38 patient evaluations for Acupuncture

holmesa
4190 thumb
holmesa
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
On
Mouth/throat: none
Arms: mild
Chest: mild
Legs: mild
I am: b
I have:
Parkinson's

See holmesa's full Acupuncture history

Jun 30, 2014 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Advice & Tips: After my fall in 2013 I found the pain-relief from the treatments excellent. Since my NHS physio referral didn't come until 6 months after the fall this was a life-saver.
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Feb 26, 2013 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Advice & Tips: I feel less pain, less stiffness & tremor & i am re-energised for a week-14 days after treatment
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Sep 23, 2012 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Advice & Tips: I come from sessions energised & refreshed which lasts for days, wearing off gradually until the next treatment. If I could afford it I'd have it weekly but apart from the fee it is about 30 mins drive.
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Dec 10, 2011 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Nov 22, 2011 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Advice & Tips: I have been attending mothly sessions since diagnosis (7 years). It is wonderful & gives me serenity, energy, balance & confidence. It is expensive & I have to travel 8 miles.
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Sep 28, 2011 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Advice & Tips: This treatment is expensive in terms of time (45min round trip + 1hr treatment) & money BUT it is so worth the cost! I rarely have needling now, tuning forks on those points instead & I recently started trialling sound therapy from the same practitioner. So energising - I feel literally on top of the world!!
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Aug 15, 2011 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Advice & Tips: The energising & motivational effects are wonderful
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Jan 16, 2010 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Advice & Tips: TRY TO FIND QUALIFIED DOCTOR WHO HAS CHOSEN TO DIVERSIFY INTO ACUPUNCTURE. TRY TO RESEARCH DIFFERENT TYPES OF ACUPUNCTURE: MINE IS '5 ELEMENTS' . THIS INVOLVES WORK ON BOTH SIDES OF THE TORSO LEVELLING/BALANCING THE INNER PERSON. Doc MARTIN SOMETIMES USES TUNING FORKS INSTEAD OF NEEDLES WHICH IS A WHOLE DIFFERENT BALLGAME!
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Aug 1, 2009 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Advice & Tips: THIS NOT TRADITIONAL CHINESE ACUPUNCTURE: IT IS 5 ELEMENTS ACUPUNCTURE; ALL THE PRACTITIONERS IN MY CLINIC ARE QUALIFIED (MEDICAL) DOCTORS; IT DOESN'T WORK FOR EVERYONE
Cost: $50-99 monthly

  • 1 helpful mark
RainHunter
47888 thumb
RainHunter
Data Quality: 3 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 25
Condition: Scoliosis
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: b
I have:
Scoliosis

See RainHunter's full Acupuncture history

Mar 1, 2013 (Started Jul 27, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: My first session was traditional acupuncture, and I was completely pain-free for 3 whole days. It was the best I've ever felt in my life, but then the expense and my work schedule prevented me from going back. Eventually I was able to book a session with another chiropractor, one who used Electronic Stimulation (vibrating needles). After that session, I felt worse than when I went in. My advice would be to choose a chiropractor carefully, choose one that believes in the healing power of acupuncture rather than one who practices Western medicine and tries to throw technology at every problem.

  • 0 helpful marks
jrasku
7487 thumb
jrasku
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: All
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: Some
Stiffness: Most
function: Little
external_stress: Most
Stickman: most
Description:F40y
FM:10y Dx
CFS:?y
I am: vb
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See jrasku's full Acupuncture history

Jul 11, 2012 (Started Apr 11, 2006)

  • Perceived effectiveness for summer heat: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Heat intolerance: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Yin deficency: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Anxiety and frustration: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Depressed mood: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Sleep problems: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: This can be a very effective treatment, and some people find it very valuable. I get it daily right now, and I don't think I would be doing anywhere near as well as I am without it. Finding a way to get it as often as you possibly can, in a way that you can afford it, is absolutely vital. I am currently paying $65CAD for 6 treatments in 1 week. I take Sundays off because the clinic I go to is closed on Sundays. When I started this daily treatment (I've taken some breaks) program, while the acupuncturist was putting needles in me, I closed my eyes involuntairilly because I relaxed for the first time in about 3 days. I don't think I actually slept, but I was deeply relaxed. I didn't want to leave when she came to take needles out. But it was the end of the day for her.
Cost: $200+ monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
judith
3435 thumb
judith
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
On
Mouth/throat: none
Arms: mild
Chest: none
Legs: mild
I am: vg
I have:
Parkinson's

See judith's full Acupuncture history

Feb 9, 2012 (Started Dec 09, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Advice & Tips: went back to acupuncture
Cost: $200+ monthly

