37 patient evaluations for Acupuncture

Chelena
7238 thumb
Chelena
Sex: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
Pain: Little
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: Most
Stiffness: Little
function: Some
external_stress: Little
Stickman: some
Description:F59y
FM:11y Dx
I am: n
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See Chelena's full Acupuncture history

Oct 15, 2014 (Started Jun 14, 1990)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Chronic pain: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain in lower back: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Support mental / emotional health: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: Monthly
Advice & Tips: I decided to try a few courses of acupuncture this summer for pain leftover from my surgery last December 2103 and also pain leftover from effects of walking bone on bone for so long before surgery that my right shoulder, elbow, wrist and both knees were very compromised. (I had a left hip surgery but had used a cane as a crutch for too long. ) The acupuncture helped relieve some of the pain and also numbness and nerve pain left over from the surgery. Best of all, a positive and unexpected side effect was that my breathing became less tight. I have been doing yoga since Feb.2014 to regain balance, strength, and flexibility but it became clear that my chest was way too tight which affected my ability to breathe deeply and freely. I still have a ways to go but it's not as bad as it was before.
Cost: $100-199 monthly

Jan 31, 2005 (Started Jun 14, 1990)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Treat my mood condition(s): None
  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Migraine headaches: None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: In general acupuncture for general health is a wonderful medicine. I have had some acupuncture treatments by certain practioners that really helped me with certain specific problems like menses related migraines but not for general migraines or depression or PTSD. I did a long course of treatment for six months in 2004 in hopes that it would help curb my depression. The treatments always made me feel relaxed and good for a few hours most of the time. But sometimes I got triggered in the sessions and would actually just cry and cry and cry through an entire session and end up really worse. So after a while I decided I needed to just concentrate on therapy and perhaps return to acupuncture one day when I have healed more and am less prone to triggers.
Cost: $100-199 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
holmesa
4190 thumb
holmesa
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
On
Mouth/throat: none
Arms: mild
Chest: mild
Legs: mild
I am: b
I have:
Parkinson's

See holmesa's full Acupuncture history

Jun 30, 2014 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Advice & Tips: After my fall in 2013 I found the pain-relief from the treatments excellent. Since my NHS physio referral didn't come until 6 months after the fall this was a life-saver.
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Feb 26, 2013 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Advice & Tips: I feel less pain, less stiffness & tremor & i am re-energised for a week-14 days after treatment
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Sep 23, 2012 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Advice & Tips: I come from sessions energised & refreshed which lasts for days, wearing off gradually until the next treatment. If I could afford it I'd have it weekly but apart from the fee it is about 30 mins drive.
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Dec 10, 2011 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Nov 22, 2011 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Advice & Tips: I have been attending mothly sessions since diagnosis (7 years). It is wonderful & gives me serenity, energy, balance & confidence. It is expensive & I have to travel 8 miles.
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Sep 28, 2011 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Advice & Tips: This treatment is expensive in terms of time (45min round trip + 1hr treatment) & money BUT it is so worth the cost! I rarely have needling now, tuning forks on those points instead & I recently started trialling sound therapy from the same practitioner. So energising - I feel literally on top of the world!!
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Aug 15, 2011 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Advice & Tips: The energising & motivational effects are wonderful
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Jan 16, 2010 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Advice & Tips: TRY TO FIND QUALIFIED DOCTOR WHO HAS CHOSEN TO DIVERSIFY INTO ACUPUNCTURE. TRY TO RESEARCH DIFFERENT TYPES OF ACUPUNCTURE: MINE IS '5 ELEMENTS' . THIS INVOLVES WORK ON BOTH SIDES OF THE TORSO LEVELLING/BALANCING THE INNER PERSON. Doc MARTIN SOMETIMES USES TUNING FORKS INSTEAD OF NEEDLES WHICH IS A WHOLE DIFFERENT BALLGAME!
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Aug 1, 2009 (Started Jul 09, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: 1 hr Monthly
Advice & Tips: THIS NOT TRADITIONAL CHINESE ACUPUNCTURE: IT IS 5 ELEMENTS ACUPUNCTURE; ALL THE PRACTITIONERS IN MY CLINIC ARE QUALIFIED (MEDICAL) DOCTORS; IT DOESN'T WORK FOR EVERYONE
Cost: $50-99 monthly

  • 1 helpful mark
RainHunter
47888 thumb
RainHunter
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 25
Condition: Scoliosis
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: None
I am: n
I have:
Scoliosis

See RainHunter's full Acupuncture history

Mar 1, 2013 (Started Jul 27, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: My first session was traditional acupuncture, and I was completely pain-free for 3 whole days. It was the best I've ever felt in my life, but then the expense and my work schedule prevented me from going back. Eventually I was able to book a session with another chiropractor, one who used Electronic Stimulation (vibrating needles). After that session, I felt worse than when I went in. My advice would be to choose a chiropractor carefully, choose one that believes in the healing power of acupuncture rather than one who practices Western medicine and tries to throw technology at every problem.

