35 patient evaluations for Oxcarbazepine

kljones
3556-thumb
kljones
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Relapse: Moderate
Sensation: None
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: severe
I am: g
I have:
MS

See kljones's full Oxcarbazepine history

Dec 21, 2013 (Started Nov 20, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain in gums: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
chrissysaurus
33019-thumb
chrissysaurus
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 28y
  • Duration: 9 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: None
0 seizures
6 weeks ago
I am: n
I have:
Epilepsy

See chrissysaurus's full Oxcarbazepine history

May 17, 2013 (Started Mar 26, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 600 mg Daily
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Weight gain, Restlessness, Blurry vision, Word fishing

May 31, 2012 (Started Mar 26, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 900 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Ever since I started taking Trileptal, its been an interesting experience. It has tamed my seizures somewhat, but not on its own. The side effects can be annoying sometimes, and has lowered by blood sodium several times (gotta be careful for that!) Beware of drowsiness and possible weight gain!
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Weight gain, Restlessness, Blurry vision, Word fishing

  • 0 helpful marks
Jennay
46776-thumb
Jennay
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 32y
  • Duration: ? yrs
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: Mild
1 seizure
82 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See Jennay's full Oxcarbazepine history

Oct 21, 2012 (Started Oct 17, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Slight
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 11 x 300 mg/5 mL Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
God's Worshipper
11071-thumb
God's Worshipper
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Depression: 1
Mania: 0
Emotional: 0
Anxiety: 2
Compulsion: 2
External Stress: Moderate
56 M
Function: High
Distress: Low
I am: n
I have:
Schizoaffective Disorder

See God's Worshipper's full Oxcarbazepine history

Aug 20, 2012 (Started Feb 06, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Mood swings: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Never
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 2 x 300 mg/5 mL Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
myfitnessinfits
Portrait_default_thumb
myfitnessinfits
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 35y
  • Duration: ? yrs
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Mild
4 seizures
87 weeks ago
I am: n
I have:
Epilepsy

See myfitnessinfits's full Oxcarbazepine history

Aug 14, 2012 (Started Mar 08, 2000)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 600 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
dhaniboi
19508-thumb
dhaniboi
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 43y
  • Duration: 39 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: Mild
Surgery type: Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS)
6 seizures
97 weeks ago
I am: n
I have:
Epilepsy

See dhaniboi's full Oxcarbazepine history

Jun 2, 2012 (Started May 01, 1998)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 1200 mg Daily
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Lightheadedness, Drunk feeling, Feeling strange, Dizziness

Feb 21, 2011 (Started May 01, 1998)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 1200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Lightheadedness, Drunk feeling, Feeling strange, Dizziness

Jan 2, 2011 (Started May 01, 1998)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 1200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Lightheadedness, Drunk feeling, Feeling strange, Dizziness

May 25, 2010 (Started May 01, 1998)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 1200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: if taken any closer than 12 hours apart I get a groggy, dizzy, drunk feeling.
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Lightheadedness, Drunk feeling, Feeling strange, Dizziness

Mar 12, 2010 (Started May 01, 1998)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 1200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I feel groggy and drunk feeling when I take my doses closer than 12 hours apart.
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Lightheadedness, Drunk feeling, Feeling strange, Dizziness

  • 1 helpful mark
carriejean_2001
28665-thumb
carriejean_2001
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 30y
  • Duration: 12 yrs
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
Surgery type: Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS)
5 seizures
112 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See carriejean_2001's full Oxcarbazepine history

Dec 15, 2011 (Started Aug 22, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Seizures (complex partial): Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Slight
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 900 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Oct 14, 2010 (Started Aug 22, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Seizures (complex partial): Slight
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 900 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Unless I take this on a very full stomach it makes me very sleepy so I recommend eating a very large breakfast before taking it in the mornings. However, I take twice as much at night and cannot sleep, I don't understand that. Either way if you are taking this medication in the morning there is a good chance it is going to make you want to go back to bed.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 1 helpful mark
sammydog
37608-thumb
sammydog
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Severe
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: mild
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: severe
I am: b
I have:
MS

See sammydog's full Oxcarbazepine history

Aug 31, 2011 (Started Jan 10, 1999)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 900 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I've had major problems w/high sodium levels from this. Passed out and was hospitalized for 3 weeks. But, it helps a lot with my leg, butt, low back pain. Had to gradually get used to lower dose; still wish I could take more.
Cost: $50-99 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
neuroplasticity
35926-thumb
neuroplasticity
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 54y
  • Duration: 41 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Mild
Surgery type: Selective Amygdalohippocampectomy, Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS), Extratemporal Resection
0 seizures
73 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See neuroplasticity's full Oxcarbazepine history

Jul 7, 2011 (Started May 31, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Slight
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Emotional lability

Aug 9, 2009 (Started May 31, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Slight
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 600 mg Daily
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Emotional lability

  • 0 helpful marks
Seizure Boy
23642-thumb
Seizure Boy
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 55y
  • Duration: 6 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Unreported
  • Physical: Unreported
0 seizures
47 weeks ago
I am: b
I have:
Epilepsy

See Seizure Boy's full Oxcarbazepine history

Jan 5, 2011 (Started Nov 17, 2006)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Seizures (grand mal or tonic-clonic): Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 1800 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Had very bad vertigo attack that lasted for over 1 week. Dr. prescribed additional dosage of meclizine which helped.
Cost: $100-199 monthly
Side effects: Vertigo

Oct 20, 2010 (Started Nov 17, 2006)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Seizures (grand mal or tonic-clonic): Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 1800 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Stick too it - it works
Cost: $100-199 monthly
Side effects: Vertigo

  • 1 helpful mark
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 35 patient evaluations for Oxcarbazepine