15 patient evaluations for Azathioprine

kaywile
34649 thumb
kaywile
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 54
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus 12 additional condition(s)
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Severe
  • Physical: Mild
I am: vb
I have:
Systemic Lupus Erythematosus

See kaywile's full Azathioprine history

Nov 15, 2013 (Started Mar 13, 2013)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus)
  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Diarrhea chronic)
  • side effects
    Moderate
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 75 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Always listen to your body, if it's aching or sore somewhere, thee is usually a reason for it. Follow up on it and don't let it go.

  • 0 helpful marks
skip47
57441 thumb
skip47
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 68y
  • Organ: Kidney
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
  1. Kidney : 41y Transplanted
I have:
Kidney Transplant

See skip47's full Azathioprine history

Aug 29, 2013 (Started Sep 06, 1974)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Prevent organ rejection)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Transplant rejection prevention)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 14, 2011 (Started Sep 06, 1974)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Prevent organ rejection)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Transplant rejection prevention)
  • side effects
    Severe (Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: This treatment had virtually no negative impact on me, with the exception of developing post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorder (lymphoma) over thirty years later. That nearly killed me, but five years passed and I am declared cured, and 37 years after my transplant, my kidney still works well.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 13, 2010 (Started Sep 06, 1974)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Transplant rejection prevention)
  • side effects
    Severe (Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Taking two or three pills for life off of dialysis is a no-brainer. I developed lymphoma as a result of the azathioprine, but the chances of getting this are greater for the newer medications. I was initially worried about infections from this med but it has not been much of a problem.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Uncle Buck
19986 thumb
Uncle Buck
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 74y
  • Organ: Heart/Kidney
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
  1. Heart : 10y Transplanted
  2. Kidney : 6y Transplanted
I have:
Heart Transplant

See Uncle Buck's full Azathioprine history

Jun 13, 2013 (Started Mar 18, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Prevent organ rejection)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Transplant rejection prevention)
  • side effects
    Mild (Night cramps in legs and feet, Loss of balance)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Cost: $25-49 monthly
Side effects: Night cramps in legs and feet

  • 0 helpful marks
shells360
36559 thumb
shells360
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: None
Overall: None
Cognition: none
Vision: mild
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: none
Walking: moderate
I am: vg
I have:
MS

See shells360's full Azathioprine history

Feb 6, 2012 (Started Nov 29, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Multiple Sclerosis)
  • side effects
    Severe (Problems concentrating, Drowsiness)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I only discovered the true effect of it once I stopped taking the medication, I immediately had more energy, became so much more alert and able to focus & concentrate better than I had in months, like a heavy cloud had been lifted out of my body.

  • 0 helpful marks
CrohnsandArthritis
Portrait default thumb
CrohnsandArthritis
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: M
  • Age: 47
Condition: Crohn's Disease 3 additional condition(s)
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Mild
I am: g
I have:
Crohn's Disease

See CrohnsandArthritis's full Azathioprine history

Dec 15, 2011 (Started Sep 01, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Inflammatory Bowel Disease)
  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Crohn's Disease)
  • side effects
    Mild (Increased fatigue)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 75 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I had to stop because of elevated liver enzymes. I wish I hadn't had any alcohol which might have contributed to that

  • 0 helpful marks
loisa
893 thumb
loisa
Sex: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Mild
Cognition: moderate
Vision: mild
Speech: mild
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: mild
Walking: mild
I am: b
I have:
MS

See loisa's full Azathioprine history

Feb 28, 2011 (Started Mar 26, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Increase effect of another treatment)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Easy to take. My dose was very small and intended to complement Copaxone treatment, as I have several lesions on the spinal cord. My doctor said that the imunossupressants like imuran show some evidence at preventing more lesions on spinal cord. I hope so...
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jun 17, 2010 (Started Mar 26, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Increase effect of another treatment)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 1 helpful mark
KayKirk
19068 thumb
KayKirk
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 51y
  • Organ: Kidney
Quality of life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: None
  1. Kidney : 26y Transplanted
I have:
Kidney Transplant

See KayKirk's full Azathioprine history

Feb 18, 2011 (Started Oct 26, 1989)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Kidney Transplant)
  • side effects
    Mild (Skin Sensitivity)
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: for long term use consult a dermatologist regularly and wear sunscreen always.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Skin Sensitivity

  • 0 helpful marks
LIVER PLEASE
24672 thumb
LIVER PLEASE
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 44y
  • Organ: Liver
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: None
  1. Liver : 5y Transplanted
I have:
Liver Transplant

See LIVER PLEASE's full Azathioprine history

Aug 25, 2010 (Started Jul 05, 2004)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Prevent organ rejection)
  • side effects
    Moderate
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: hair loss
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Charity Bradley
26722 thumb
Charity Bradley
Gender: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Left Eye : none
Right Eye : none
Sensation : moderate
Overall : none
Swallowing : none
Arms : mild
Legs : mild
Bladder/Bowel : none
Spinal Cord : none
I have:
NMO

See Charity Bradley's full Azathioprine history

Jul 26, 2010 (Started Jul 02, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Neuromyelitis Optica)
  • side effects
    Moderate
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: This drug made me gain weight and feel depressed and angry.

  • 0 helpful marks
MerryFL
21181 thumb
MerryFL
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 63y
  • Organ: Lung
Quality of life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: None
  1. Lung : 7y Transplanted
I have:
Lung Transplant

See MerryFL's full Azathioprine history

Apr 16, 2010 (Started Apr 01, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Transplant rejection prevention)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 15 patient evaluations for Azathioprine