152 patient evaluations for Amitriptyline

hairchanger07
10864 thumb
hairchanger07
Gender: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Pain: Most
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: Little
Stiffness: Most
function: Little
external_stress: Little
Stickman: some
Description:F49y
FM:14y Dx
CFS:?y
I am: n
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See hairchanger07's full Amitriptyline history

Oct 23, 2010 (Started Feb 04, 2006)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Insomnia)
  • Side Effects
    Severe (Mood changes, Grogginess, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Adherence
    Never taken as prescribed
  • Burden
    Very hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: I had been taking this drug as a sleeping pill for insomnia as I can't take sleeping pill due to bad reactions to them. I am very sensitive to drugs and especially this one. I could only take 1/4 of the recommended dose to sleep through the night or I'd be sleeping for a few days. This worked fine for a while but all of a sudden I started getting bad reactions from this drug.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Grogginess, Mood changes, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence)

Jul 25, 2010 (Started Feb 04, 2006)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Insomnia)
  • Side Effects
    Severe (Mood changes, Grogginess, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Adherence
    Sometimes
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: this would be a fairly good treatment except for the drowsiness it causes in the morning. I used this drug as a sleeping pill because I'm very sensitive to it. I would take a quarter of this pill to give me a drowsiness to be able to fall asleep.A whole pill would knock me out for 2 days! but all of a sudden I started having bad reactions to taking the quarter of a pill. I would feel really strange and almost suicidal or something like that , strange thoughts would go through my head and then I would have pain in my stomache, weird feelings in my head and shortness of breath and was unable to sleep until the drug lost it's power. I really don't understand it because sometimes it does it and sometimes it doesn't. I think if I have to use it to often I do get a reaction but If I haven't used it in a long time, like a few months then I don't get a reaction.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Grogginess, Mood changes, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence)

Jun 4, 2009 (Started Feb 04, 2006)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Insomnia)
  • Side Effects
    Severe (Mood changes, Grogginess, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Adherence
    Never taken as prescribed
  • Burden
    Very hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: Good for insomnia to help you sleep through the night if your not too sensitive to it. Good for when you wake up and can't go back to sleep. Keeps you drowsy so you can fall back to sleep fast. bad if you need to do something important in the morning.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Grogginess, Mood changes, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence)

  • 0 helpful marks
jrod005
23618 thumb
jrod005
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Sensation: Mild
Overall: None
Cognition: mild
Vision: moderate
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: none
Walking: mild
I am: n
I have:
MS

See jrod005's full Amitriptyline history

Oct 22, 2010 (Started Oct 21, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Support mental / emotional health)
  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Anxious mood)
  • Side Effects
    Moderate (Drowsiness)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 10 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Caused serious drowsiness, definitely take at bedtime
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Drowsiness

  • 0 helpful marks
bubbles2669
17135 thumb
bubbles2669
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: All
Fatigue: All
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: None
external_stress: Little
Stickman: all
Description:F46y
FM:6y Dx
I am: b
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See bubbles2669's full Amitriptyline history

Sep 30, 2010 (Started Feb 05, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Fibromyalgia)
  • Effectiveness
    None (for Pain)
  • Side Effects
    Mild
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 30 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Everyone is different, just because it didn't work for me doesn't mean that it won't work for someone else.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
iamarunner
1312 thumb
iamarunner
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Bulbar: moderate
Arms: severe
Chest: moderate
Legs: severe
I am: g
I have:
ALS

See iamarunner's full Amitriptyline history

Sep 3, 2010 (Started Jul 02, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Excess saliva)
  • Side Effects
    Moderate
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Scamper
44564 thumb
Scamper
Sex: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
Bulbar: severe
Arms: severe
Chest: mild
Legs: severe
I am: b
I have:
ALS

See Scamper's full Amitriptyline history

Sep 3, 2010 (Started Oct 27, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Emotional lability)
  • Side Effects
    Mild
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 75 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I take 3 pills each evening (25 mg each). I noticed on a recent road trip that I was extremely fatigued each evening and ended up crying uncontrollably over nothing. I increased my intake to 4 pills only when fatigued. It helped tremendously.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Dec 23, 2009 (Started Oct 27, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Emotional lability)
  • Side Effects
    Mild
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 75 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
glundy
12888 thumb
glundy
Sex: M
Data Quality: 0 stars
Off
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: none
Chest: none
Legs: mild
I am: b
I have:
Parkinson's

