118 patient evaluations for Prednisone

1,127 members have decided to share their profiles only with other members of PatientsLikeMe.

CarynH
Portrait default thumb
CarynH
Data Quality: 3 stars
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 43
Condition: Crohn's Disease 6 additional condition(s)
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Moderate
I am: n
I have:
Crohn's Disease

See CarynH's full Prednisone history

Jul 21, 2016 (Started Sep 15, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Inflammation in joints)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Crohn's Disease)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Arthritis pain)
  • side effects
    Severe (Insomnia (less then 2 hours sleep), Excessive thirst (polydipsia), Dry skin, Mood swings, Weight gain)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 10 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: This is low cost but the side effects are worth considering. For short term use not an issue. For long term however, it has weight gain and insomnia, anxiousness, and need to taper of slowly or major withdrawals an issue. It seems for me it is no longer as effective from long term use.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
marie1970
69948 thumb
marie1970
Gender: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
Pain: Some
Fatigue: All
Sleep: Most
Stiffness: Most
function: Little
external_stress: Some
Stickman: most
Description:F46y
CFS:18y Dx
I am: b
I have:
ME/CFS

See marie1970's full Prednisone history

Apr 17, 2016 (Started Feb 03, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Polymyalgia Rheumatica)
  • Effectiveness
    None (for Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome)
  • side effects
    Severe (Rash on face, Blurry vision, Weight gain, Bruise easily, Elevated blood pressure, Moon face, Stretch marks, Wired, Feeling feverish, Heart rate increased, Flushing)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 1.25 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Down to 1,25 mg since five days. The day after I woke with face rash that worsened during the day and the day after. Try to treat with lavender oil and coconut oil. A little better. Have always had perfect skin. Read somewhere that it might well be effect of tapering, happened to others too. More pain, especially in the thighs (that's why the GP thought it was PMR), weaker, stiffer, feel like I might fall when walking the rest of the day if I take a short walk (300 m) earlier in the day. On the plus side: moon face and double chin visibly reduced. Can't wait to get off completely next week.

Apr 8, 2016 (Started Feb 03, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Polymyalgia Rheumatica)
  • side effects
    Severe (Blurry vision, Weight gain, Bruise easily, Elevated blood pressure, Moon face, Stretch marks, Wired, Feeling feverish, Heart rate increased, Flushing)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 2.5 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Turns out I never had PMR. Very difficult to come off. Suddenly easier when came down to 5 mg than earlier (from 40, started being difficult at 27,5 already). Positive: very strong nails, but that is the only one. The side effects are difficult. Especially sad for all the big and ugly stretch marks everywhere that will remain. Looking forward to getting rid of the moon face and the pred belly.

Mar 5, 2015 (Started Feb 03, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Polymyalgia Rheumatica)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Moon face, Wired, Feeling feverish, Heart rate increased, Flushing)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 40 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: At 40 mg I am far from well (still weak, unable to stand for long and can't walk too far), but I have started to wake up rested in the mornings the last week or so, not in too much pain, less flu symptoms, and am able to think properly (calmly and methodically) for the first time in 19 years. The side effects seem to come a few days into new or elevated dose, stay for a week or two and then lessen as the body adjusts.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
gridly1
27338 thumb
gridly1
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Most
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: None
external_stress: Most
Stickman: all
Description:F56y
CFS:?y
FM:7y Dx
I am: b
I have:
ME/CFS

See gridly1's full Prednisone history

Nov 16, 2015 (Started Nov 11, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Inflammation)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Eyelid heaviness, Increased appetite, eye lid heaviness)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 20 mg Twice daily
Advice & Tips: Ravenous appitite

  • 0 helpful marks
dtouchstonez
26283 thumb
dtouchstonez
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Some
Fatigue: Little
Sleep: Some
Stiffness: Some
function: Some
external_stress: Some
Stickman: some
Description:F64y
FM:10y Dx
CFS:?y
I am: n
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See dtouchstonez's full Prednisone history

Jun 8, 2015 (Started May 23, 2015)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Tendinitis)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Bursitis)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Arthritis pain in knees)
  • side effects
    Mild (Fluid retention weight gain)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 5 mg Twice daily
Advice & Tips: This is my second course of tapered dose Prednisone this year.Earlier in the year it was for the calcified tendonitis in my Achilles tendons...
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
hdaspen
41662 thumb
hdaspen
Gender: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Pain: Most
Fatigue: All
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: None
external_stress: Some
Stickman: all
Description:M52y
FM:5y Dx
CFS:6y Dx
I am: n
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See hdaspen's full Prednisone history

May 3, 2015 (Started Oct 06, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus)
  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA))
  • side effects
    Mild (Rashes (redness, swelling))
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take

Mar 15, 2015 (Started Oct 06, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus)
  • Effectiveness
    Can’t tell (for Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA))
  • side effects
    Mild (Rashes (redness, swelling))
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 10 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
jmhnm
Portrait default thumb
jmhnm
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: None
Overall: None
Cognition: none
Vision: mild
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: g
I have:
MS

See jmhnm's full Prednisone history

Nov 22, 2014 (Started Aug 15, 2014)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Multiple Sclerosis)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Bloating, Skin thinning)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 20 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I was tapering from Dexamethasone to no steroids.

