116 patient evaluations for Prednisone

dtouchstonez
26283 thumb
dtouchstonez
Gender: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
Pain: Some
Fatigue: Some
Sleep: Some
Stiffness: Most
function: Some
external_stress: Some
Stickman: some
Description:F63y
FM:9y Dx
CFS:?y
I am: n
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See dtouchstonez's full Prednisone history

Jun 8, 2015 (Started May 23, 2015)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Tendinitis: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Bursitis: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Arthritis pain in knees: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 5 mg Twice daily
Advice & Tips: This is my second course of tapered dose Prednisone this year.Earlier in the year it was for the calcified tendonitis in my Achilles tendons...
Cost: Not specified monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
hdaspen
41662 thumb
hdaspen
Gender: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Pain: All
Fatigue: All
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: None
external_stress: All
Stickman: all
Description:M51y
FM:5y Dx
CFS:5y Dx
I am: vb
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See hdaspen's full Prednisone history

May 3, 2015 (Started Oct 06, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus: None
  • Perceived effectiveness for Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA): Slight
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all

Mar 15, 2015 (Started Oct 06, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus: Can’t tell
  • Perceived effectiveness for Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA): Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 10 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
marie1970
69948 thumb
marie1970
Data Quality: 3 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 45
Condition: Polymyalgia Rheumatica 5 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: n
I have:
Polymyalgia Rheumatica

See marie1970's full Prednisone history

Mar 5, 2015 (Started Feb 03, 2015)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Polymyalgia Rheumatica: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 40 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: At 40 mg I am far from well (still weak, unable to stand for long and can't walk too far), but I have started to wake up rested in the mornings the last week or so, not in too much pain, less flu symptoms, and am able to think properly (calmly and methodically) for the first time in 19 years. The side effects seem to come a few days into new or elevated dose, stay for a week or two and then lessen as the body adjusts.
Cost: Not specified monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
jmhnm
Portrait default thumb
jmhnm
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: None
Overall: None
Cognition: none
Vision: mild
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: g
I have:
MS

See jmhnm's full Prednisone history

Nov 22, 2014 (Started Aug 15, 2014)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 20 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I was tapering from Dexamethasone to no steroids.

  • 0 helpful marks
fluboe
48241 thumb
fluboe
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 39
Condition: Crohn's Disease 7 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: g
I have:
Crohn's Disease

See fluboe's full Prednisone history

May 31, 2014 (Started Sep 06, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Crohn's flare up: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Crohn's Disease: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Gastrointestinal (GI) bleeding: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 60 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Expect weight gain and nervousness, for sure... probably insomnia too. Never go off of the medication without TAPERING the doseage down. Once you start tapering down and your flare-up has subsided, you can take more of the doseage in the morning than in the evening. In fact, once I get down to 40mg/day I take one 20mg tab as early in the morning as possible and then the other 20mg tab around noon. After a few days of this, I start sleeping better (though sometimes it is still hard to get to sleep). Taking melatonin or other herbal sleep remedies can help at night, as well. If I do happen to get tired during the day I take advantage of it and nap. The anxiousness just sort of comes with the territory. For me, it goes away once I'm down to about 20mg per day. It is bearable because I know the reason and I know that I'd rather be anxious than bleeding to death from Crohn's disease. :P I have noticed that this time my mood seems to be much better than usual. Even when I don't feel physically very good, I seem to have a positive mental outlook, which is super rare for me.
Cost: Not specified monthly

Sep 6, 2013 (Started Sep 06, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Crohn's flare up: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Crohn's Disease: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Gastrointestinal (GI) bleeding: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 60 mg Daily
Cost: Not specified monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
MintyPanda
47621 thumb
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See MintyPanda's full Prednisone history

May 27, 2014 (Started May 06, 2014)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Chronic bronchitis: Major
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: 10 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Just don't get prescribed the stuff. The costs usually outweigh the benefits.
Cost: Not specified monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
sierramama
60698 thumb
sierramama
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 66
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) 9 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: b
I have:
Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA)

See sierramama's full Prednisone history

Feb 17, 2014 (Started Dec 20, 2005)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Inflammation: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus: Major
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 24 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: BP is high..need to taper down
Cost: Not specified monthly

Feb 12, 2014 (Started Dec 20, 2005)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Inflammation: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 24 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: This drug is a double edged sword. It has controlled my symptoms better than any other drug. But the long term usage (8years) has suppressed my adrenals to the point that they make the taper very difficult. I am at 25 mg. and going to try a very slow taper of .5mg/month. Any faster and the withdrawal symptoms are so difficult. I will talk to my doctor this week about whether I need to add methotrexate before attempting the taper. The less prednisone I take the more pain med I require.
Cost: Not specified monthly

Jan 12, 2014 (Started Dec 20, 2005)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Inflammation: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 20 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: This has been the only drug that has improved my quality of life. It is the biggest help for pain. BUT...I was put on it and not tapered off until my body had become totally dependent and my adrenal glands suppressed for too long and will not work now. I personally believe I now have adrenal insufficiency from being on prednisone way too long. I am hoping the appt I have with a new Rheumatologist will provide some fresh approach and answers. IF I taper down more than 1/2mg over 1-2 weeks I have a major flare. Can not think, hard to function and move. Right now I am on 20mg.

  • 0 helpful marks
purpleskies
9865 thumb
purpleskies
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 29
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) 8 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Severe
  • Physical: Mild
I am: g
I have:
Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA)

See purpleskies's full Prednisone history

Nov 12, 2013 (Started Sep 11, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA): Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: 7.5 mg Daily
Cost: Not specified monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
tmmjclole
28640 thumb
tmmjclole
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Relapse: Moderate
Sensation: Severe
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: mild
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: vb
I have:
MS

See tmmjclole's full Prednisone history

Oct 14, 2013 (Started Feb 22, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Pneumonia: None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 50 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
skcusorbif
35215 thumb
skcusorbif
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Most
Fatigue: All
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: None
external_stress: Most
Stickman: all
Description:F58y
CFS:8y Dx
FM:?y
I am: b
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See skcusorbif's full Prednisone history

Aug 8, 2013 (Started Aug 15, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Bee stings: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Advice & Tips: Stay off your feet or support your arm if its a limb that has been affected. In my case it was my ankle I was stung by a nasty wasp. My ankle swelled up to the point I could not walk without a cane. My rheumy had me on Prednisone (my first experience) for about 5-7 days. The swelling went down the next day I was glad it worked so quickly but wanted to hurry up and get of it because of the side affects it can do to some people. I know it takes a longer period for that but why expose myself to a drug that can do that kind of damage? The only thing is the swelling returned after I stopped the drug but it was slight still fairly painful and held a small pocket of fluid for almost 5 wks. Went in for a second round of treatment after feeling the swelling wasn't going down on its own. It didn't change a thing so I stopped taking it after 3 days. My MD wrote me a script for another anti-inflammatory to try, it failed because of a side affect diarrhea but may work for others. Know your drugs even if the meds are in your hands already knowledge is power. I need to add that this sting was very painful and the Prednisone took most of that away overnight just by reducing the bulk of the swelling.

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 116 patient evaluations for Prednisone