109 patient evaluations for Topiramate

838 members have decided to share their profiles only with other members of PatientsLikeMe.

HappinessforEver
14876 thumb
HappinessforEver
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 55
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) 15 additional condition(s)
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Moderate
I am: n
I have:
Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA)

See HappinessforEver's full Topiramate history

Feb 14, 2011 (Started Apr 04, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for OCD (Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder))
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: $25-49 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
cmawally
26604 thumb
cmawally
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 58y
  • Duration: 50 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: None
0 seizures
68 weeks ago
I am: n
I have:
Epilepsy

See cmawally's full Topiramate history

Feb 11, 2011 (Started Sep 01, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Seizures (complex partial))
  • Side effects
    Mild (Neck and shoulder ache, Myoclonic jerking, Metallic taste in mouth, Feeling of insides shaking, Increased energy, Abdominal pain, Dry mouth, Hair loss, Dry eyes, Brain fog)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Neck and shoulder ache, Brain fog, Dry eyes, Increased energy, Feeling of insides shaking, Hair loss, Metallic taste in mouth, Dry mouth, Myoclonic jerking, Abdominal pain

Nov 25, 2010 (Started Sep 01, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Seizures (complex partial))
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Neck and shoulder ache, Myoclonic jerking, Metallic taste in mouth, Feeling of insides shaking, Increased energy, Abdominal pain, Dry mouth, Hair loss, Dry eyes, Brain fog)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Caused a build up over time in my system.Appeared to work OK at first but then began to get drowsy,brain fog,also hair started to fall out.Had break through complex partial seizures in combination with keppra.It did make me edgy at times and negative mood.Could probably cause depression if continued.Only benefit weight loss.Not worth the neurotoxicity at all in my opinion.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Neck and shoulder ache, Brain fog, Dry eyes, Increased energy, Feeling of insides shaking, Hair loss, Metallic taste in mouth, Dry mouth, Myoclonic jerking, Abdominal pain

Oct 6, 2010 (Started Sep 01, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Seizures (complex partial))
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Neck and shoulder ache, Myoclonic jerking, Metallic taste in mouth, Feeling of insides shaking, Increased energy, Abdominal pain, Dry mouth, Dry eyes, Brain fog)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Have had moderate depression since taking this medication which is not normal for me.I also get overheated easily,sometimes run a low-grade temp and have been short of breath daily and very fatigued.Also nausea and have metal taste in mouth.Have tried mouth wash,water,etc.Taste will not go away.I am probably going to see an epileptologist my neurologist deals mainly with stoke patients and will have to travel a distance to find one but it will be worth it if it helps.I am having myoclonic twitching beneath right eye since September daily.This started when topiramate dose was being increased.Neuro. does not seem concerned.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Neck and shoulder ache, Brain fog, Dry eyes, Increased energy, Feeling of insides shaking, Hair loss, Metallic taste in mouth, Dry mouth, Myoclonic jerking, Abdominal pain

Sep 13, 2010 (Started Sep 01, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Seizures (complex partial))
  • Side effects
    Mild (Neck and shoulder ache, Myoclonic jerking, Increased energy, Dry mouth, Dry eyes)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: May tend to make you a little irritable in mood when you begin taking the medication.This could also have been due to the other medication trileptal leaving my system and the topamax reaching a therapeutic level.I was started on 25mg of topamax daily and increased dose by 25mg per week to reach a dose of 100mg daily.I have a mild twitch below my left eye almost consantly but this is not a major problem.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Neck and shoulder ache, Brain fog, Dry eyes, Increased energy, Feeling of insides shaking, Hair loss, Metallic taste in mouth, Dry mouth, Myoclonic jerking, Abdominal pain

Aug 30, 2010 (Started Sep 01, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Neck and shoulder ache, Dry mouth, Dry eyes)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Can cause a little restlessness but it gets better during the noon too evening hours.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Neck and shoulder ache, Brain fog, Dry eyes, Increased energy, Feeling of insides shaking, Hair loss, Metallic taste in mouth, Dry mouth, Myoclonic jerking, Abdominal pain

Aug 20, 2010 (Started Sep 01, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    Mild
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: better energy level
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Neck and shoulder ache, Brain fog, Dry eyes, Increased energy, Feeling of insides shaking, Hair loss, Metallic taste in mouth, Dry mouth, Myoclonic jerking, Abdominal pain

  • 0 helpful marks
hnesbit
31307 thumb
hnesbit
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 39y
  • Duration: 30 yrs
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
0 seizures
273 weeks ago
I am: vg
I have:
Epilepsy

See hnesbit's full Topiramate history

Feb 5, 2011 (Started Dec 05, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Headaches)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Weight loss)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: topamax seems to have the effect of having a weight loss. that is good for me because i have lost 10 pounds since i started taking it. i do have what i call "topamax brain" from time to time and during this time i feel like i am in a fog==light headed feeling. but all in all, it seems to work with the migraines with which i suffer.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Weight loss

