118 patient evaluations for Prednisone

1,288 members have decided to share their profiles only with other members of PatientsLikeMe.

slowrambler
Portrait default thumb
slowrambler
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Relapse: Moderate
Sensation: Severe
Overall: Mild
Cognition: none
Vision: none
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: none
Walking: severe
I am: vg
I have:
MS

See slowrambler's full Prednisone history

Mar 5, 2017 (Started Jun 28, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Relapse MS (exacerbation))
  • Side effects
    Severe (Digestive disturbances)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Digestive disturbances

Feb 5, 2017 (Started Jun 28, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Relapse MS (exacerbation))
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Digestive disturbances)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: I've totally discontinued using the oral prednisone taper following solu-medrol infusions. It's a drag for 3/4 days of feeling wiped out & some other unpleasant after effects. But over many yrs. I've found that enduring the let down & subsequent withdrawal from the high dose infusions has FOR ME been a much better path to follow. MY EXPERIENCE has been that the sooner I can rid myself of the 'roids, the sooner I begin to feel stronger physically, mentally, & emotionally. I can begin PT & working on my overall functionality much sooner absent my body having to fight with lingering steroid effects.
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Digestive disturbances

Sep 7, 2012 (Started Jun 28, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Other)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Digestive disturbances)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: I only take this med as an oral taper after receiving IV solu-medrol. I don't always ask for a taper following IV treatment.
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Digestive disturbances

Feb 9, 2009 (Started Jun 28, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Other)
  • Side effects
    Severe (Digestive disturbances)
  • Adherence
    Sometimes
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: Use only what you need to bring you down from the massive steroid amount received from your infusion. I've found that the quicker I can rid myself of all of the steroids, including the oral taper, the quicker I am on to recovery from the exacerbation.
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Digestive disturbances

Sep 7, 2008 (Started Jun 28, 2007)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Other)
  • Side effects
    Severe (Digestive disturbances)
  • Adherence
    Sometimes
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: I feel that this medication is good to have available when tapering off of steroids following a regimen of IV solu-medrol. However I find personally that the sooner I can COMPLETELY rid myself of all steroids, the quicker I recover, & the better off I am overall. I like to have the oral Prednisone taper available following infusion as a "safety net" if I need it. Most often I use it for 2 to 3 days. Then I discontinue using it when I feel that my body's no longer craving the high dose of steroid that solu-medrol provides. I have no doubt that using an oral Prednisone taper is highly subjective & individually exclusive in terms of effectiveness to each patient.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Digestive disturbances

  • 3 helpful marks
25yrRA
34004 thumb
25yrRA
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 55
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) 20 additional condition(s)
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: n
I have:
Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA)

See 25yrRA's full Prednisone history

Aug 15, 2016 (Started Jan 01, 1985)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA))
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Addison's Disease)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Diabetes Type 2, Acute Renal Failure, Weight gain, Irritability)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 5 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Prednisone has long (30 years worth) been my "nasty but necessary" treatment for my Rheumatoid Arthritis. It has caused me innumerable side effect problems, including 100lbs of weight gain, the dissolution of my previous marriage, Diabetes II, renal (kidney) failure, etc... Going off of it at various times has made me extremely ill, at least 3 times resulted in my hospitalization. For many years, this was the only RA treatment that functioned consistently and allowed me to continue living my life at least somewhat normally.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
CarynH
Portrait default thumb
CarynH
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 44
Condition: Crohn's Disease 7 additional condition(s)
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Moderate
I am: b
I have:
Crohn's Disease

See CarynH's full Prednisone history

Jul 21, 2016 (Started Sep 15, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Inflammation in joints)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Crohn's Disease)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Arthritis pain)
  • Side effects
    Severe (Insomnia (less than 2 hours sleep), Excessive thirst (polydipsia), Dry skin, Mood swings, Weight gain)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 10 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: This is low cost but the side effects are worth considering. For short term use not an issue. For long term however, it has weight gain and insomnia, anxiousness, and need to taper of slowly or major withdrawals an issue. It seems for me it is no longer as effective from long term use.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
marie1970
69948 thumb
marie1970
Gender: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Pain: Little
Fatigue: All
Sleep: Most
Stiffness: Most
function: Little
external_stress: Some
Stickman: most
Description:F46y
CFS:19y Dx
I am: b
I have:
ME/CFS

See marie1970's full Prednisone history

Apr 17, 2016 (Started Feb 03, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Polymyalgia Rheumatica)
  • Effectiveness
    None (for Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome)
  • Side effects
    Severe (Rash on face, Blurry vision, Weight gain, Bruise easily, Elevated blood pressure, Moon face, Stretch marks, Wired, Feeling feverish, Heart rate increased, Flushing)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 1.25 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Down to 1,25 mg since five days. The day after I woke with face rash that worsened during the day and the day after. Try to treat with lavender oil and coconut oil. A little better. Have always had perfect skin. Read somewhere that it might well be effect of tapering, happened to others too. More pain, especially in the thighs (that's why the GP thought it was PMR), weaker, stiffer, feel like I might fall when walking the rest of the day if I take a short walk (300 m) earlier in the day. On the plus side: moon face and double chin visibly reduced. Can't wait to get off completely next week.

