10 patient evaluations for Stem Cell Transplant

trpaquinn
8659-thumb
trpaquinn
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Mild
Cognition: mild
Vision: mild
Speech: mild
Swallowing: mild
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: severe
I am: g
I have:
MS

See trpaquinn's full Stem Cell Transplant history

Dec 5, 2013 (Started Dec 02, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Never
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Daily
Cost: $200+ monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
HappyPhysicist
31836-thumb
HappyPhysicist
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: moderate
Arms: mild
Chest: mild
Legs: moderate
I am: vg
I have:
ALS

See HappyPhysicist's full Stem Cell Transplant history

Feb 11, 2013 (Started Jan 28, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Advice & Tips: It is time for my second week update. i had the Precision Stem stem cell transplant two weeks ago. I am afraid all my gains have disappeared already. I again require a cane to maintain balance and I am using a pillow on the couch to sit on so that I have a higher starting height when I get out of the seated position. Now that the improvements are gone I am even more sure that I did indeed have a temporary increase in strength in my legs. But with such a short period it is really hard to say if it was in fact due to the transplant. So now the question is will the procedure lead to any kind of stabilization. In my case this should be relatively easy to determine. To date except for the period I was on NP001 my FRS curve has almost perfectly followed the average progression 'shape' as you can see on PLM.
Cost: $200+ monthly

Feb 4, 2013 (Started Jan 28, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Advice & Tips: 1 week post procedure evaluation: Objective Observations: Before procedure was 100% dependent on cane, after procedure I do not need to use the cane. Before procedure could not climb stairs without cane. After procedure I am able to climb stair without cane. Before procedure had difficulty raising myself from a seated position on my couch. Required the use of two cushions which add about 5 inches of height to the seat in order to get in and out of seated position. After procedure no longer need cushions. I have minimal trouble getting in and out of seated position. Subjective Observations: Legs feel significantly stronger, I still only have a small fraction of my original strength but I am walking much better and don't need a cane anymore. I still take it if I go outside (which is rare) just to be safe. I am able to turn myself better in bed. However, I am in a different bed because we are renovating our master bathroom for accessibility. My grip strength seems to be a little better. It seems easier to put my socks on. All improvements have been gradual over the course of the week. For instance a couple days after the procedure I kept forgetting to grab my cane, then a couple days after that I just stopped using it altogether. Every night it just seems a little easier to turn in bed, and to get out of be.

  • 6 helpful marks
newk
12215-thumb
newk
Sex: M
Data Quality: 0 stars
Bulbar: none
Arms: mild
Chest: none
Legs: none
I have:
ALS

See newk's full Stem Cell Transplant history

Sep 2, 2010 (Started Dec 28, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Never
  • Burden: Not at all
Advice & Tips: 1.Maybe the placebo effect, if I had not done it would I be worse than I am now 2.Not to many benifits , other than my progression is slow
Cost: $200+ monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
senad
16866-thumb
senad
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: none
Arms: moderate
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I am: g
I have:
ALS

See senad's full Stem Cell Transplant history

Aug 20, 2010 (Started Aug 20, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for tol either freeze the symptoms or slow them down: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Never
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: One time
Advice & Tips: Not to many benifits , other than my progression is slow
Cost: $200+ monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Zack 713
18529-thumb
Zack 713
Sex: M
Data Quality: 0 stars
Bulbar: moderate
Arms: moderate
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I have:
ALS

See Zack 713's full Stem Cell Transplant history

Aug 15, 2010 (Started Apr 22, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for CD133+ stem cell transplant in frontal cortex: None
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Never
  • Burden: Very
Advice & Tips: The treatment has shown no benefits as yet.
Cost: $200+ monthly
Side effects: Numbness and Tingling with Pins and Needles

Apr 22, 2010 (Started Apr 22, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for CD133+ stem cell transplant in frontal cortex: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: One time
Advice & Tips: This is an experimental treatment that I hope will slow and stop the progression of ALS.
Side effects: Numbness and Tingling with Pins and Needles

  • 0 helpful marks
clippedwings
11181-thumb
clippedwings
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Bulbar: moderate
Arms: severe
Chest: mild
Legs: moderate
I have:
ALS

See clippedwings's full Stem Cell Transplant history

May 21, 2010 (Started Oct 08, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for CD133+ stem cell transplant in frontal cortex: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: At present, axon growth is renewed in both sides of the brain to the brain stem. LMN damage is substantial, so little clinical change. Severe eye burning has subsided though. One time expense of $18,000.
Cost: $200+ monthly

  • 4 helpful marks
jcaar
Portrait_default_thumb
jcaar
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Bulbar: severe
Arms: mild
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I have:
ALS

See jcaar's full Stem Cell Transplant history

Mar 15, 2010 (Started Dec 30, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Inability to manipulate tongue: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Never
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Monthly
Advice & Tips: It arrested the progression of the disease for the last 5 months.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 1 helpful mark
nanniFlorence
14837-thumb
nanniFlorence
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Bulbar: severe
Arms: severe
Chest: severe
Legs: severe
I am: n
I have:
ALS

See nanniFlorence's full Stem Cell Transplant history

Nov 4, 2009 (Started Nov 04, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: One time
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
C.J.
7527-thumb
C.J.
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Bulbar: moderate
Arms: moderate
Chest: none
Legs: severe
I have:
ALS

See C.J.'s full Stem Cell Transplant history

Jun 27, 2009 (Started Jun 08, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: Not at all
Advice & Tips: Go for it!
Cost: $200+ monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
sarahezekiel
311-thumb
sarahezekiel
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: moderate
Arms: severe
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I am: n
I have:
ALS

See sarahezekiel's full Stem Cell Transplant history

Aug 19, 2008 (Started May 06, 2003)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Other: None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Very
Cost: $25-49 monthly

  • 2 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 10 patient evaluations for Stem Cell Transplant