pirates's full Amantadine history

Jun 20, 2015 (Started Jul 01, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I was curling my toes tightly causing pain and discomfort. This drug has halted that problem.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 104 patient evaluations for Amantadine