98 patient evaluations for Amantadine

TejasToo
25936 thumb
TejasToo
Sex: M
Data Quality: 0 stars
On
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: mild
Chest: moderate
Legs: moderate
I have:
Parkinson's

See TejasToo's full Amantadine history

May 23, 2010 (Started Feb 08, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 3 x 50 mg/5 mL Daily
Advice & Tips: In 2008, I was taking Amantadine capsules but dropped them for some reason which I didn't record. The syrup was recommended by a PA in my neurologist's office. My primary management problems with it are related to its form: 1) my wife requires me to keep it in the kitchen where I sometimes forget to take it; 2) I use a cylindrical dosage device which holds 10ml and I tried measuring it painstakingly at 5ml until I noticed that the specified dosage is 1 to 2 teaspoons full (5 to 10 ml) twice a day; so now I fill the device about 2/3 full (7.5 to 8.5 ml) and don't worry about the variation in the dosage
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
indygilr21
14165 thumb
indygilr21
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
On
Mouth/throat: moderate
Arms: moderate
Chest: mild
Legs: moderate
I am: b
I have:
Parkinson's

See indygilr21's full Amantadine history

May 18, 2010 (Started Oct 21, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Skin rash, Dizziness

Feb 17, 2010 (Started Oct 21, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Cost: $25-49 monthly
Side effects: Skin rash, Dizziness

Nov 24, 2009 (Started Oct 21, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Cost: $25-49 monthly
Side effects: Skin rash, Dizziness

Oct 27, 2009 (Started Oct 21, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Cost: $25-49 monthly
Side effects: Skin rash, Dizziness

  • 0 helpful marks
IlliniMS
12481 thumb
IlliniMS
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Relapse: Moderate
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: None
Cognition: none
Vision: none
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: none
Walking: mild
I am: b
I have:
MS

See IlliniMS's full Amantadine history

May 17, 2010 (Started Jun 01, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Discontinued due to side effect of Livedo Reticularis
Side effects: Livedo reticularis

Jan 1, 2010 (Started Jun 01, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Use of this medication has significantly improved early morning fatigue by 90% efficacy.
Side effects: Livedo reticularis

Oct 15, 2009 (Started Jun 01, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Side effects: Livedo reticularis

  • 1 helpful mark
SCRABBLE37
7203 thumb
SCRABBLE37
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Off
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: mild
Chest: none
Legs: mild
I am: g
I have:
Parkinson's

See SCRABBLE37's full Amantadine history

May 13, 2010 (Started Dec 14, 2007)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Can’t tell
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Apr 21, 2010 (Started Dec 14, 2007)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jan 4, 2010 (Started Dec 14, 2007)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Dec 14, 2009 (Started Dec 14, 2007)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
jeanp
Portrait default thumb
jeanp
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Off
Mouth/throat: none
Arms: mild
Chest: none
Legs: mild
I am: g
I have:
Parkinson's

See jeanp's full Amantadine history

Apr 30, 2010 (Started Jan 01, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Initially I felt an improvement in my balance and my gait. Neverteless, I had a fall in April. Still don't know just what happened...only that I was suddenly falling through space toward a door jamb. No damage done. I developed splotchy, purple, blood-shot ankles and went off the Amantadine (200 mg/day) This was a few weeks after being started on Ropinirole. (.50 mg 3 times a day). Ankles seem to be clearing up.

  • 0 helpful marks
tremor
Portrait default thumb
tremor
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Off
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: moderate
Chest: mild
Legs: mild
I am: g
I have:
Parkinson's

See tremor's full Amantadine history

Apr 15, 2010 (Started Jul 09, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Tremor(s): Moderate
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: leg swelling was a problem and reversed when stopping the med.

  • 0 helpful marks
Oneida
11088 thumb
Oneida
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Mild
Overall: Mild
Cognition: moderate
Vision: mild
Speech: mild
Swallowing: mild
Upper limb: mild
Walking: moderate
I am: n
I have:
MS

See Oneida's full Amantadine history

Apr 11, 2010 (Started Dec 14, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 300 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
wkikta
2640 thumb
wkikta
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Mild
Cognition: moderate
Vision: mild
Speech: mild
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: mild
Walking: moderate
I am: n
I have:
MS

See wkikta's full Amantadine history

Mar 4, 2010 (Started Jun 10, 2005)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: It worked very well for me for quite a while, just not enough anymore. Started Provigil, it is very good.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 1 helpful mark
mcewthom
13209 thumb
mcewthom
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Sensation: None
Overall: None
Cognition: none
Vision: mild
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: none
Walking: none
I am: n
I have:
MS

See mcewthom's full Amantadine history

Mar 1, 2010 (Started Oct 01, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Can’t tell
  • Perceived effectiveness for Tremor in hands: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I think it may of worked, Reason why am Stopping them to see a difference.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Nov 9, 2009 (Started Oct 01, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Tremor in hands: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Gets rid of my brain fog, can think alot more clear, Fatigue has gone ...anoying Tremmors in hands have almost dissapeared
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
arthurj
3638 thumb
arthurj
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Mild
Cognition: moderate
Vision: mild
Speech: mild
Swallowing: mild
Upper limb: mild
Walking: moderate
I am: b
I have:
MS

See arthurj's full Amantadine history

Feb 26, 2010 (Started Jan 15, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Never
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 98 patient evaluations for Amantadine