Apr 8, 2016 (Started Feb 03, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Polymyalgia Rheumatica)
  • Side effects
    Severe (Blurry vision, Weight gain, Bruise easily, Elevated blood pressure, Moon face, Stretch marks, Wired, Feeling feverish, Heart rate increased, Flushing)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 2.5 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Turns out I never had PMR. Very difficult to come off. Suddenly easier when came down to 5 mg than earlier (from 40, started being difficult at 27,5 already). Positive: very strong nails, but that is the only one. The side effects are difficult. Especially sad for all the big and ugly stretch marks everywhere that will remain. Looking forward to getting rid of the moon face and the pred belly.

Mar 5, 2015 (Started Feb 03, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Polymyalgia Rheumatica)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Moon face, Wired, Feeling feverish, Heart rate increased, Flushing)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 40 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: At 40 mg I am far from well (still weak, unable to stand for long and can't walk too far), but I have started to wake up rested in the mornings the last week or so, not in too much pain, less flu symptoms, and am able to think properly (calmly and methodically) for the first time in 19 years. The side effects seem to come a few days into new or elevated dose, stay for a week or two and then lessen as the body adjusts.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
gridly1
27338 thumb
gridly1
Gender: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Pain: Little
Fatigue: Some
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: None
external_stress: Most
Stickman: most
Description:F57y
CFS:?y
FM:8y Dx
I am: b
I have:
ME/CFS

See gridly1's full Prednisone history

Nov 21, 2015 (Started Nov 11, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Inflammation)
  • Side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 20 mg Twice daily

Nov 16, 2015 (Started Nov 11, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Inflammation)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Eyelid heaviness, Increased appetite, eye lid heaviness)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 20 mg Twice daily
Advice & Tips: Ravenous appitite

  • 0 helpful marks
dtouchstonez
26283 thumb
dtouchstonez
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Some
Fatigue: Little
Sleep: Some
Stiffness: Some
function: Some
external_stress: Some
Stickman: some
Description:F65y
FM:11y Dx
CFS:?y
I am: n
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See dtouchstonez's full Prednisone history

Jun 8, 2015 (Started May 23, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Tendinitis)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Bursitis)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Arthritis pain in knees)
  • Side effects
    Mild (Fluid retention weight gain)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 5 mg Twice daily
Advice & Tips: This is my second course of tapered dose Prednisone this year.Earlier in the year it was for the calcified tendonitis in my Achilles tendons...
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
hdaspen
41662 thumb
hdaspen
Gender: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Pain: Most
Fatigue: All
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: None
external_stress: Some
Stickman: all
Description:M53y
FM:6y Dx
CFS:7y Dx
I am: b
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See hdaspen's full Prednisone history

May 3, 2015 (Started Oct 06, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus)
  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA))
  • Side effects
    Mild (Rashes (redness, swelling))
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take

Mar 15, 2015 (Started Oct 06, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus)
  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA))
  • Side effects
    Mild (Rashes (redness, swelling))
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 10 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
jmhnm
Portrait default thumb
jmhnm
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: None
Overall: None
Cognition: none
Vision: mild
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: g
I have:
MS

See jmhnm's full Prednisone history

Nov 22, 2014 (Started Aug 15, 2014)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Multiple Sclerosis)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Abdominal bloating, Skin thinning)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 20 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I was tapering from Dexamethasone to no steroids.

  • 0 helpful marks
fluboe
48241 thumb
fluboe
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 41
Condition: Crohn's Disease 7 additional condition(s)
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: g
I have:
Crohn's Disease

See fluboe's full Prednisone history

May 31, 2014 (Started Sep 06, 2013)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Crohn's flare up)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Crohn's Disease)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Gastrointestinal (GI) bleeding)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Pounding heartbeat, Mood elevated or improved, Weight gain, Hunger, Insomnia, Shaky hands, Anxious mood)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 60 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Expect weight gain and nervousness, for sure... probably insomnia too. Never go off of the medication without TAPERING the doseage down. Once you start tapering down and your flare-up has subsided, you can take more of the doseage in the morning than in the evening. In fact, once I get down to 40mg/day I take one 20mg tab as early in the morning as possible and then the other 20mg tab around noon. After a few days of this, I start sleeping better (though sometimes it is still hard to get to sleep). Taking melatonin or other herbal sleep remedies can help at night, as well. If I do happen to get tired during the day I take advantage of it and nap. The anxiousness just sort of comes with the territory. For me, it goes away once I'm down to about 20mg per day. It is bearable because I know the reason and I know that I'd rather be anxious than bleeding to death from Crohn's disease. :P I have noticed that this time my mood seems to be much better than usual. Even when I don't feel physically very good, I seem to have a positive mental outlook, which is super rare for me.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 6, 2013 (Started Sep 06, 2013)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Crohn's flare up)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Crohn's Disease)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Gastrointestinal (GI) bleeding)
  • Side effects
    Moderate (Mood elevated or improved, Anxious mood)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 60 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
MintyPanda
47621 thumb
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See MintyPanda's full Prednisone history

May 27, 2014 (Started May 06, 2014)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Chronic bronchitis)
  • Side effects
    Severe (Abdominal bloating, Increased anxiety, Mild Depression, Insomnia, Migraine)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: 10 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Just don't get prescribed the stuff. The costs usually outweigh the benefits.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 118 patient evaluations for Prednisone