20 patient evaluations for Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS)

dhaniboi
19508 thumb
dhaniboi
Data Quality: 3 stars
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 44y
  • Duration: 40 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: Mild
Surgery type: Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS)
7 seizures
this week
I am: n
I have:
Epilepsy

See dhaniboi's full Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS) history

Feb 19, 2015 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jan 21, 2015 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: the last replacement of the generator was 8-12-2009. not sure how much more juice this uses now since increased. After my last visit in December 18th 2014 the seizure have gone down the following week but are back up now. I have had 136 in the past 4 weeks according to this.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Dec 20, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Nov 28, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Nov 18, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: the cough lasted only 2 hours after the increase.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Nov 3, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Oct 24, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: wanna raise strength maybe frequency.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Oct 21, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Oct 17, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Oct 14, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Oct 12, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: eanna raise it or the frequency.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Oct 11, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Oct 9, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: curious about raising it. Since being replaced it has only been changed a couple times. I just dont want it to be as strong as the magnet. msybe legthen time on. Ask Dr. Labiner
Cost: < $25 monthly

Oct 7, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: like to try to raise VNS a little. Dont think we do much but check it in the drug study may have raised the manual activation strength. Can't remember any other times.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Oct 5, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 26, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 25, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 18, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 15, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 12, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: at about 50% so have 4-5 more years on this one.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 10, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 8, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 4, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Aug 31, 2014 (Started Dec 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
shell052169
27098 thumb
shell052169
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 45y
  • Duration: 34 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Mild
Surgery type: Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS)
0 seizures
2 weeks ago
I am: n
I have:
Epilepsy

See shell052169's full Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS) history

Jan 12, 2014 (Started Jul 21, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Seizures (grand mal or tonic-clonic): Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: I STRONGLY suggest to all of you who are a candidate for a VNS to go for it. You have nothing to lose. This has changed my life and my family's also. I even finally got my drivers license at the age of 42. Miracles can happen.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Strange cough

Jun 17, 2012 (Started Jul 21, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Seizures (grand mal or tonic-clonic): Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: I can only say this the VNS has changed my life totqlly and I have a new outlook for life. I feel better and I want to wake up in the morning and look forward to the day. I must say if you have the opportunity to have this procedure done take it.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Strange cough

Oct 6, 2010 (Started Jul 21, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Seizures (grand mal or tonic-clonic): Slight
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: Patience, this treatment takes a lot of patience. There are many side effects and it takes a lot of time but in my eyes in the long run it will all be worth it. I just went through a day where I had 4 grand mal seizures in one day and ended up in the ICU for three days. My wife told my that the seizures were shorter and I came out of them faster so I look at it this way The VNS is starting to work. I just have to be patient and that is the best advice I can give to anyone thinking of this procedure. Be PATIENT it will work out in time.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Strange cough

Aug 25, 2010 (Started Jul 21, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Seizures (grand mal or tonic-clonic): Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: I only had the surgery a month ago but I have already seen improvements. I have had seizures without losing consciousness or having convulsions. I am very horse but i am sure when they find the right level my voice will get back to normal. I mean after all the stimulator is going off every 5 minutes right now. i can't tell when it goes off anymore. I could for the first couple of days.
Side effects: Strange cough

  • 1 helpful mark
OlgaLowe
Portrait default thumb
OlgaLowe
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 36y
  • Duration: ? yrs
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: None
Surgery type: Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS)
3 seizures
134 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See OlgaLowe's full Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS) history

Aug 10, 2012 (Started Jan 11, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Seizures (complex partial): Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: It takes some getting use to. See a neurophyscologist to help you to accept and adjust. It is a physical and mental challange but once you have gotten over the first hurdle and can see the change it is making it does become easier. Unexpected benifit for me is that I feel more alert and less tired. It has been a positive treatment for me.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Tonialpha
21423 thumb
Tonialpha
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 61y
  • Duration: 47 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
Surgery type: Left Temporal Lobectomy, Selective Amygdalohippocampectomy, Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS)
100 seizures
44 weeks ago
I am: n
I have:
Epilepsy

See Tonialpha's full Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS) history

Oct 20, 2011 (Started May 22, 2001)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Very
Dosage: Weekly
Advice & Tips: Dr. turned it off for a year and that helped. Now I am having the symptoms again.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Swallowing difficulty (dysphagia)

