47 patient evaluations for Physical Exercise

223 members have decided to share their profiles only with other members of PatientsLikeMe.

nacona
27310 thumb
nacona
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: mild
Arms: severe
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I am: g
I have:
ALS

See nacona's full Physical Exercise history

Nov 1, 2015 (Started May 14, 2004)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Atrophy of muscles)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 30 min Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
God's Worshipper
11071 thumb
God's Worshipper
Gender: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Depression: 1
Mania: 0
Emotional: 0
Anxiety: 0
Compulsion: 1
External Stress: Low
59 M
Function: High
Distress: Low
I am: n
I have:
Schizoaffective Disorder

See God's Worshipper's full Physical Exercise history

Feb 24, 2015 (Started Jul 01, 2005)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Obesity)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Never taken as prescribed
  • Burden
    Very hard to take
Dosage: 60 min Weekly
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
gatson
63890 thumb
gatson
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Little
Fatigue: None
Sleep: None
Stiffness: None
function: Most
external_stress: Some
Stickman: none
Description:F67y
FM:23y Dx
CFS:23y Dx
I am: n
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See gatson's full Physical Exercise history

Feb 12, 2015 (Started Aug 18, 2014)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Pain in lower back)
  • side effects
    Moderate (Radiating pain from low back to feet)
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 1 hr Weekly
Advice & Tips: The surgery was not effective. I had the same pain coming from my right ankle going up my leg to my hip and my lower back, 5 months after my surgery. I even went to Physical Therapy for a 2 months. This was my 2 back surgery in 16 years.
Cost: $200+ monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
mrsnurse
53908 thumb
mrsnurse
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: None
Cognition: moderate
Vision: none
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: none
Walking: none
I am: vg
I have:
MS

See mrsnurse's full Physical Exercise history

Aug 19, 2014 (Started Nov 03, 2008)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for General health)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: Any type of exercise is not only good for your body, but it helps tremendously with your emotional state!
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
StrkL
16679 thumb
StrkL
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Off
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: none
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I am: g
I have:
Parkinson's

See StrkL's full Physical Exercise history

Oct 16, 2012 (Started Aug 01, 1965)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Support mental / emotional health)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Parkinson's Disease)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Improve mobility)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Mood)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for General health)
  • side effects
    Mild (Muscle aches, Fatigue)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 50 min Daily
Advice & Tips: I exercise for strength, endurance, flexibility, balance, speed, and coordination. For details see http://home.earthlink.net/~strkl/
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Muscle aches, Fatigue

Oct 17, 2011 (Started Aug 01, 1965)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for General health)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Mood)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Improve mobility)
  • side effects
    Mild (Muscle aches, Fatigue)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 40 min Daily
Advice & Tips: I've worked really hard on my balance. In fact, it's now the best it's ever been. I listed balance exercises I did at http://home.earthlink.net/~strkl/element/element.balanc.html I listed a type of exercise that seems to help with my dystonia at http://home.earthlink.net/~strkl/spec/spec.dyston.html
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Muscle aches, Fatigue

Jul 8, 2011 (Started Aug 01, 1965)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Improve mobility)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for General health)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Mood)
  • side effects
    Mild (Muscle aches, Fatigue)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 40 min Daily
Advice & Tips: I have noticed that if I miss about three days of exercise, my medications don't work nearly as well. So one of the unexpected positive effects of exercise is that I need less medication that I would need otherwise. Also, while (mild) fatigue is a side effect, I have much more energy when I exercise regularly, than when I don't. I usually exercise first thing in the morning, because that's when I feel the best. If I exercise in the afternoon, I tend to freeze unless I take a nap first.
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Muscle aches, Fatigue

Dec 26, 2010 (Started Aug 01, 1965)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Improve mobility)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for General health)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Mood)
  • side effects
    Mild (Muscle aches, Fatigue)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 40 min Daily
Advice & Tips: I'm lumping all my aerobic exercise (exercise bike, walking, running, elliptical) into one category - physical exercise. I do about forty minutes each day. I still list weights separately. I've found that my Parkinson's is much better controlled when I exercise regularly. The cost I list is the cost of my gym membership, plus a little extra for shoes and exercise clothes.
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Muscle aches, Fatigue