Jun 16, 2011 (Started Dec 09, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Weekly
Advice & Tips: acupuncture helped me with sleep. I now have sleep problems so I will go back to it.
Cost: $200+ monthly

Apr 13, 2011 (Started Dec 09, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: Weekly
Advice & Tips: I have found wonderful Acupuncturists in Boston and Melbourne, Au.
Cost: $200+ monthly

Dec 17, 2010 (Started Dec 09, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Weekly
Advice & Tips: reduces stress, constipation and insomnia;
Cost: $200+ monthly

Aug 25, 2010 (Started Dec 09, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Not at all
Advice & Tips: the treatments helped with depression and constipation. When I travel to Australia to see my kids I use a wonderful acupuncturist in Upwey, Victoria.
Cost: $200+ monthly

Dec 10, 2009 (Started Dec 09, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Advice & Tips: expensive but gives me a sense of well-being and JOY
Cost: $200+ monthly

  • 1 helpful mark
aquarianrose
36859 thumb
aquarianrose
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 36
Condition: PCOS (Polycystic Ovary Syndrome) 2 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: None
I am: n
I have:
PCOS (Polycystic Ovary Syndrome)

See aquarianrose's full Acupuncture history

Jan 21, 2012 (Started Aug 08, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Female Infertility: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for PCOS (Polycystic Ovary Syndrome): Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Weekly

  • 0 helpful marks
nacona
27310 thumb
nacona
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Bulbar: none
Arms: moderate
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I am: n
I have:
ALS

See nacona's full Acupuncture history

Dec 20, 2011 (Started Feb 09, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fasciculations: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Weekly
Advice & Tips: I truly believe that acupuncture has the ability to stall the progression of ALS. I received acupuncture for about four months and then I had a two-month break. During that two-month break I noticed an acceleration in the progression of my disease. Once I started acupuncture again it seems that my progression has slowed down considerably.
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Jun 17, 2011 (Started Feb 09, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fasciculations: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Weekly
Cost: < $25 monthly

Mar 18, 2011 (Started Feb 09, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fasciculations: None
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: Weekly
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Hope_In_Christ
34553 thumb
Hope_In_Christ
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 26
Condition: Central Sensitivity Syndrome 7 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: b
I have:
Central Sensitivity Syndrome

See Hope_In_Christ's full Acupuncture history

Sep 15, 2011 (Started Feb 16, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain in right foot: Can’t tell
  • Perceived effectiveness for Digestive problems: Can’t tell
  • Perceived effectiveness for Muscle and joint pain: Can’t tell
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Can’t tell
  • Perceived effectiveness for Hypersensitivity in right foot: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: Every Other Week

Mar 9, 2011 (Started Feb 16, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Digestive problems: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Muscle and joint pain: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain in right foot: None
  • Perceived effectiveness for Hypersensitivity in right foot: None
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: Weekly

  • 0 helpful marks
SParker
15871 thumb
SParker
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: none
Arms: moderate
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I am: g
I have:
ALS

See SParker's full Acupuncture history

Sep 15, 2011 (Started Jan 27, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Weekly
Cost: $100-199 monthly

Feb 18, 2010 (Started Jan 27, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Weekly
Advice & Tips: I had to stop with acupuncture because of my heart attack. I plan on starting back as soon as I'm released from my cardiologist. I do feel it helped - my walking was a little better without my AFO after starting acupuncture
Cost: $50-99 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
cpt_c_pike
36942 thumb
cpt_c_pike
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Bulbar: none
Arms: moderate
Chest: mild
Legs: moderate
I am: n
I have:
ALS

See cpt_c_pike's full Acupuncture history

Aug 24, 2011 (Started Jun 08, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Slight
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: M,W,F
Cost: $200+ monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
cpt_c_pike
36942 thumb
cpt_c_pike
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Bulbar: none
Arms: moderate
Chest: mild
Legs: moderate
I am: n
I have:
ALS

See cpt_c_pike's full Acupuncture history

Aug 24, 2011 (Started Apr 01, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Somewhat
Cost: $200+ monthly

Aug 19, 2011 (Started Apr 01, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Slight
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: M,W,F
Cost: $200+ monthly

May 3, 2011 (Started Apr 01, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: M,W,F
Cost: $200+ monthly

May 2, 2011 (Started Apr 01, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: M,W,F
Advice & Tips: seek IMNS treatements. Intra Muscular Neural Stimulation. very hard to find, but I had great (short lived) results. improvement in strength, balance & dizziness went away. effect was short lived as i couldnt continue regular treatements to maintain it (in a distant city)

  • 1 helpful mark
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 38 patient evaluations for Acupuncture