154 patient evaluations for Amitriptyline

1,197 members have decided to share their profiles only with other members of PatientsLikeMe.

hdno1
8945 thumb
hdno1
Gender: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
Pain: Most
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: Most
Stiffness: Most
function: None
external_stress: All
Stickman: most
Description:F63y
FM:18y Dx
I am: b
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See hdno1's full Amitriptyline history

May 4, 2009 (Started Sep 15, 1999)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Insomnia)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Groggy in morning)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 10 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: When beginning this drug, take earlier than your bedtime to ease the grogginess the next morning.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Groggy in morning

Mar 27, 2009 (Started Sep 15, 1999)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Insomnia)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 10 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: It takes a few days to get use to taking it, if you have to get up and go to work. When I worked I had to take it about 8pm each night, instead of waiting until bedtime.
Side effects: Groggy in morning

Jan 22, 2009 (Started Sep 15, 1999)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Insomnia)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 10 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: When I first began taking this med, I could hardly get up on the AM. I learned that I had to take it about 8:30PM, so I could get up at 5:30AM without feeling groggy. It took a long time for this to go away.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Groggy in morning

  • 0 helpful marks
itsnotmummy
7451 thumb
itsnotmummy
Gender: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Pain: Some
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: Little
Stiffness: All
function: Little
external_stress: Some
Stickman: most
Description:F57y
FM:13y Dx
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See itsnotmummy's full Amitriptyline history

Apr 29, 2009 (Started Dec 06, 2005)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Other)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Grogginess, Dry mouth, Weight gain)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: i feel this is helping very much with my depression
Side effects: Dry mouth, Grogginess, Weight gain

Dec 6, 2008 (Started Dec 06, 2005)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Other)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Grogginess, Dry mouth)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Dry mouth, Grogginess, Weight gain

  • 0 helpful marks
Gabri
9951 thumb
Gabri
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Bulbar: moderate
Arms: severe
Chest: moderate
Legs: severe
I have:
ALS

See Gabri's full Amitriptyline history

Apr 8, 2009 (Started Nov 01, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Insomnia)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Dry mouth)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Lets me fall back asleep quicly when Iwake in the night
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Dry mouth

  • 1 helpful mark
server
6062 thumb
server
Sex: M
Data Quality: 0 stars
On
Mouth/throat: none
Arms: none
Chest: none
Legs: mild
I have:
Parkinson's

See server's full Amitriptyline history

Mar 27, 2009 (Started Mar 20, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Depressed mood)
  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Insomnia)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Grogginess, Headaches, Dry mouth)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: just take it, and see if it helps, give it some time, it's not a drug that helps right from the start.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Dry mouth, Grogginess, Headaches

  • 0 helpful marks
lvinsman
9585 thumb
lvinsman
Sex: M
Data Quality: 0 stars
Bulbar: severe
Arms: moderate
Chest: moderate
Legs: mild
I am: n
I have:
ALS

See lvinsman's full Amitriptyline history

Feb 19, 2009 (Started Jul 05, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Excess saliva)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
rdc59
11222 thumb
rdc59
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Bulbar: severe
Arms: severe
Chest: moderate
Legs: moderate
I have:
ALS

See rdc59's full Amitriptyline history

Feb 15, 2009 (Started Jan 16, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Depressed mood)
  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Anxious mood)
  • Effectiveness
    None (for Excess saliva)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Hangover effect)
  • Adherence
    Sometimes
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Hangover effect

  • 0 helpful marks
MiaBella
7671 thumb
MiaBella
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 47
Condition: 13 additional condition(s)
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Unreported
  • Physical: Unreported
I am: n

See MiaBella's full Amitriptyline history

Feb 1, 2009 (Started Oct 11, 1987)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Treat my mood condition(s))
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Advice & Tips: I had weird side effects when I when weaned off of this. I became very nervous and very aggitated to where I wanted to punch walls and pull my hair out. My p-doc was shocked and said it is unusual. However, he upped my dose of Seroquel and I had no problems when I stopped it the second time.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Dry mouth, Weight gain

Dec 8, 2008 (Started Oct 11, 1987)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Treat my mood condition(s))
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Dry mouth, Weight gain)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 75 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I have been on this for many years and have not have major problems. The weight, I try to get under control. Plus, you have to have blodd testing every so often to check the Elavil Level in blood.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Dry mouth, Weight gain

  • 0 helpful marks
crokay
Portrait default thumb
crokay
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Bulbar: severe
Arms: severe
Chest: moderate
Legs: severe
I have:
ALS

See crokay's full Amitriptyline history

Jan 26, 2009 (Started May 15, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Excess saliva)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Theresa Anne
Portrait default thumb
Theresa Anne
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: none
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: mild
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: b
I have:
MS

See Theresa Anne's full Amitriptyline history

Jan 20, 2009 (Started Sep 08, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Insomnia)
  • Side effects
    Mild
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    A little hard to take

  • 0 helpful marks
BeatingMS
Portrait default thumb
BeatingMS
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Mild
Cognition: moderate
Vision: none
Speech: mild
Swallowing: mild
Upper limb: none
Walking: mild
I have:
MS

See BeatingMS's full Amitriptyline history

Jan 16, 2009 (Started Jul 10, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Other)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Stiffness/Spasticity)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Pain)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 10 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 154 patient evaluations for Amitriptyline