39 patient evaluations for Wheelchair (manual)

rose5
13543 thumb
rose5
Sex: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
On
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: moderate
Chest: moderate
Legs: mild
I am: vb
I have:
Parkinson's

See rose5's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Aug 18, 2014 (Started Jun 15, 2014)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Knee pain from surgery: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Weakness in legs: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: After 5 knee surgeries, my doctor got me the wheelchair. My legs have also felt weaker, but my husband can still take me out. We couldn't go if I just had my walker.

  • 0 helpful marks
rose5
13543 thumb
rose5
Sex: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
On
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: moderate
Chest: moderate
Legs: mild
I am: vb
I have:
Parkinson's

See rose5's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Jun 21, 2014 (Started Apr 15, 2014)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Weakness in legs: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
canmark
60687 thumb
canmark
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Bulbar: none
Arms: moderate
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I am: n
I have:
ALS

See canmark's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Oct 30, 2013 (Started Oct 20, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: I am using a manual wheelchair that is borrowed from a relative. I am using a special wheelchair cushion that was recommended by an occupational therapist, which is on loan. I would recommend seeking the advice of an occupational therapist on getting the appropriate type of wheelchair, the proper sizing, and advice and help with funding from insurance or other organizations. Consider also things like ramps to get in and out of the house, having someone to push the wheelchair and transport it in and out of the car, and making sure that the places you are going to are wheelchair accessible. Presently, I use the wheelchair only for occasions when there is a significant amount of walking – more than I can handle with the rollator.

  • 0 helpful marks
Kaessa
14639 thumb
Kaessa
Sex: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
Pain: All
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: Some
external_stress: Little
Stickman: all
Description:F49y
CFS:5y Dx
FM:5y Dx
I am: b
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See Kaessa's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Nov 25, 2012 (Started Feb 01, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: I love this. I was hesitant to start using a wheelchair (because darn it, I can walk!), but my son loves to spend a few hours at the mall with me and I'm lucky if I can get 15 minutes before I'm exhausted and wrecked for the rest of the day. With a wheelchair, I can stay for a few hours with him pushing me around, and I haven't ruined the rest of my day. Looking at getting a better chair (currently using Granddaddy's old transport chair), and plan on using it any time we go somewhere that would involve extended walking.

  • 0 helpful marks
slowrambler
Portrait default thumb
slowrambler
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Relapse: Moderate
Sensation: Severe
Overall: Mild
Cognition: none
Vision: none
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: none
Walking: severe
I am: g
I have:
MS

See slowrambler's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Sep 7, 2012 (Started Nov 22, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Other: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Feb 13, 2009 (Started Nov 22, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Other: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 7, 2008 (Started Nov 22, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Other: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed

  • 0 helpful marks
pheonix61
45106 thumb
pheonix61
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 63
Condition: COPD 43 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: Mild
I am: n
I have:
COPD

See pheonix61's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Jul 7, 2012 (Started Jul 01, 2003)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: I use an attendant type wheelchair as my walking ability is severely restricted, the type I have is a very basic NHS type that is rigid uncorfatable and is dangerous on uneven ground. Using the seat bet provided is a must as if something brings the chair to a sudden halt it can be easy to be ejected with force.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Coribear
64629 thumb
Coribear
Sex: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
Sensation: Severe
Overall: Severe
Cognition: severe
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: severe
I am: vb
I have:
MS

See Coribear's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Nov 14, 2011 (Started Sep 20, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: I had to have someone with me because I didn't have strength to push myself. So it had it's blurps. I have my power chair and ramp on van, so I can go and do alone.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
babybunny
3720 thumb
babybunny
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Mild
Overall: None
Cognition: mild
Vision: mild
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: mild
I am: g
I have:
MS

See babybunny's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Oct 30, 2011 (Started Aug 06, 2007)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: As needed