Sep 15, 2000 (Started May 22, 2001)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Advice & Tips: Initially asthma symptoms increased, used O2. I lost my ability to sing, Seizures increased, changed Epileptologist Used all ranges on machine. Changed battery. I wanted it out but seizures started to get better Now w/ low levels my seizures are better under control. Asthma is better Throat is not swollen anymore
Side effects: Swallowing difficulty (dysphagia)

  • 0 helpful marks
walkthisway
29539 thumb
walkthisway
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 68y
  • Duration: 68 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: None
Surgery type: Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS)
0 seizures
198 weeks ago
I am: vg
I have:
Epilepsy

See walkthisway's full Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS) history

May 1, 2011 (Started May 27, 1998)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: At the beginning, I had to adjust to it. I was VERY conscious about it. Now, I don't know it's there. There has been fewer seizures. And I can actually STOP a seizure.

  • 0 helpful marks
HuskerKat
23407 thumb
HuskerKat
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 54y
  • Duration: 45 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: None
Surgery type: Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS)
0 seizures
207 weeks ago
I am: vg
I have:
Epilepsy

See HuskerKat's full Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS) history

Mar 15, 2011 (Started Jan 01, 2000)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Using the Magnet also worked some on Migrains and stress!: Can’t tell
  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: My battery lasted 11 years and have just had to have it replaced but I would recommend this to anyone with partial seizures it is awesome. Since I received mine in 2000 I have been almost totally controled with very few problems. I handle all areas of my life better and it helps with migraines as well as the deppression some. I am very glad I made the original decision to do this. God is good. Life is finallly wonderful with no out of control seizures. With my new VNS I am hoping to get off of some of my meds this time.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jul 1, 2010 (Started Jan 01, 2000)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Using the Magnet also worked some on Migrains and stress!: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: This is an awesome treatment! My seizures were never controlled before I had this. The only reason that it is not a treatment now is that the battery has gone dead and I am awaiting a time when I can afford the replacement or the hospital and surgeons can donate the time and funds for a new model. I do not have insurance thus I cannot afford to have the new one unless the services are donated.
Cost: < $25 monthly

May 16, 2010 (Started Jan 01, 2000)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Using the Magnet also worked some on Migrains and stress!: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: I expected the device to be a great deal more noticable as I had a very early model It only shows when in the summer I wear low cut dresses which is rare. I even went back to work the very next day. I sang in the choir at the time at church and never even had an issue there it only bothered my voice right after they changed the level that it was set at. Was even more surprised that insurance paid all!
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
trice
16081 thumb
trice
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 45y
  • Duration: 31 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: None
Surgery type: Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS)
0 seizures
2 weeks ago
I am: vg
I have:
Epilepsy

See trice's full Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS) history

Jan 19, 2011 (Started Dec 01, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Slight
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: Thus far it has been only 20 days that i have been on VNS the compliance factor is great and there is a slight cough when i use the magnet otherwise the impact of VNS is dramatic -- i have had only 1 seizure since the operation and it was controlled greatly with the magnet.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 1 helpful mark
Chris Kringle
Portrait default thumb
Chris Kringle
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 32y
  • Duration: 21 yrs
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Unreported
  • Physical: Unreported
Surgery type: Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS)
0 seizures
139 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See Chris Kringle's full Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS) history

Jun 15, 2010 (Started May 29, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: None
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Very
Advice & Tips: my experience included faulty equipment from Cyberonics (VNS manufacturer) that shocked me twice SEVERELY and would not stop....DO NOT RECIEVE THIS DEVICE. I did however receive authorization for my Michigan Medical Marijuana Permit from a very frightened Neurologist who didn't know what he was signing immediately after I had been shocked =]

  • 0 helpful marks
mdeall88
21686 thumb
mdeall88
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 26y
  • Duration: 13 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Mild
Surgery type: Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS)
2 seizures
103 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See mdeall88's full Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS) history

May 21, 2010 (Started Jul 21, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Seizures (grand mal or tonic-clonic): Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: One time
Advice & Tips: Has a real pinch when you have to turn it on. I can feel it turn on sometimes and that feeling is a tight feeling in my neck. To get rid of that feeling I lift up my head and stretch it out. I've had 4 seizures with it and it has been adjusted. The electric pulse has been increased twice and the latest adjustment has been how often it turns on.

  • 0 helpful marks
SarahW
19975 thumb
SarahW
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 35y
  • Duration: 18 yrs
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Unreported
  • Physical: Unreported
Surgery type: Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS), Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS)
2 seizures
243 weeks ago
I am: b
I have:
Epilepsy

See SarahW's full Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS) history

Mar 17, 2010 (Started May 10, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 20 patient evaluations for Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS)