41 patient evaluations for Wheelchair (manual)

93 members have decided to share their profiles only with other members of PatientsLikeMe.

senad
16866 thumb
senad
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: none
Arms: moderate
Chest: mild
Legs: moderate
I am: g
I have:
ALS

See senad's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Jun 24, 2016 (Started Nov 01, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Improve mobility)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: Using it in moderation.
Cost: $200+ monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
rose5
13543 thumb
rose5
Sex: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
On
Mouth/throat: moderate
Arms: moderate
Chest: severe
Legs: severe
I am: n
I have:
Parkinson's

See rose5's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Aug 11, 2015 (Started Jun 15, 2014)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Weakness in legs)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Peripheral Neuropathy)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Knee pain from surgery)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Improve mobility)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Weakness in legs)
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: Four times daily
Advice & Tips: SINCE BEING DIAGNOSED WITH PERIPHERAL NEUROPATHY, I HAVE TO USE THE WHEELCHAIR ON A DAILY BASIS AND WHEN MY HUSBAND AND I GO OUT. MOST OF MY FEET HAVE LOST FEELING, AND PARTS OF MY LEGS ARE NUMB. I HATE BEING IN A WHEELCHAIR.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Aug 18, 2014 (Started Jun 15, 2014)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Improve mobility)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Weakness in legs)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Knee pain from surgery)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Sometimes
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: After 5 knee surgeries, my doctor got me the wheelchair. My legs have also felt weaker, but my husband can still take me out. We couldn't go if I just had my walker.

  • 0 helpful marks
jr42
4037 thumb
jr42
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Bulbar: none
Arms: severe
Chest: mild
Legs: moderate
I am: g
I have:
PMA

See jr42's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Jul 10, 2015 (Started Mar 12, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Improve mobility)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Sometimes
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take

Mar 24, 2015 (Started Mar 12, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Improve mobility)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Sometimes
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Advice & Tips: fold up manual wheelchair 18 x 18 to utilize when outside/events etc and also have diffuser cushion(outside).

Jan 15, 2014 (Started Mar 12, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Improve mobility)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Never taken as prescribed
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Advice & Tips: you may find uncomfortable and difficult to get out of chair especially if you have no movement with your arms/hands.

  • 0 helpful marks
rose5
13543 thumb
rose5
Sex: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
On
Mouth/throat: moderate
Arms: moderate
Chest: severe
Legs: severe
I am: n
I have:
Parkinson's

See rose5's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Jun 21, 2014 (Started Apr 15, 2014)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Weakness in legs)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Fatigue)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
canmark
60687 thumb
canmark
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: none
Arms: severe
Chest: mild
Legs: severe
I am: n
I have:
ALS

See canmark's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Oct 30, 2013 (Started Oct 20, 2013)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Fatigue)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Sometimes
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: I am using a manual wheelchair that is borrowed from a relative. I am using a special wheelchair cushion that was recommended by an occupational therapist, which is on loan. I would recommend seeking the advice of an occupational therapist on getting the appropriate type of wheelchair, the proper sizing, and advice and help with funding from insurance or other organizations. Consider also things like ramps to get in and out of the house, having someone to push the wheelchair and transport it in and out of the car, and making sure that the places you are going to are wheelchair accessible. Presently, I use the wheelchair only for occasions when there is a significant amount of walking – more than I can handle with the rollator.

  • 0 helpful marks
Kaessa
14639 thumb
Kaessa
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Little
Fatigue: All
Sleep: All
Stiffness: Some
function: Most
external_stress: Some
Stickman: most
Description:F51y
CFS:7y Dx
FM:7y Dx
I am: n
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See Kaessa's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Nov 25, 2012 (Started Feb 01, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Fatigue)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Improve mobility)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Sometimes
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: I love this. I was hesitant to start using a wheelchair (because darn it, I can walk!), but my son loves to spend a few hours at the mall with me and I'm lucky if I can get 15 minutes before I'm exhausted and wrecked for the rest of the day. With a wheelchair, I can stay for a few hours with him pushing me around, and I haven't ruined the rest of my day. Looking at getting a better chair (currently using Granddaddy's old transport chair), and plan on using it any time we go somewhere that would involve extended walking.

  • 0 helpful marks
slowrambler
Portrait default thumb
slowrambler
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Relapse: Moderate
Sensation: Severe
Overall: Mild
Cognition: none
Vision: none
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: none
Walking: severe
I am: g
I have:
MS

See slowrambler's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Sep 7, 2012 (Started Nov 22, 2002)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Other)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Sometimes
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Feb 13, 2009 (Started Nov 22, 2002)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Other)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 7, 2008 (Started Nov 22, 2002)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Other)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: As needed

  • 0 helpful marks
pheonix61
45106 thumb
pheonix61
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: M
  • Age: 65
Condition: COPD 43 additional condition(s)
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: n
I have:
COPD

See pheonix61's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Jul 7, 2012 (Started Jul 01, 2003)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Improve mobility)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Muscle and joint pain)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: I use an attendant type wheelchair as my walking ability is severely restricted, the type I have is a very basic NHS type that is rigid uncorfatable and is dangerous on uneven ground. Using the seat bet provided is a must as if something brings the chair to a sudden halt it can be easy to be ejected with force.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Coribear
64629 thumb
Coribear
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: severe
I am: n
I have:
MS

See Coribear's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Nov 14, 2011 (Started Sep 20, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fatigue)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: I had to have someone with me because I didn't have strength to push myself. So it had it's blurps. I have my power chair and ramp on van, so I can go and do alone.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
babybunny
3720 thumb
babybunny
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Mild
Overall: None
Cognition: mild
Vision: mild
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: mild
I am: g
I have:
MS

See babybunny's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Oct 30, 2011 (Started Aug 06, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Improve mobility)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: As needed

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 41 patient evaluations for Wheelchair (manual)