  • 0 helpful marks
jrasku
7487 thumb
jrasku
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: All
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: Some
Stiffness: Most
function: Little
external_stress: Most
Stickman: most
Description:F41y
CFS:?y
FM:10y Dx
I am: vb
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See jrasku's full Acupuncture history

Jul 11, 2012 (Started Apr 11, 2006)

  • Perceived effectiveness for summer heat: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Heat intolerance: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Yin deficency: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Anxiety and frustration: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Depressed mood: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Sleep problems: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: Daily
Advice & Tips: This can be a very effective treatment, and some people find it very valuable. I get it daily right now, and I don't think I would be doing anywhere near as well as I am without it. Finding a way to get it as often as you possibly can, in a way that you can afford it, is absolutely vital. I am currently paying $65CAD for 6 treatments in 1 week. I take Sundays off because the clinic I go to is closed on Sundays. When I started this daily treatment (I've taken some breaks) program, while the acupuncturist was putting needles in me, I closed my eyes involuntairilly because I relaxed for the first time in about 3 days. I don't think I actually slept, but I was deeply relaxed. I didn't want to leave when she came to take needles out. But it was the end of the day for her.
Cost: $200+ monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
aquarianrose
36859 thumb
aquarianrose
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 36
Condition: PCOS (Polycystic Ovary Syndrome) 2 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: None
I am: n
I have:
PCOS (Polycystic Ovary Syndrome)

See aquarianrose's full Acupuncture history

Jan 21, 2012 (Started Aug 08, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Female Infertility: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for PCOS (Polycystic Ovary Syndrome): Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Weekly

  • 0 helpful marks
nacona
27310 thumb
nacona
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
Bulbar: mild
Arms: moderate
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I am: n
I have:
ALS

See nacona's full Acupuncture history

Dec 20, 2011 (Started Feb 09, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fasciculations: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Weekly
Advice & Tips: I truly believe that acupuncture has the ability to stall the progression of ALS. I received acupuncture for about four months and then I had a two-month break. During that two-month break I noticed an acceleration in the progression of my disease. Once I started acupuncture again it seems that my progression has slowed down considerably.
Cost: $50-99 monthly

Jun 17, 2011 (Started Feb 09, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fasciculations: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Weekly
Cost: < $25 monthly

Mar 18, 2011 (Started Feb 09, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fasciculations: None
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: Weekly
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Hope_In_Christ
34553 thumb
Hope_In_Christ
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 26
Condition: Central Sensitivity Syndrome 7 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: b
I have:
Central Sensitivity Syndrome

See Hope_In_Christ's full Acupuncture history

Sep 15, 2011 (Started Feb 16, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain in right foot: Can’t tell
  • Perceived effectiveness for Digestive problems: Can’t tell
  • Perceived effectiveness for Muscle and joint pain: Can’t tell
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Can’t tell
  • Perceived effectiveness for Hypersensitivity in right foot: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: Every Other Week

Mar 9, 2011 (Started Feb 16, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Digestive problems: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fatigue: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Muscle and joint pain: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain in right foot: None
  • Perceived effectiveness for Hypersensitivity in right foot: None
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: Weekly

  • 0 helpful marks
SParker
15871 thumb
SParker
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: none
Arms: moderate
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I am: g
I have:
ALS

See SParker's full Acupuncture history

Sep 15, 2011 (Started Jan 27, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Weekly
Cost: $100-199 monthly

Feb 18, 2010 (Started Jan 27, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Weekly
Advice & Tips: I had to stop with acupuncture because of my heart attack. I plan on starting back as soon as I'm released from my cardiologist. I do feel it helped - my walking was a little better without my AFO after starting acupuncture
Cost: $50-99 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
cpt_c_pike
36942 thumb
cpt_c_pike
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Bulbar: none
Arms: severe
Chest: mild
Legs: moderate
I am: n
I have:
ALS

See cpt_c_pike's full Acupuncture history

Aug 24, 2011 (Started Jun 08, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Slight
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: M,W,F
Cost: $200+ monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
cpt_c_pike
36942 thumb
cpt_c_pike
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Bulbar: none
Arms: severe
Chest: mild
Legs: moderate
I am: n
I have:
ALS

See cpt_c_pike's full Acupuncture history

Aug 24, 2011 (Started Apr 01, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Somewhat
Cost: $200+ monthly

Aug 19, 2011 (Started Apr 01, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Slight
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: M,W,F
Cost: $200+ monthly

May 3, 2011 (Started Apr 01, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: M,W,F
Cost: $200+ monthly

May 2, 2011 (Started Apr 01, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: M,W,F
Advice & Tips: seek IMNS treatements. Intra Muscular Neural Stimulation. very hard to find, but I had great (short lived) results. improvement in strength, balance & dizziness went away. effect was short lived as i couldnt continue regular treatements to maintain it (in a distant city)

  • 1 helpful mark
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 37 patient evaluations for Acupuncture