40 patient evaluations for Wheelchair (manual)

Hope_In_Christ
34553 thumb
Hope_In_Christ
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 26
Condition: Central Sensitivity Syndrome 7 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: b
I have:
Central Sensitivity Syndrome

See Hope_In_Christ's full Wheelchair (manual) history

May 26, 2011 (Started Mar 23, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for CRPS I (Complex regional pain syndrome type I): Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain in right hand and wrist: None
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain in right foot: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Very
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: Using wheelchair aggravated my chest, elbow, and wrist pain when have to maneuver across carpet in my house.

  • 0 helpful marks
faeroe347
33174 thumb
faeroe347
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: severe
Arms: severe
Chest: moderate
Legs: severe
I am: g
I have:
ALS

See faeroe347's full Wheelchair (manual) history

May 23, 2011 (Started Oct 28, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: I stopped using the manual wheelchair and changed to a light power chair, which is more helpful because of my weakness.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
chasmengr
53779 thumb
chasmengr
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Sensation: Mild
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: n
I have:
MS

See chasmengr's full Wheelchair (manual) history

May 12, 2011 (Started Oct 27, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Mobility limited by distance: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Ataxia (lack of coordination): None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 12 hr Daily
Advice & Tips: Driving my TiLite AeroZ is actually fun! It's so friendly, superbly engineered, fitted well, easy to propel, sturdy, and maneuverable. Before the chair, I used a very nice rollator, but I discovered that walking was very fatiguing even when assisted. The TiLite chair gives me so much more freedom.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Scraped knuckles

  • 0 helpful marks
Tommy Maker
21803 thumb
Tommy Maker
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Bulbar: moderate
Arms: severe
Chest: moderate
Legs: severe
I am: g
I have:
ALS

See Tommy Maker's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Feb 7, 2011 (Started Jul 01, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Weakness in legs: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Very
Advice & Tips: Don't leave it too late. I found it very difficult to start off, I was reluctaant even to let my children see me in it. In fact my 15 year old son used to roll around the house in it long before I had the couage to use it. The benefit that was unexpected is arriviing at a destination without, what has become for me, the associated fatigue of the journey.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Aturo
17117 thumb
Aturo
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Severe
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: severe
I am: g
I have:
MS

See Aturo's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Jan 15, 2011 (Started Nov 03, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Balance problems: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: Nice chair lightweight
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
chasmengr
53779 thumb
chasmengr
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Sensation: Mild
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: n
I have:
MS

See chasmengr's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Oct 27, 2010 (Started Jun 21, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Walking problems: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Mobility limited by distance: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: Standing and/or walking caused me serious fatigue. Using a chair really helps. I stopped using this borrowed chair because I got my permanent chair.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Scraped knuckles

Jul 16, 2010 (Started Jun 21, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Walking problems: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: Technically I am Kurtzke EDSS 5.5, so I am able to walk. But when I do, fatigue consumes my entire body. So I borrowed a K0005 wheelchair (Quickie 2) to try out. It has made a tremendous difference. Because it's helping reduce my secondary fatigue so much, the Veterans Admin has Rxd me a wheelchair. I get fit for it in 3 weeks. This borrowed chair, though helpful, is too wide, too heavy, and too tall for me. I am very excited to be getting my own custom-fit chair. The VA Doc was very glad to hear I was exercising at a gym (including my legs). I continue to walk a little so my legs won't atrophy.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Scraped knuckles

  • 0 helpful marks
River125
19733 thumb
River125
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: mild
Arms: moderate
Chest: mild
Legs: moderate
I am: vg
I have:
PLS

See River125's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Oct 12, 2010 (Started May 21, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Slight
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Very
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: The manual wheelchair worked great for 2 years. Now my arms are too weak to push, and my upper back is too weak to allow me to stay seated in the chair, even with a very high back. Had to move to a permobil power chair with tilt and recline.

  • 0 helpful marks
SusyQ
31410 thumb
SusyQ
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: moderate
Arms: mild
Chest: moderate
Legs: moderate
I am: n
I have:
PLS

See SusyQ's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Sep 3, 2010 (Started Sep 03, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Mobility decreased: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: While I can't use a manual chair by my self, it allows me to get out with family without a lift on the car. I can go out to eat or for a shopping trip if I have someone to push me.

  • 0 helpful marks
Lucky Tex
2249 thumb
Lucky Tex
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: mild
Arms: severe
Chest: moderate
Legs: severe
I have:
ALS

See Lucky Tex's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Jul 1, 2010 (Started Feb 12, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Weakness in legs: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: I quit using the manual wheelchair when I got my power chair.

  • 0 helpful marks
agradia
11243 thumb
agradia
Sex: M
Data Quality: 0 stars
Bulbar: none
Arms: severe
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I have:
ALS

See agradia's full Wheelchair (manual) history

May 15, 2010 (Started Jan 01, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Slight
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: As needed

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 40 patient evaluations for Wheelchair (manual)