107 patient evaluations for Topiramate

798 members have decided to share their profiles only with other members of PatientsLikeMe.

hnesbit
31307 thumb
hnesbit
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 38y
  • Duration: 29 yrs
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
0 seizures
244 weeks ago
I am: vg
I have:
Epilepsy

See hnesbit's full Topiramate history

Feb 5, 2011 (Started Dec 05, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Headaches)
  • side effects
    Mild (Weight loss)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: topamax seems to have the effect of having a weight loss. that is good for me because i have lost 10 pounds since i started taking it. i do have what i call "topamax brain" from time to time and during this time i feel like i am in a fog==light headed feeling. but all in all, it seems to work with the migraines with which i suffer.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Weight loss

  • 0 helpful marks
Mrpag13
19772 thumb
Mrpag13
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: M
  • Age: 28y
  • Duration: 19 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: None
0 seizures
236 weeks ago
I have:
Epilepsy

See Mrpag13's full Topiramate history

Jan 13, 2011 (Started Dec 21, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Side effects: Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Sleepiness, Weight loss, Erectile dysfunction, Erectile dysfunction

Dec 20, 2010 (Started Dec 21, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Erectile dysfunction, Sleepiness, Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Weight loss)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Side effects: Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Sleepiness, Weight loss, Erectile dysfunction, Erectile dysfunction

Dec 13, 2010 (Started Dec 21, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Side effects: Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Sleepiness, Weight loss, Erectile dysfunction, Erectile dysfunction

Jun 10, 2010 (Started Dec 21, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Sleepiness, Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Weight loss)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Side effects: Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Sleepiness, Weight loss, Erectile dysfunction, Erectile dysfunction

Mar 22, 2010 (Started Dec 21, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • side effects
    Mild (Sleepiness, Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Weight loss)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Side effects: Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Sleepiness, Weight loss, Erectile dysfunction, Erectile dysfunction

Mar 17, 2010 (Started Dec 21, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • side effects
    Mild (Sleepiness, Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Weight loss)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Side effects: Hands tingling, Feet tingling, Sleepiness, Weight loss, Erectile dysfunction, Erectile dysfunction

  • 0 helpful marks
catsmeow
Portrait default thumb
catsmeow
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Bulbar: none
Arms: mild
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I am: g
I have:
ALS

See catsmeow's full Topiramate history

Jan 12, 2011 (Started Dec 15, 1999)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Bipolar Disorder)
  • side effects
    Mild (Weight loss)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I experienced weight loss with this drug. Unfortunately that's not what I'm needing to do at this point.
Cost: $25-49 monthly
Side effects: Weight loss

  • 0 helpful marks
joan53
21309 thumb
joan53
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 53y
  • Duration: 51 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: None
1 seizure
14 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See joan53's full Topiramate history

Jan 7, 2011 (Started Jan 01, 2005)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Epilepsy)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Cluster headaches)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Side effects: Fingers Tingling

Mar 1, 2010 (Started Jan 01, 2005)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Cluster headaches)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Topamax has been a very good for me. When I first went onit it was just to controll seizures, but then I started having cluster headaches it was increased . I do my very best not to miss a dose of medication. I also try to get to know the people at the pharmacy(they know me by name) it helps me when I hve any probs.
Side effects: Fingers Tingling

  • 0 helpful marks
BradburySauce
30554 thumb
BradburySauce
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: None
Fatigue: Little
Sleep: Little
Stiffness: Little
function: Most
external_stress: Some
Stickman: little
Description:F29y
FM:7y Dx
CFS:7y Dx
I am: n
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See BradburySauce's full Topiramate history

Jan 2, 2011 (Started Jul 01, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Support weight loss)
  • side effects
    Moderate
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I originally took Topiramate because I was (wrongly)diagnosed with chronic migraines. On it, I lost 20 pounds. Since getting my diagnosis of Fibromyalgia, I have since gained 40 pounds. My doctor and I have decided that going back on Topiramate might help me get back to a healthy weight. HOWEVER, I think that the Topiramate is causing me to have increased pain and increased intestinal distress. In addition, the weight loss has been minimal. All of the other medications are too strong for the topiramate's weight-loss effects too take effect.

  • 0 helpful marks
foxmafia
38824 thumb
foxmafia
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Most
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: Little
external_stress: Most
Stickman: all
Description:F33y
FM:6y Dx
I am: b
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See foxmafia's full Topiramate history

Dec 31, 2010 (Started Aug 15, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Migraine headaches)
  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Borderline Personality Disorder)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take

  • 0 helpful marks
COOPERATI
22007 thumb
COOPERATI
Gender: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Depression: 4
Mania: 2
Emotional: 4
Anxiety: 4
Compulsion: 4
External Stress: Overwhelming
42 M
Function: Low
Distress: High
I am: vb
I have:
Schizophrenia

See COOPERATI's full Topiramate history

Dec 4, 2010 (Started Feb 18, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Treat my mood condition(s))
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Bipolar Disorder)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Migraine headaches)
  • side effects
    Severe
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily

  • 1 helpful mark
bassoongirl
2715 thumb
bassoongirl
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Depression: 2
Mania: 0
Emotional: 3
Anxiety: 3
Compulsion: 0
External Stress: Severe
27 F
Function: Moderate
Distress: Low
I am: vb
I have:
ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder)

See bassoongirl's full Topiramate history

Nov 4, 2010 (Started Oct 17, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Migraine headaches)
  • side effects
    Severe (Drowsiness)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Drowsiness

  • 0 helpful marks
NewportNews
17703 thumb
NewportNews
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 52y
  • Duration: 30 yrs
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Unreported
  • Physical: Unreported
0 seizures
327 weeks ago
I have:
Epilepsy

See NewportNews's full Topiramate history

Oct 27, 2010 (Started Jan 01, 2004)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Epilepsy)
  • side effects
    Severe (Unexplained itching, Hearing problems, Blurry vision, Weight loss)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Hearing loss is becoming more obvious, vision problems are rapidly becoming a problem also. itching of my larger skin areas is an unusual and new problem that could maybe be due to Topamax or the antidepressant Prozac, unsure about this. I have had terrible crying jags and depression over inappropriate issues in the last year or so that was assumed to be due to my aging process, but was recently debunked by a hormonal test. I therefore believe that the Topamax is a more likely suspect.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Weight loss, Blurry vision, Hearing problems, Unexplained itching, Unexplained itching

Feb 15, 2010 (Started Jan 01, 2004)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Hearing problems, Blurry vision, Weight loss)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: The side effects of Topamax are really tough, but not as tough as others, and certainly not as tough as beating the heck out of yourself and frying your brain during a seizure. I never miss a dose, if I do, I could really end up hurting myself. I take it as exactly to the minute as I can, I do the same with all my meds, and for the last several years since I have been doing this, my seizures have been much less invasive into my life. I also NEVER NEVER take generic epilepsy medication. It must be brand always! Generic is NOT the same, no matter who insists that it is. I can take generic on other medication, but generic Topamax allowed me to have 3 months of severe cluster seizures last year.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Weight loss, Blurry vision, Hearing problems, Unexplained itching, Unexplained itching

  • 2 helpful marks
kack73
17829 thumb
kack73
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 42y
  • Duration: 28 yrs
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
0 seizures
274 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See kack73's full Topiramate history

Oct 13, 2010 (Started Jan 01, 2000)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Epilepsy)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Bumps on face)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 500 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Bumps on face

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 107 patient evaluations for Topiramate