  • 0 helpful marks
fluboe
48241 thumb
fluboe
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 40
Condition: Crohn's Disease 7 additional condition(s)
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: g
I have:
Crohn's Disease

See fluboe's full Prednisone history

May 31, 2014 (Started Sep 06, 2013)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Crohn's flare up)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Crohn's Disease)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Gastrointestinal (GI) bleeding)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Mood elevated or improved, Weight gain, Hunger, Insomnia, Feeling of heart pounding, Shaky hands, Anxious mood)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 60 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Expect weight gain and nervousness, for sure... probably insomnia too. Never go off of the medication without TAPERING the doseage down. Once you start tapering down and your flare-up has subsided, you can take more of the doseage in the morning than in the evening. In fact, once I get down to 40mg/day I take one 20mg tab as early in the morning as possible and then the other 20mg tab around noon. After a few days of this, I start sleeping better (though sometimes it is still hard to get to sleep). Taking melatonin or other herbal sleep remedies can help at night, as well. If I do happen to get tired during the day I take advantage of it and nap. The anxiousness just sort of comes with the territory. For me, it goes away once I'm down to about 20mg per day. It is bearable because I know the reason and I know that I'd rather be anxious than bleeding to death from Crohn's disease. :P I have noticed that this time my mood seems to be much better than usual. Even when I don't feel physically very good, I seem to have a positive mental outlook, which is super rare for me.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 6, 2013 (Started Sep 06, 2013)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Crohn's flare up)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Crohn's Disease)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Gastrointestinal (GI) bleeding)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Mood elevated or improved, Anxious mood)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 60 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
MintyPanda
47621 thumb
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See MintyPanda's full Prednisone history

May 27, 2014 (Started May 06, 2014)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Chronic bronchitis)
  • side effects
    Severe (Increased anxiety, Mild Depression, Insomnia, Bloating, Migraine)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: 10 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Just don't get prescribed the stuff. The costs usually outweigh the benefits.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
sierramama
60698 thumb
sierramama
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 67
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) 9 additional condition(s)
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: b
I have:
Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA)

See sierramama's full Prednisone history

Feb 17, 2014 (Started Dec 20, 2005)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Inflammation)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus)
  • side effects
    Severe (Fluid retention weight gain, Bruise easily, Hypertension, Weight gain, Puffy face)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 24 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: BP is high..need to taper down
Cost: < $25 monthly

Feb 12, 2014 (Started Dec 20, 2005)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Inflammation)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Fluid retention weight gain, Bruise easily, Hypertension, Weight gain, Puffy face)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 24 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: This drug is a double edged sword. It has controlled my symptoms better than any other drug. But the long term usage (8years) has suppressed my adrenals to the point that they make the taper very difficult. I am at 25 mg. and going to try a very slow taper of .5mg/month. Any faster and the withdrawal symptoms are so difficult. I will talk to my doctor this week about whether I need to add methotrexate before attempting the taper. The less prednisone I take the more pain med I require.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jan 12, 2014 (Started Dec 20, 2005)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Inflammation)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Fluid retention weight gain, Bruise easily, Hypertension, Weight gain, Puffy face)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 20 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: This has been the only drug that has improved my quality of life. It is the biggest help for pain. BUT...I was put on it and not tapered off until my body had become totally dependent and my adrenal glands suppressed for too long and will not work now. I personally believe I now have adrenal insufficiency from being on prednisone way too long. I am hoping the appt I have with a new Rheumatologist will provide some fresh approach and answers. IF I taper down more than 1/2mg over 1-2 weeks I have a major flare. Can not think, hard to function and move. Right now I am on 20mg.

  • 0 helpful marks
purpleskies
9865 thumb
purpleskies
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 30
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) 9 additional condition(s)
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Severe
  • Physical: Mild
I am: vb
I have:
Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA)

See purpleskies's full Prednisone history

Nov 12, 2013 (Started Sep 11, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA))
  • side effects
    Moderate (Weight gain, Headaches, Nausea, Heart rate increased)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: 7.5 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 118 patient evaluations for Prednisone