15 patient evaluations for Lacosamide

130 members have decided to share their profiles only with other members of PatientsLikeMe.

seizetheday
30116 thumb
seizetheday
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 58y
  • Duration: 45 yrs
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Unreported
  • Physical: Unreported
2 seizures
66 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See seizetheday's full Lacosamide history

Jun 30, 2012 (Started Oct 07, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Epilepsy)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Nausea sometimes)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 400 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
Angeleyes_99
42157 thumb
Angeleyes_99
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 32y
  • Duration: 11 yrs
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
5 seizures
237 weeks ago
I am: n
I have:
Epilepsy

See Angeleyes_99's full Lacosamide history

Feb 11, 2012 (Started Jul 01, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Epilepsy)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Anxious mood, Tiredness)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 600 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
mizzepileptica
41731 thumb
mizzepileptica
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 57y
  • Duration: 40 yrs
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Unreported
  • Physical: Unreported
0 seizures
238 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See mizzepileptica's full Lacosamide history

Feb 1, 2012 (Started Dec 13, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Epilepsy)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Just try it, you may have to get used to it at first. It improved my overall motor skills.

  • 0 helpful marks
neuroplasticity
35926 thumb
neuroplasticity
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Gender: M
  • Age: 57y
  • Duration: 43 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Mild
Surgery type: Selective Amygdalohippocampectomy, Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS), Extratemporal Resection
0 seizures
196 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See neuroplasticity's full Lacosamide history

Jul 7, 2011 (Started Jul 05, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Epilepsy)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Cost: $100-199 monthly
Side effects: Vision loss in left side of visual field for both eyes

  • 0 helpful marks
kg10043
26772 thumb
kg10043
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: M
  • Age: 61y
  • Duration: 47 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Mild
4 seizures
259 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See kg10043's full Lacosamide history

May 25, 2011 (Started Apr 13, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Seizures (complex partial))
  • side effects
    Severe (Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Very hard to take
Dosage: 350 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: So far, along with my 3000 mg of Depakote daily and 750 mg daily of Primadone I have found myself literally falling asleep at my desk at work.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence), Glaucoma (Both eyes)

Apr 28, 2011 (Started Apr 13, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Seizures (complex partial))
  • side effects
    Severe (Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: 350 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: The doctor has been increasing the dose he said with the intent to get me off Primidon. In doing that I am taking samples that change periodically and he has given samples. I don't know what the cost will be.
Cost: $25-49 monthly
Side effects: Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence), Glaucoma (Both eyes)

Aug 2, 2010 (Started Apr 13, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Seizures (complex partial))
  • side effects
    Mild (Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Advice & Tips: The doctor is considering discontinuing Primidone if this works because he says it would decrease falling asleep all the time. If that works it will be a major benifit. I take it with breakfast and dinner. I think it has made me a little more drowsy adding it to the Depekote and Primidonel.
Cost: $25-49 monthly
Side effects: Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence), Glaucoma (Both eyes)

May 10, 2010 (Started Apr 13, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Seizures (complex partial))
  • side effects
    Mild (Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence))
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Advice & Tips: So far this has given me the best benifits with the least side effect of a sizure medication in the last several years. I take the medication, one tablet with breakfast and one with dinner.
Cost: $25-49 monthly
Side effects: Excessive daytime sleepiness (somnolence), Glaucoma (Both eyes)

  • 1 helpful mark
hnesbit
31307 thumb
hnesbit
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 38y
  • Duration: 30 yrs
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
0 seizures
259 weeks ago
I am: vg
I have:
Epilepsy

See hnesbit's full Lacosamide history

Feb 5, 2011 (Started Nov 01, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Anxious mood)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
dtiller
29503 thumb
dtiller
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 44y
  • Duration: 16 yrs
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
0 seizures
289 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See dtiller's full Lacosamide history

Jan 1, 2011 (Started Jan 01, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Epilepsy)
  • side effects
    Mild
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 2 x 200 mg/20 mL Daily
Cost: $200+ monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
clever516
19051 thumb
clever516
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 60y
  • Duration: 55 yrs
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Unreported
  • Physical: Unreported
2 seizures
305 weeks ago
I have:
Epilepsy

See clever516's full Lacosamide history

Sep 22, 2010 (Started Jan 21, 2010)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Seizures (complex partial))
  • side effects
    Mild (Anxious mood)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I have increased taking Vimpat and there is no reduction of seizures.
Side effects: Anxious mood

  • 0 helpful marks
suevand72
26201 thumb
suevand72
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 43y
  • Duration: 27 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
0 seizures
267 weeks ago
I am: n
I have:
Epilepsy

See suevand72's full Lacosamide history

Jul 8, 2010 (Started Nov 28, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Epilepsy)
  • side effects
    Severe (Night or sleep terrors)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: This is a controlled substance and many places need at least a week notice in refilling this. To get a new prescription from dr. to pharmacy was a pain in the but too. It had to be mailed and not faxed which took longer & this is a newer medication &not many places in our area have heard of this medication and have had to look it up to see what it is.
Side effects: Night or sleep terrors

Feb 15, 2010 (Started Nov 28, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Epilepsy)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Night or sleep terrors)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: This is a very new medication just put out. My doctor I just got had to look it up because she had never heard of it before and neither did the hospital she works for and the one I went to in December. I have had alot of side effects on this in which my old neurologist would not take me off of previous meds. due to side effects and he would do the same to this medication and this was causing more severe reactions. Currently i am trying to get off of this medication to a more safer one.
Side effects: Night or sleep terrors

  • 1 helpful mark
kato
22151 thumb
kato
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 40y
  • Duration: 19 yrs
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Unreported
  • Physical: Unreported
Surgery type: Vagus Nerve Stimulation (VNS)
7 seizures
329 weeks ago
I have:
Epilepsy

See kato's full Lacosamide history

May 5, 2010 (Started May 10, 2009)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Seizures (complex partial))
  • side effects
    Mild (Brain fog)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Side effects: Brain fog

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 15 patient evaluations for Lacosamide