14 patient evaluations for Etanercept

jamesjunior
46097-thumb
jamesjunior
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 32
Condition: Ankylosing Spondylitis
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Mild
I am: n
I have:
Ankylosing Spondylitis

See jamesjunior's full Etanercept history

Nov 25, 2012 (Started Jun 11, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Ankylosing Spondylitis: None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 50 mg Weekly
Advice & Tips: I found humera (adalimumab) very effective for 3 years. The effectiveness gradually wore off when my body became resistant. Switched to enbrel to see if there was any difference, I didn't respond. Perhaps when you become resistant to one, you are resistant to them all? I don't know for sure.

  • 0 helpful marks
bigslick25
Portrait_default_thumb
bigslick25
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Sex:
  • Age:
Condition: RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis) 2 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Unreported
  • Physical: Unreported
I have:
RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis)

See bigslick25's full Etanercept history

Jul 25, 2012 (Started Jul 25, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis): None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 50 mg Weekly

  • 0 helpful marks
frantasm
46851-thumb
frantasm
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 39
Condition: RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Unreported
  • Physical: Unreported
I am: n
I have:
RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis)

See frantasm's full Etanercept history

Jul 10, 2012 (Started Jan 05, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis): Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 50 mg Weekly
Advice & Tips: Enbrel helped clear up my acne which is nice. I combat the itching/swelling at the injection site by leaving the medicine out for 45min before injecting. Then I immediately apply anti-itch cream to about an inch or two circle around the site.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
pa_bling
Portrait_default_thumb
pa_bling
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 27
Condition: Psoriatic Arthritis
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: Mild
I have:
Psoriatic Arthritis

See pa_bling's full Etanercept history

Apr 21, 2012 (Started Jul 01, 2005)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Psoriatic Arthritis: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: 50 mg Weekly

  • 0 helpful marks
lbarbeedoll
40624-thumb
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See lbarbeedoll's full Etanercept history

Jan 1, 2011 (Started Jan 01, 2004)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Psoriatic Arthritis: None
  • Perceived effectiveness for Psoriasis: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little

  • 0 helpful marks
llamaem
Portrait_default_thumb
llamaem
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 31
Condition: RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Moderate
I am: b
I have:
RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis)

See llamaem's full Etanercept history

Aug 15, 2010 (Started Jun 30, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis): Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: 50 mg Weekly
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
llamaem
Portrait_default_thumb
llamaem
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 31
Condition: RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Moderate
I am: b
I have:
RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis)

See llamaem's full Etanercept history

Jun 30, 2010 (Started May 15, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis): Moderate
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Very
Dosage: 50 mg Weekly
Advice & Tips: If you can't stand the sting of the SureClick injection, try the 25 mg multi-use vials. You mix them yourself so they don't have preservatives, which is what made the SureClick sting so bad for me.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
komodolover
3010-thumb
komodolover
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Depression: 1
Mania: 0
Emotional: 1
Anxiety: 2
Compulsion: 1
External Stress: Low
34 F
Function: High
Distress: Low
I am: b
I have:
Bipolar I

See komodolover's full Etanercept history

Apr 29, 2010 (Started Sep 17, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Psoriatic Arthritis: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 50 mg Weekly
Cost: < $25 monthly

Aug 17, 2009 (Started Sep 17, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Psoriatic Arthritis: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: 50 mg Weekly
Advice & Tips: If you are experiencing pain when injecting after letting the syringe get to room temp, ice the injection area before injecting for about 10-12 minutes and then inject. Also if you get localized swelling and redness right after, put the ice pack on the area you just injected where the localized swelling is for a few minutes. Also, when I first started Enbrel I never bruised but now on many occasions I do bruise from the injections. (just tiny bruises) Never inject in the same spot, I generally switch thighs each time.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 1 helpful mark
BrainStain4
5141-thumb
BrainStain4
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Relapse: Moderate
Sensation: Mild
Overall: Mild
Cognition: moderate
Vision: mild
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I have:
MS

See BrainStain4's full Etanercept history

Mar 29, 2010 (Started Feb 10, 2006)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Other: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 50 mg Weekly
Advice & Tips: I was on Enbrel for over 4 years (before MS dx), and it did wonders for my rheumatoid arthritis condition. When I was dxed with MS, my rhematologist was concerned about keeping me on Enbrel, so he discussed it with my neuro. My neuro said it was fine for me to stay on Enbrel, and two other neuros agreed. I changed my insurance this year, so I could see an MS Specialist and the first thing he did was have me stop taking Enbrel because he said it was making my MS worse!
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
{Kat}
20304-thumb
{Kat}
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Depression: 1
Mania: 0
Emotional: 0
Anxiety: 0
Compulsion: 0
External Stress: Low
33 F
Function: High
Distress: Low
I am: n
I have:
Major Depressive Disorder

See {Kat}'s full Etanercept history

Mar 26, 2010 (Started Jun 24, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Rheumatoid Arthritis: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 50 mg Weekly
Advice & Tips: Five years ago I tried Enbrel. I had never felt better in my entire life! Then a few months after I started taking it I noticed that I no longer felt so good, and a month after that I felt horrible. It went from the BEST I had ever felt to the WORST I had ever felt in my entire life. Having had JRA * since I was two years old that is saying a LOT! { *Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis } Now that I've been back on it again for nearly a year it is back to working, and I could not be happier! Truly as long as you do not get sick, Enbrel is one of the best of the new treatments for RA! Previous Side-effects :: I must say before when I was on it I used to bruse very, very badly. So badly in fact that there were times when I could not have the injection done on that part of my leg. Current Side-effects: The brusing is minimal, to nonexistent. Additonal Information ~ Enbrel used to be in a bottle, and you would mix the amount for injection yourself. I must say it is the preservative that burns! Take my advice on this: If you can get, and feel comfortable mixing your own -- Do it! I would go back to that in a heartbeat, but I've never been able to find a pharmacy that could tell me if it is still available like that or not. And: Do NOT Use The EpiPen! Not unless you have to. It bruised me SO badly that I could hardly walk for two weeks! I would not use an EpiPen if my life depended on it. I'm So happy my new doctor listened to me when I said, "I no longer have the range of motion to give myself the injection for one, and for two I cannot even push the EpiPen button anyway." There is NO way I'd go back to using the EpiPen. Although I know the reasoning behind it (To allow people with limited range of motion to inject themselves) I do not see the point of a device that makes the injectable so painful, and bruises you so severely you cannot walk for half a month. Conclusion ~ ALWAYS have the person doing the injections somebody who has done the same type injections on themselves. They do a much better job! Now I look forward to having my weekly injection. In fact I actually get excited about it! Maybe I'm just at the point where I am telling myself it IS working again, and it is going to continue to work for me.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Bruising

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 14 patient evaluations for Etanercept