Portrait default
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
ALS: 13 yrs
Bulbar: mild
Arms: moderate
Chest: mild
Legs: mild


Male, 46 years
Rutland, OH

Primary condition
First symptom
See less

About KD8EZF

Father of 2 teenagers. Forced to retire from Ohio Carpenters Union in 2004. Try to stay busy watching son play high school football and baseball, daughter playing volleyball. Live in VERY remote southeastern Ohio. No support groups or neurologists for 100 or more miles. Hard to get help. Enjoy HAM Radios. Have been an operator for about 3 yrs. It is fun to talk to people all over the world. Gives me some perspective.

I live on a working farm with about 180 acres.  We have cows, dogs, cats, and chickens.  Even though I can't actually do the work anymore, I still enjoy watching the animals.  I have 2 teenagers - Zach, 15 and Ashleigh, 14.  They are busy high school athletes, thus keeping us busy, too.  My wife of 18 yrs. is my caregiver.  We have had to make tough choices because of the rural area we live in.  She cannot work outside the home since I cannot be left alone at home.  There aren't support groups and such anywhere near here.  We are self-reliant by need and proud by choice.  My family (parents and grandparents, cousins and such) are in severe denial.  I think they choose "out of sight, out of mind" to keep from having to accept the reality of my life.  It seems really unfair to the kids.  They have enough pressure just growing up and being in high school without all of what has to be done at home. I am enjoying HAM Radios.  It is something fun I can still do ALL BY MYSELF.  I get to talk to people all over the world and actually hear their voices (unlike chatting online).



Comments: 1 update, 1 for others

My CareTeam

Member since: May 13, 2009
Last Login Jul 21, 2011