See glundy's full Amitriptyline history

Sep 1, 2010 (Started Jan 02, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Sleeplessness)
  • Side Effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Found no positive results

Feb 25, 2010 (Started Jan 02, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Sleeplessness)
  • Side Effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 25 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
MissPaige
11285 thumb
MissPaige
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Some
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: Some
Stiffness: All
function: Some
external_stress: Some
Stickman: most
Description:F38y
FM:11y Dx
I am: n
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See MissPaige's full Amitriptyline history

Sep 1, 2010 (Started Jan 16, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Fibromyalgia)
  • Side Effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Never taken as prescribed
  • Burden
    Very hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
lynchenaux
Portrait default thumb
lynchenaux
Gender: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Pain: Most
Fatigue: All
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: None
external_stress: All
Stickman: all
Description:F60y
FM:14y Dx
CFS:14y Dx
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See lynchenaux's full Amitriptyline history

Aug 28, 2010 (Started Jul 25, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Sleep problems)
  • Side Effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
lala2500
13811 thumb
lala2500
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: mild
Swallowing: mild
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: n
I have:
MS

See lala2500's full Amitriptyline history

Aug 13, 2010 (Started Mar 05, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Pain)
  • Side Effects
    Mild (Mood changes, Dizziness (vertigo), Bad taste in mouth, Grogginess, Headaches, Dry mouth, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Grogginess, Bad taste in mouth, Dizziness (vertigo), Mood changes, Dry mouth, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence), Headaches, Headaches

Apr 17, 2010 (Started Mar 05, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Pain)
  • Side Effects
    Mild (Mood changes, Dizziness (vertigo), Bad taste in mouth, Grogginess, Headaches, Dry mouth, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 75 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Grogginess, Bad taste in mouth, Dizziness (vertigo), Mood changes, Dry mouth, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence), Headaches, Headaches

May 22, 2009 (Started Mar 05, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Pain)
  • Side Effects
    Mild (Mood changes, Bad taste in mouth, Grogginess, Headaches, Dry mouth, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 75 mg Daily
Side effects: Grogginess, Bad taste in mouth, Dizziness (vertigo), Mood changes, Dry mouth, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence), Headaches, Headaches

May 7, 2009 (Started Mar 05, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Pain)
  • Side Effects
    Mild (Mood changes, Bad taste in mouth, Grogginess, Headaches, Dry mouth, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 75 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I find that this medication works well for a while and then it looses its effectiveness.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Grogginess, Bad taste in mouth, Dizziness (vertigo), Mood changes, Dry mouth, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence), Headaches, Headaches

Apr 14, 2009 (Started Mar 05, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Pain)
  • Side Effects
    Mild (Mood changes, Bad taste in mouth, Grogginess, Headaches, Dry mouth, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 75 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Grogginess, Bad taste in mouth, Dizziness (vertigo), Mood changes, Dry mouth, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence), Headaches, Headaches

Apr 7, 2009 (Started Mar 05, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Pain)
  • Side Effects
    Mild (Mood changes, Bad taste in mouth, Grogginess, Dry mouth, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg All the time (24/7)
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Grogginess, Bad taste in mouth, Dizziness (vertigo), Mood changes, Dry mouth, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence), Headaches, Headaches

Apr 2, 2009 (Started Mar 05, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Pain)
  • Side Effects
    Mild (Grogginess, Dry mouth, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg All the time (24/7)
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Grogginess, Bad taste in mouth, Dizziness (vertigo), Mood changes, Dry mouth, Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence), Headaches, Headaches

  • 0 helpful marks
mommajean13
21547 thumb
mommajean13
Gender: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Pain: All
Fatigue: All
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: None
external_stress: All
Stickman: all
Description:F57y
FM:6y Dx
CFS:6y Dx
I am: b
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See mommajean13's full Amitriptyline history

Jul 28, 2010 (Started Apr 29, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Fibromyalgia)
  • Side Effects
    Moderate
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: did not help at all and I gained weight
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 152 patient evaluations for Amitriptyline