108 patient evaluations for Amantadine

597 members have decided to share their profiles only with other members of PatientsLikeMe.

TamiLynn
775 thumb
TamiLynn
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Off
Mouth/throat: none
Arms: mild
Chest: none
Legs: mild
I am: vg
I have:
Parkinson's

See TamiLynn's full Amantadine history

Jan 3, 2017 (Started Nov 18, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: $100-199 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
egaspar
42051 thumb
egaspar
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Off
Mouth/throat: none
Arms: none
Chest: mild
Legs: none
I am: g
I have:
Parkinson's

See egaspar's full Amantadine history

Dec 30, 2016 (Started Jan 19, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Tremor in right wrist and hand during walking arm swing)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Tremor in hands)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Nausea, Muscle and joint pain)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Now that I have found the right cocktail I've been able to return to work full time. after being on disability for almost three years . so far it's been two months since I went back and I'm going strong . Don't get me wrong there are days when I'm exhausted from the nine hour day but it's a good kind of exhausted .
Cost: $100-199 monthly

Apr 16, 2014 (Started Jan 19, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Nausea, Muscle and joint pain)
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: $100-199 monthly

Mar 11, 2012 (Started Jan 19, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Nausea, Muscle and joint pain)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jan 8, 2012 (Started Jan 19, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Tremor in right wrist and hand during walking arm swing)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Tremor in hands)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    Mild
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Advice & Tips: It took me several trips to the Neurologist before we found the right drug cocktail. Now that I have found the right cocktail I've been able to return to work full time. after being on disability for almost three years . so far it's been two months since I went back and I'm going strong .  Don't get me wrong there are days when I'm exhausted from the nine hour day but it's a good kind of exhausted .  
Cost: $25-49 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
PD Walker
38330 thumb
PD Walker
Sex: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
On
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: mild
Chest: mild
Legs: mild
I am: g
I have:
Parkinson's

See PD Walker's full Amantadine history

Oct 22, 2016 (Started Mar 20, 2002)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Jerky movements (dyskinesia))
  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Never taken as prescribed
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Four times daily
Advice & Tips: I don't have any advice, a tip might be to listen to your body
Cost: $25-49 monthly

Jan 29, 2016 (Started Mar 20, 2002)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Jerky movements (dyskinesia))
  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Four times daily
Advice & Tips: I have been taking Amantadine so long, I don't know what it does anymore or if it helps with Dyskinesia or not.
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Sep 19, 2008 (Started Mar 20, 2002)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 300 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
Pirates
10210 thumb
Pirates
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
On
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: mild
Chest: mild
Legs: mild
I am: g
I have:
Parkinson's

See Pirates's full Amantadine history

Oct 20, 2016 (Started Jul 01, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jun 20, 2015 (Started Jul 01, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I was curling my toes tightly causing pain and discomfort. This drug has halted that problem.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Magzmom
5107 thumb
Magzmom
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
On
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: mild
Chest: mild
Legs: mild
I am: n
I have:
Parkinson's

See Magzmom's full Amantadine history

Sep 28, 2016 (Started Apr 16, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Tulabee
14440 thumb
Tulabee
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
On
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: mild
Chest: mild
Legs: mild
I am: g
I have:
Parkinson's

See Tulabee's full Amantadine history

Sep 23, 2016 (Started Feb 11, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Advice & Tips: No change.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Feb 1, 2015 (Started Feb 11, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Advice & Tips: I still take this. No changes
Cost: < $25 monthly

Oct 1, 2011 (Started Feb 11, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Advice & Tips: This did not seem to decrease the dyskiinesia caused by l-dopa.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Aug 23, 2011 (Started Feb 11, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Advice & Tips: I was prescribed this medicine because I was experiencing dyskenisia effect from levodopa. It helps, but it is not perfect. I can still feel some movement.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
chasmengr
53779 thumb
chasmengr
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Sensation: Mild
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: mild
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: n
I have:
MS

See chasmengr's full Amantadine history

Sep 15, 2016 (Started Jan 22, 2013)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Fatigue)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
LindaB
1712 thumb
LindaB
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
On
Mouth/throat: moderate
Arms: moderate
Chest: severe
Legs: moderate
I am: vg
I have:
Parkinson's

See LindaB's full Amantadine history

Sep 15, 2016 (Started Mar 13, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
Trainman
6519 thumb
Trainman
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
On
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: none
Chest: mild
Legs: none
I am: g
I have:
Parkinson's

See Trainman's full Amantadine history

Sep 12, 2016 (Started Oct 28, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Tremor(s))
  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Three times daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Mar 4, 2015 (Started Oct 28, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Tremor(s))
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Three times daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jan 9, 2014 (Started Oct 28, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Tremor(s))
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I unfortunately don't have any perspective of what NOT taking this medication is like. You will see similar comments with other medications taken
Cost: < $25 monthly

Feb 13, 2012 (Started Oct 28, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Tremor(s))
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
sweetad
5789 thumb
sweetad
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Relapse: Severe
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: n
I have:
MS

See sweetad's full Amantadine history

Sep 3, 2016 (Started Jun 08, 2003)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Fatigue)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 29, 2008 (Started Jun 08, 2003)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fatigue)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 108 patient evaluations for Amantadine