Oct 3, 2010 (Started Aug 01, 1965)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Improve mobility)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for General health)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Mood)
  • side effects
    Mild (Muscle aches, Fatigue)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Not at all hard to take
Dosage: 40 min Daily
Advice & Tips: As of Sept 2010, I am exercising about forty minutes a day. Most days I will combine exercise bicycle with walking and some running. One day a week I will warm up for ten to fifteen minutes on an exercise bike and/or some walking, then lift weights for about half an hour.
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Muscle aches, Fatigue

Nov 29, 2009 (Started Aug 01, 1965)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Improve mobility)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for General health)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Mood)
  • side effects
    Mild (Muscle aches, Fatigue)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 30 min Daily
Advice & Tips: See my evaluations of exercise bicycle, elliptical trainer, walking, weight training, and running. I've been exercising regularly - mostly running - for over forty years. One major unexpected benefit - I almost never get sick - I seldom get as much as a cold.
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Muscle aches, Fatigue

  • 1 helpful mark
Gabryel
39910 thumb
Gabryel
Gender: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Some
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: Little
external_stress: Little
Stickman: all
Description:M48y
CFS:15y Dx
FM:16y Dx
I am: n
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See Gabryel's full Physical Exercise history

Jun 1, 2012 (Started Jan 10, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Muscle and joint pain)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Pain)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for General health)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: 60 min Daily
Cost: $25-49 monthly

Jan 10, 2012 (Started Jan 10, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for General health)
  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Pain)
  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Muscle and joint pain)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    Very hard to take
Dosage: 60 min Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
strawberryebay1
40940 thumb
strawberryebay1
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Gender: F
  • Age: 41
Condition: Vasovagal Syncope 61 additional condition(s)
Quality of life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Mild
I am: b
I have:
Vasovagal Syncope

See strawberryebay1's full Physical Exercise history

Feb 11, 2012 (Started Feb 07, 2012)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Obesity)
  • side effects
    Severe (Generalized weakness (asthenia), Weakness in legs, Weakness in arms)
  • Adherence
    Sometimes
  • Burden
    Very hard to take
Advice & Tips: Start Slow, Then Work Your Way Up, If You Have The Energy.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
beccashere29
33890 thumb
beccashere29
Gender: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Most
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: Some
Stiffness: Most
function: Most
external_stress: Little
Stickman: most
Description:F45y
FM:6y Dx
I am: n
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See beccashere29's full Physical Exercise history

Sep 18, 2011 (Started Apr 04, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Major (for Fibromyalgia)
  • side effects
    Mild (Fatigue)
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 35 min Daily
Side effects: Fatigue

Jun 2, 2011 (Started Apr 04, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Moderate (for Fibromyalgia)
  • side effects
    Mild (Fatigue)
  • Adherence
    Usually
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Dosage: 35 min Daily
Advice & Tips: I do power 90 with Tony Horton from Beachbody. I absolutely love how it makes me feel!!! It along with Weight Watchers online, has helped me lose inches and 10% of my body weight.
Side effects: Fatigue

  • 0 helpful marks
dray
13679 thumb
dray
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Bulbar: moderate
Arms: moderate
Chest: moderate
Legs: moderate
I am: b
I have:
ALS

See dray's full Physical Exercise history

Jul 18, 2011 (Started Apr 04, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    Slight (for Falls)
  • side effects
    Severe
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    Somewhat hard to take
Advice & Tips: exercise made my muscles weaken faster
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
theoriginalmattyc
33139 thumb
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See theoriginalmattyc's full Physical Exercise history

Apr 27, 2011 (Started Feb 28, 2011)

  • Effectiveness
    None (for Obesity)
  • side effects
    None
  • Adherence
    Always
  • Burden
    A little hard to take
Dosage: 2 hr Weekly
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 47 patient evaluations for Physical Exercise