79 patient evaluations for Tizanidine

patrickm
453 thumb
patrickm
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Sensation: None
Overall: Mild
Cognition: moderate
Vision: mild
Speech: none
Swallowing: mild
Upper limb: none
Walking: moderate
I am: b
I have:
MS

See patrickm's full Tizanidine history

Sep 10, 2011 (Started Mar 15, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Doctor recommendation: Slight
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: As needed
Cost: $25-49 monthly
Side effects: Grogginess

  • 0 helpful marks
remini72
14277 thumb
remini72
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Pain: Most
Fatigue: All
Sleep: Some
Stiffness: All
function: Little
external_stress: Most
Stickman: most
Description:F42y
FM:16y Dx
I am: vb
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See remini72's full Tizanidine history

Jun 23, 2011 (Started Aug 09, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Muscle spasms: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 8 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: take it for awhile before you do anything like driving or that takes alot of mental awareness.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
homesick
23658 thumb
homesick
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Mild
Cognition: moderate
Vision: none
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: mild
Walking: moderate
I am: g
I have:
MS

See homesick's full Tizanidine history

Jun 16, 2011 (Started Aug 30, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Stiffness/Spasticity: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Muscle spasms: Slight
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: Very
Dosage: 4 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Zanaflex worked in the beginning but the past few months the muscle spasms had gotten much worse there fore the dr suggested that I stop the zanaflex and start on baclofen 10mgs, 3xa day
Side effects: Insomnia

  • 0 helpful marks
Snazzygirl
10865 thumb
Snazzygirl
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 49
Condition: Muscular Dystrophy 1 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Moderate
I am: n
I have:
Muscular Dystrophy

See Snazzygirl's full Tizanidine history

Jun 1, 2011 (Started Mar 24, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Stiffness/Spasticity: None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 4 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
dsseak
Portrait default thumb
dsseak
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Most
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: Little
Stiffness: All
function: Little
external_stress: Some
Stickman: most
Description:F46y
CFS:5y Dx
FM:5y Dx
I am: b
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See dsseak's full Tizanidine history

May 5, 2011 (Started Aug 28, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fibromyalgia: Slight
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: It only helps a little with pain and I cannot take it during the day. It doesn't just make me tired, it completely knocks me out! I take it with Ambien CR for sleep and it is a miracle. Together they make me sleep very well for the first time in my life.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Excessive sleeping (hypersomnia), Sleepiness

Dec 4, 2010 (Started Aug 28, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fibromyalgia: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: I don't have any idea if this medication helps with the fibromyalgia pain because it puts me to sleep. I take it every night at bedtime and it helps me sleep better than ambien. I take it with ambien most nights, but as I am trying to cut down on ambien, I sleep just as well with just the Zanaflex and my pain med. I may have been having withdrawal effects from cutting back on the ambien so I am back on that for now. I sleep MUCH better with Zanaflex than with any other sleep medicine, I actually sleep through the entire night without waking about 2 or 3 nights a week and the other nights get back to sleep quickly when I wake up. I have never done that, I have had sleep problems since my preschool years.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Excessive sleeping (hypersomnia), Sleepiness

Aug 29, 2010 (Started Aug 28, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fibromyalgia: Slight
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Very
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: This medicine really knocks me out! I took it at 6:30 with dinner and woke up in my chair at 2:30AM, went up to bed and slept til 7:30! I could never take this during the day, but when the pain is unbearable and my husband is home, it is a great escape.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Excessive sleeping (hypersomnia), Sleepiness

Aug 20, 2010 (Started Aug 28, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fibromyalgia: Slight
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: Somewhat
Advice & Tips: About 45 minutes after I take it, it puts me deeply to sleep for about an hour. After that I wake up fine and am not at all groggy. Doesn't really help the pain very much and I can't take it during the day because I can't take it and watch a 2 year old. It does give me a tiny bit of relief.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Excessive sleeping (hypersomnia), Sleepiness

  • 1 helpful mark
summerplum
32909 thumb
summerplum
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Some
Fatigue: Little
Sleep: None
Stiffness: Some
function: Some
external_stress: Some
Stickman: little
Description:F33y
FM:10y Dx
I am: vb
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See summerplum's full Tizanidine history

Apr 25, 2011 (Started Apr 12, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Insomnia: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Muscle spasms: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 4 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: It usually causes me to fall asleep within a couple hours - much better then not falling asleep at all! It is giving me very strange, vivid dreams - but I've only been on the full dose a week, so I'm hoping those will fade.
Side effects: Groggy in morning

  • 0 helpful marks
Persevering
31042 thumb
Persevering
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Bulbar: moderate
Arms: severe
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I am: g
I have:
ALS

See Persevering's full Tizanidine history

Apr 19, 2011 (Started Aug 24, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Stiffness/Spasticity: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: I've found Tizanidine to be better than Baclofen for me. Both make me tired, requiring at least one nap per day, and result in mild dizziness. Bacflofen actually caused severe cramps, which is part of what it is supposed to prevent. I am certain of it, as I trialed it for several days on and off, and had many severe cramps when taking it only. Both alleviate stiffness well, but the side effects result in me preferring stiffness over dizziness and sleepiness.
Side effects: Dizziness, Dry mouth (xerostomia)

Oct 31, 2010 (Started Aug 24, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Stiffness/Spasticity: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 4 mg Daily
Side effects: Dizziness, Dry mouth (xerostomia)

Sep 6, 2010 (Started Aug 24, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Stiffness/Spasticity: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 4 mg Daily
Side effects: Dizziness, Dry mouth (xerostomia)

  • 0 helpful marks
the_lorelei
32255 thumb
the_lorelei
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: mild
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: g
I have:
MS

See the_lorelei's full Tizanidine history

Apr 12, 2011 (Started Jan 21, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: Tizanidine can really knock you out. Wait until you're ready for bed before taking.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Drowsiness

  • 0 helpful marks
burrwarren
693 thumb
burrwarren
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Relapse: Moderate
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: severe
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: mild
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: g
I have:
MS

See burrwarren's full Tizanidine history

Mar 27, 2011 (Started Feb 01, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Stiffness/Spasticity: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Muscle twitching (fasciculations): Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Myoclonic jerking: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 2 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
lazaras
12975 thumb
lazaras
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Most
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: Most
Stiffness: All
function: Some
external_stress: Some
Stickman: most
Description:M50y
FM:7y Dx
CFS:5y Dx
I am: vb
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See lazaras's full Tizanidine history

Feb 23, 2011 (Started Jun 28, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Muscle pain: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain in lower back: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Muscle spasms: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 79 patient evaluations for Tizanidine