33 patient evaluations for Oxcarbazepine

251 members have decided to share their profiles only with other members of PatientsLikeMe.

kaitmeister
36327 thumb
kaitmeister
Gender: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
Depression: 3
Mania: 0
Emotional: 1
Anxiety: 2
Compulsion: 0
External Stress: Moderate
28 F
Function: Moderate
Distress: Moderate
I am: n
I have:
Bipolar II

See kaitmeister's full Oxcarbazepine history

Nov 14, 2015 (Started May 14, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Major Depressive Disorder)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Fatigue, Deadened emotions)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: 300 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
kljones
3556 thumb
kljones
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Relapse: Moderate
Sensation: None
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: severe
I am: n
I have:
MS

See kljones's full Oxcarbazepine history

Dec 21, 2013 (Started Nov 20, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Pain in gums)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Weakness in legs)
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
chrissysaurus
33019 thumb
chrissysaurus
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 31y
  • Duration: 12 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: None
0 seizures
47 weeks ago
I am: n
I have:
Epilepsy

See chrissysaurus's full Oxcarbazepine history

May 17, 2013 (Started Mar 26, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Word fishing, Blurry vision, Weight gain, Restlessness, Fatigue)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 900 mg Daily
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Weight gain, Restlessness, Blurry vision, Word fishing

May 31, 2012 (Started Mar 26, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Word fishing, Blurry vision, Weight gain, Restlessness, Fatigue)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 900 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Ever since I started taking Trileptal, its been an interesting experience. It has tamed my seizures somewhat, but not on its own. The side effects can be annoying sometimes, and has lowered by blood sodium several times (gotta be careful for that!) Beware of drowsiness and possible weight gain!
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Weight gain, Restlessness, Blurry vision, Word fishing

  • 0 helpful marks
Jennay
46776 thumb
Jennay
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 34y
  • Duration: ? yrs
Quality of life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: Mild
1 seizure
226 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See Jennay's full Oxcarbazepine history

Oct 21, 2012 (Started Oct 17, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence), Dizziness)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 11 x 300 mg/5 mL Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
myfitnessinfits
Portrait default thumb
myfitnessinfits
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Gender: M
  • Age: 38y
  • Duration: ? yrs
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Mild
4 seizures
230 weeks ago
I am: n
I have:
Epilepsy

See myfitnessinfits's full Oxcarbazepine history

Aug 14, 2012 (Started Mar 08, 2000)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Poor working memory)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 600 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
carriejean_2001
28665 thumb
carriejean_2001
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 33y
  • Duration: 15 yrs
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
Surgery type: Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS)
5 seizures
255 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See carriejean_2001's full Oxcarbazepine history

Dec 15, 2011 (Started Aug 22, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Seizures (complex partial))
  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Tiredness)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 900 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Oct 14, 2010 (Started Aug 22, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Seizures (complex partial))
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Tiredness)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 900 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Unless I take this on a very full stomach it makes me very sleepy so I recommend eating a very large breakfast before taking it in the mornings. However, I take twice as much at night and cannot sleep, I don't understand that. Either way if you are taking this medication in the morning there is a good chance it is going to make you want to go back to bed.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 1 helpful mark
sammydog
37608 thumb
sammydog
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Severe
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: mild
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: severe
I am: b
I have:
MS

See sammydog's full Oxcarbazepine history

Aug 31, 2011 (Started Jan 10, 1999)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Pain)
  • Side effects
    Severe (high sodium levels)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 900 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I've had major problems w/high sodium levels from this. Passed out and was hospitalized for 3 weeks. But, it helps a lot with my leg, butt, low back pain. Had to gradually get used to lower dose; still wish I could take more.
Cost: $50-99 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
neuroplasticity
35926 thumb
neuroplasticity
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Gender: M
  • Age: 57y
  • Duration: 43 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Mild
Surgery type: Selective Amygdalohippocampectomy, Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS), Extratemporal Resection
0 seizures
216 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See neuroplasticity's full Oxcarbazepine history

Jul 7, 2011 (Started May 31, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    Severe (Emotional lability)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Emotional lability

Aug 9, 2009 (Started May 31, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    Severe (Emotional lability)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 600 mg Daily
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Emotional lability

  • 0 helpful marks
Seizure Boy
23642 thumb
Seizure Boy
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Gender: M
  • Age: 58y
  • Duration: 9 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Unreported
  • Physical: Unreported
0 seizures
190 weeks ago
I am: b
I have:
Epilepsy

See Seizure Boy's full Oxcarbazepine history

Jan 5, 2011 (Started Nov 17, 2006)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Seizures (grand mal or tonic-clonic))
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Vertigo)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 1800 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Had very bad vertigo attack that lasted for over 1 week. Dr. prescribed additional dosage of meclizine which helped.
Cost: $100-199 monthly
Side effects: Vertigo

Oct 20, 2010 (Started Nov 17, 2006)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Seizures (grand mal or tonic-clonic))
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Vertigo)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 1800 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Stick too it - it works
Cost: $100-199 monthly
Side effects: Vertigo

  • 1 helpful mark
Rebelor
63963 thumb
Rebelor
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 60y
  • Duration: 8 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: None
0 seizures
2 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See Rebelor's full Oxcarbazepine history

Dec 15, 2010 (Started Nov 03, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    Severe (Weight gain, Depressed mood)
  • Adherence
    Sometimes
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: 150 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: This was added to my Lamictal to try to control my seizures. I was never able to increase the dose beyond 75 mg twice a day. It caused me to retain fluid, elevate my blood pressure and made me extremely fatigued. Ended up being admitted through the ER with a blood pressure of 203/109. No other cause was found. I have now started titrating Lyrica and hope that will work.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Depressed mood, Weight gain, Depressed mood, Weight gain

Dec 13, 2010 (Started Nov 03, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Weight gain, Depressed mood)
  • Adherence
    Sometimes
  • Burden
    Very hard to take
Dosage: 150 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I was unable to take the prescribed dosage of 150 MG twice daily. It made me very lethargic and flat. I had no interest in getting off the couch. The sedation is intolerable. I have been on 75 mg twice daily for a month. That isn't stopping the small seizures.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Depressed mood, Weight gain, Depressed mood, Weight gain

Dec 5, 2010 (Started Nov 03, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Epilepsy)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Weight gain, Depressed mood)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: 150 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Sedation and memory problems when titrating. Couldn't increase to 150mg twice daily because of severe effect of increased dosage
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Depressed mood, Weight gain, Depressed mood, Weight gain

  • 1 helpful mark
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 33 patient evaluations for Oxcarbazepine