  • 0 helpful marks
Mrpag13
19772 thumb
Mrpag13
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: M
  • Age: 28y
  • Duration: 19 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: None
0 seizures
262 weeks ago
I have:
Epilepsy

See Mrpag13's full Topiramate history

Jan 13, 2011 (Started Dec 21, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Side effects: Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Sleepiness, Weight loss, Erectile dysfunction, Erectile dysfunction

Dec 20, 2010 (Started Dec 21, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Erectile dysfunction, Sleepiness, Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Weight loss)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Side effects: Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Sleepiness, Weight loss, Erectile dysfunction, Erectile dysfunction

Dec 13, 2010 (Started Dec 21, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Side effects: Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Sleepiness, Weight loss, Erectile dysfunction, Erectile dysfunction

Jun 10, 2010 (Started Dec 21, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Sleepiness, Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Weight loss)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Side effects: Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Sleepiness, Weight loss, Erectile dysfunction, Erectile dysfunction

Mar 22, 2010 (Started Dec 21, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Sleepiness, Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Weight loss)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Side effects: Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Sleepiness, Weight loss, Erectile dysfunction, Erectile dysfunction

Mar 17, 2010 (Started Dec 21, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Sleepiness, Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Weight loss)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Side effects: Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Sleepiness, Weight loss, Erectile dysfunction, Erectile dysfunction

  • 0 helpful marks
catsmeow
Portrait default thumb
catsmeow
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Bulbar: none
Arms: mild
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I am: g
I have:
ALS

See catsmeow's full Topiramate history

Jan 12, 2011 (Started Dec 15, 1999)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Bipolar Disorder)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Weight loss)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I experienced weight loss with this drug. Unfortunately that's not what I'm needing to do at this point.
Cost: $25-49 monthly
Side effects: Weight loss

  • 0 helpful marks
joan53
21309 thumb
joan53
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 53y
  • Duration: 51 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: None
1 seizure
39 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See joan53's full Topiramate history

Jan 7, 2011 (Started Jan 01, 2005)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Epilepsy)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Cluster headaches)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Side effects: Fingers Tingling

Mar 1, 2010 (Started Jan 01, 2005)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Cluster headaches)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Topamax has been a very good for me. When I first went onit it was just to controll seizures, but then I started having cluster headaches it was increased . I do my very best not to miss a dose of medication. I also try to get to know the people at the pharmacy(they know me by name) it helps me when I hve any probs.
Side effects: Fingers Tingling

  • 0 helpful marks
BradburySauce
30554 thumb
BradburySauce
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: None
Fatigue: Little
Sleep: Little
Stiffness: Little
function: Most
external_stress: Some
Stickman: little
Description:F29y
FM:8y Dx
CFS:8y Dx
I am: n
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See BradburySauce's full Topiramate history

Jan 2, 2011 (Started Jul 01, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Support weight loss)
  • Side effects
    Moderate
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I originally took Topiramate because I was (wrongly)diagnosed with chronic migraines. On it, I lost 20 pounds. Since getting my diagnosis of Fibromyalgia, I have since gained 40 pounds. My doctor and I have decided that going back on Topiramate might help me get back to a healthy weight. HOWEVER, I think that the Topiramate is causing me to have increased pain and increased intestinal distress. In addition, the weight loss has been minimal. All of the other medications are too strong for the topiramate's weight-loss effects too take effect.

  • 0 helpful marks
foxmafia
38824 thumb
foxmafia
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Most
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: Little
external_stress: Most
Stickman: all
Description:F33y
FM:6y Dx
I am: b
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See foxmafia's full Topiramate history

Dec 31, 2010 (Started Aug 15, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Migraine headaches)
  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Borderline Personality Disorder)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take

  • 0 helpful marks
COOPERATI
22007 thumb
COOPERATI
Gender: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Depression: 4
Mania: 2
Emotional: 4
Anxiety: 4
Compulsion: 4
External Stress: Overwhelming
43 M
Function: Low
Distress: High
I am: vb
I have:
Schizophrenia

See COOPERATI's full Topiramate history

Dec 4, 2010 (Started Feb 18, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Treat my mood condition(s))
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Bipolar Disorder)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Migraine headaches)
  • Side effects
    Severe
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily

  • 1 helpful mark
bassoongirl
2715 thumb
bassoongirl
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 27
Condition: Migraine 7 additional condition(s)
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Mild
I am: vb
I have:
Migraine

See bassoongirl's full Topiramate history

Nov 4, 2010 (Started Oct 17, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Migraine headaches)
  • Side effects
    Severe (Drowsiness)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Drowsiness

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 109 patient evaluations for Topiramate