152 patient evaluations for Amitriptyline

1,107 members have decided to share their profiles only with other members of PatientsLikeMe.

hummingbird
3951 thumb
hummingbird
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: None
Overall: None
Cognition: mild
Vision: mild
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: none
Walking: none
I am: n
I have:
MS

See hummingbird's full Amitriptyline history

Sep 24, 2013 (Started May 01, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Insomnia)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Fever (99 to 100), Groggy in morning)
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 10 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Take at night if it makes you tired. Elavil can cause sweet craving. I believe it was causing fevers, I accidentally stumbled upon the fact that it rarely can cause drug induced lupus. I was having many low grade fevers for unexplained reasons, rashes, and had odd bruising under my skin on my arms/hands. I was also very groggy in the morning. The fevers and grogginess stopped when I discontinued Elavil.

  • 0 helpful marks
bellatrix_amnell
29770 thumb
bellatrix_amnell
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Some
Fatigue: All
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: Little
external_stress: Most
Stickman: all
Description:F27y
CFS:10y Dx
FM:12y Dx
I am: g
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See bellatrix_amnell's full Amitriptyline history

Mar 7, 2013 (Started Jul 07, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Insomnia)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 20 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
jamesjunior
46097 thumb
jamesjunior
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: M
  • Age: 34
Condition: Ankylosing Spondylitis
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Mild
I am: n
I have:
Ankylosing Spondylitis

See jamesjunior's full Amitriptyline history

Feb 21, 2013 (Started Dec 07, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Insomnia)
  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Pain)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
TSSRA
46076 thumb
TSSRA
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 46
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) 15 additional condition(s)
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Moderate
I am: b
I have:
Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA)

See TSSRA's full Amitriptyline history

Jan 21, 2013 (Started Jan 11, 2013)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Pain)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fibromyalgia)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Insomnia)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Advice & Tips: stop taking for a bit due to several reasons, back on again and at 2 tablets prior to bed....sleep is good for about 4-5 hours now...I will keep taking this one as it does not seem to be the med. hurting my digestive system, and sleep is a necessity!
Cost: < $25 monthly

Dec 17, 2012 (Started Jan 11, 2013)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Pain)
  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Fibromyalgia)
  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Insomnia)
  • side effects
    Mild (Digestive disturbances)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jul 31, 2012 (Started Jan 11, 2013)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Pain)
  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Fibromyalgia)
  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Insomnia)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Advice & Tips: taking daily at bedtime, 1st 2 weeks-worked well with sleep, minor relief from FM pain, and depression. 3rd week on medicine-not sleeping well, FM pain is back and not feeling as up beat as was.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jul 26, 2012 (Started Jan 11, 2013)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Pain)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fibromyalgia)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Insomnia)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Advice & Tips: week 2-sleep better, less pins and needles feeling all over, not as depressed
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 1 helpful mark
Lakotawoman
50098 thumb
Lakotawoman
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Some
Fatigue: Some
Sleep: Most
Stiffness: Most
function: Most
external_stress: Some
Stickman: most
Description:F49y
FM:4y Dx
I am: b
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See Lakotawoman's full Amitriptyline history

Jan 17, 2013 (Started Dec 12, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Insomnia)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fibromyalgia)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Tension Headache)
  • side effects
    Mild (Restless legs at night)
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: if taken with Trazodone it can cause restless legs and twitchyness take only the amount needed

  • 0 helpful marks
maremare
42608 thumb
maremare
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: All
Fatigue: All
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: Some
external_stress: All
Stickman: all
Description:F49y
FM:10y Dx
I am: b
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See maremare's full Amitriptyline history

Dec 28, 2012 (Started May 07, 2006)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Pain)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Fibromyalgia)
  • side effects
    Severe (Tiredness)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 25 mg Daily

Dec 12, 2012 (Started May 07, 2006)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Pain)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fibromyalgia)
  • side effects
    Severe (Tiredness)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Helps but makes you tired

  • 0 helpful marks
sewjazzy1
17908 thumb
sewjazzy1
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Mild
Cognition: moderate
Vision: none
Speech: none
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: mild
Walking: moderate
I am: b
I have:
MS

See sewjazzy1's full Amitriptyline history

Dec 19, 2012 (Started Nov 28, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Insomnia)
  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Pain)
  • side effects
    Severe (Tremor in hands, Agitation, Anger)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Cost: < $25 monthly

Dec 14, 2012 (Started Nov 28, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Insomnia)
  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Pain)
  • side effects
    Severe (Tremor in hands, Agitation)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
kljones
3556 thumb
kljones
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Relapse: Moderate
Sensation: None
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: severe
I am: g
I have:
MS

See kljones's full Amitriptyline history

Dec 1, 2012 (Started Jun 11, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Fibromyalgia)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Never taken as prescribed
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 10 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
kaywile
34649 thumb
kaywile
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 54
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus 12 additional condition(s)
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Severe
  • Physical: Mild
I am: vb
I have:
Systemic Lupus Erythematosus

See kaywile's full Amitriptyline history

Sep 12, 2012 (Started May 24, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Insomnia)
  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Pain)
  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Fibromyalgia)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: The dosage I take isn't on here. I take 125mg daily. As of today I have to take 150mg (3 ~ 50 mg tabs) every night. 12-09-2012
Cost: $25-49 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
babybunny
3720 thumb
babybunny
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Mild
Overall: None
Cognition: mild
Vision: mild
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: mild
I am: g
I have:
MS

See babybunny's full Amitriptyline history

Sep 3, 2012 (Started May 20, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Emotional lability)
  • side effects
    Mild (Better sleep, Sleepiness, Memory problems)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Better sleep, Sleepiness

Jun 12, 2011 (Started May 20, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Emotional lability)
  • side effects
    Mild (Better sleep, Sleepiness, Memory problems)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Better quality of sleep as a side effect.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Better sleep, Sleepiness

Jun 13, 2010 (Started May 20, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Pain)
  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Emotional lability)
  • side effects
    Mild (Sleepiness, Memory problems)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 40 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: follow doctors instructions, I nearly slept for 20 hours as I took them at the wrong time.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Better sleep, Sleepiness

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 152 patient evaluations for Amitriptyline