  • 0 helpful marks
Rick N
29865 thumb
Rick N
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: mild
Speech: mild
Swallowing: mild
Upper limb: mild
Walking: severe
I am: g
I have:
MS

See Rick N's full Wheelchair (manual) history

Sep 17, 2011 (Started Sep 12, 2007)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Advice & Tips: I am now walking again
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: dull pain, and stinging pain if I move wrong., Transition from w/c to legs is very difficult., Constant stabbing sharp pain, Neuro pain, both elbows, Pinched/compressed elbow nerve

Nov 19, 2010 (Started Sep 12, 2007)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: A little
Advice & Tips: I am walking today. I do not know that it is GodShand or my fighting to walk. Despite . I am thankful
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: dull pain, and stinging pain if I move wrong., Transition from w/c to legs is very difficult., Constant stabbing sharp pain, Neuro pain, both elbows, Pinched/compressed elbow nerve

Nov 13, 2010 (Started Sep 12, 2007)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: A little
Advice & Tips: Even when the abiity to walk is there, the chair is that comfort factor instead od sitting or squatting
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: dull pain, and stinging pain if I move wrong., Transition from w/c to legs is very difficult., Constant stabbing sharp pain, Neuro pain, both elbows, Pinched/compressed elbow nerve

Oct 10, 2010 (Started Sep 12, 2007)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: Over-use and hill climbing led to neuropathy of both elbows which resulted in surgery to repair and relocate ulnar nerves.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: dull pain, and stinging pain if I move wrong., Transition from w/c to legs is very difficult., Constant stabbing sharp pain, Neuro pain, both elbows, Pinched/compressed elbow nerve

Jan 22, 2010 (Started Sep 12, 2007)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: dull pain, and stinging pain if I move wrong., Transition from w/c to legs is very difficult., Constant stabbing sharp pain, Neuro pain, both elbows, Pinched/compressed elbow nerve

Dec 30, 2009 (Started Sep 12, 2007)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: dull pain, and stinging pain if I move wrong., Transition from w/c to legs is very difficult., Constant stabbing sharp pain, Neuro pain, both elbows, Pinched/compressed elbow nerve

Apr 14, 2009 (Started Sep 12, 2007)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: If you need it-get it.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: dull pain, and stinging pain if I move wrong., Transition from w/c to legs is very difficult., Constant stabbing sharp pain, Neuro pain, both elbows, Pinched/compressed elbow nerve

Mar 10, 2009 (Started Sep 12, 2007)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: The chair is a necessity for me. I could not get around wothout it.
Side effects: dull pain, and stinging pain if I move wrong., Transition from w/c to legs is very difficult., Constant stabbing sharp pain, Neuro pain, both elbows, Pinched/compressed elbow nerve

Jan 4, 2009 (Started Sep 12, 2007)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Very
Dosage: Daily
Side effects: dull pain, and stinging pain if I move wrong., Transition from w/c to legs is very difficult., Constant stabbing sharp pain, Neuro pain, both elbows, Pinched/compressed elbow nerve

Nov 28, 2008 (Started Sep 12, 2007)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: It's a major challenge. I try to use my legs as much as possible , but they are going fast.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: dull pain, and stinging pain if I move wrong., Transition from w/c to legs is very difficult., Constant stabbing sharp pain, Neuro pain, both elbows, Pinched/compressed elbow nerve

  • 0 helpful marks
Hope_In_Christ
34553 thumb
Hope_In_Christ
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 26
Condition: Central Sensitivity Syndrome 7 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: b
I have:
Central Sensitivity Syndrome

See Hope_In_Christ's full Wheelchair (manual) history

May 26, 2011 (Started Mar 23, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for CRPS I (Complex regional pain syndrome type I): Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain in right hand and wrist: None
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain in right foot: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Very
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: Using wheelchair aggravated my chest, elbow, and wrist pain when have to maneuver across carpet in my house.

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 39 patient evaluations for Wheelchair (manual)