14 patient evaluations for Azathioprine

kaywile
34649 thumb
kaywile
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 52
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus 12 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Severe
  • Physical: Moderate
I am: vb
I have:
Systemic Lupus Erythematosus

See kaywile's full Azathioprine history

Nov 15, 2013 (Started Mar 13, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Diarrhea chronic: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus: Slight
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 75 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Always listen to your body, if it's aching or sore somewhere, thee is usually a reason for it. Follow up on it and don't let it go.

  • 0 helpful marks
skip47
57441 thumb
skip47
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 67y
  • Organ: Kidney
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
  1. Kidney : 40y Transplanted
I have:
Kidney Transplant

See skip47's full Azathioprine history

Aug 29, 2013 (Started Sep 06, 1974)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Transplant rejection prevention: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Prevent organ rejection: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 14, 2011 (Started Sep 06, 1974)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Prevent organ rejection: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Transplant rejection prevention: Major
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: This treatment had virtually no negative impact on me, with the exception of developing post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorder (lymphoma) over thirty years later. That nearly killed me, but five years passed and I am declared cured, and 37 years after my transplant, my kidney still works well.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 13, 2010 (Started Sep 06, 1974)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Transplant rejection prevention: Major
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Taking two or three pills for life off of dialysis is a no-brainer. I developed lymphoma as a result of the azathioprine, but the chances of getting this are greater for the newer medications. I was initially worried about infections from this med but it has not been much of a problem.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Uncle Buck
19986 thumb
Uncle Buck
Data Quality: 3 stars
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 73y
  • Organ: Heart/Kidney
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
  1. Heart : 8y Transplanted
  2. Kidney : 5y Transplanted
I have:
Heart Transplant

See Uncle Buck's full Azathioprine history

Jun 13, 2013 (Started Mar 18, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Prevent organ rejection: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Transplant rejection prevention: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Cost: $25-49 monthly
Side effects: Night cramps in legs and feet

  • 0 helpful marks
shells360
36559 thumb
shells360
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Mild
Overall: Mild
Cognition: mild
Vision: mild
Speech: mild
Swallowing: mild
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: vg
I have:
MS

See shells360's full Azathioprine history

Feb 6, 2012 (Started Nov 29, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: Slight
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I only discovered the true effect of it once I stopped taking the medication, I immediately had more energy, became so much more alert and able to focus & concentrate better than I had in months, like a heavy cloud had been lifted out of my body.

  • 0 helpful marks
loisa
893 thumb
loisa
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Mild
Overall: None
Cognition: mild
Vision: none
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: none
Walking: none
I am: b
I have:
MS

See loisa's full Azathioprine history

Feb 28, 2011 (Started Mar 26, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Increase effect of another treatment: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Easy to take. My dose was very small and intended to complement Copaxone treatment, as I have several lesions on the spinal cord. My doctor said that the imunossupressants like imuran show some evidence at preventing more lesions on spinal cord. I hope so...
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jun 17, 2010 (Started Mar 26, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Increase effect of another treatment: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 1 helpful mark
KayKirk
19068 thumb
KayKirk
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 50y
  • Organ: Kidney
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: None
  1. Kidney : 24y Transplanted
I have:
Kidney Transplant

See KayKirk's full Azathioprine history

Feb 18, 2011 (Started Oct 26, 1989)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Kidney Transplant: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: for long term use consult a dermatologist regularly and wear sunscreen always.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Skin Sensitivity

  • 0 helpful marks
LIVER PLEASE
24672 thumb
LIVER PLEASE
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 42y
  • Organ: Liver
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: None
  1. Liver : 4y Transplanted
I have:
Liver Transplant

See LIVER PLEASE's full Azathioprine history

Aug 25, 2010 (Started Jul 05, 2004)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Prevent organ rejection: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: hair loss
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Charity Bradley
26722 thumb
Charity Bradley
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Left Eye : none
Right Eye : none
Sensation : moderate
Overall : none
Swallowing : none
Arms : mild
Legs : mild
Bladder/Bowel : none
Spinal Cord : none
I have:
NMO

See Charity Bradley's full Azathioprine history

Jul 26, 2010 (Started Jul 02, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Neuromyelitis Optica: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: This drug made me gain weight and feel depressed and angry.

  • 0 helpful marks
MerryFL
21181 thumb
MerryFL
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 61y
  • Organ: Lung
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: None
  1. Lung : 5y Transplanted
I have:
Lung Transplant

See MerryFL's full Azathioprine history

Apr 16, 2010 (Started Apr 01, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Transplant rejection prevention: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
komodolover
3010 thumb
komodolover
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Depression: 1
Mania: 0
Emotional: 1
Anxiety: 2
Compulsion: 1
External Stress: Low
34 F
Function: High
Distress: Low
I am: b
I have:
Bipolar I

See komodolover's full Azathioprine history

Dec 9, 2009 (Started Apr 17, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Psoriatic Arthritis: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Stomach upset, Generalized weakness (asthenia)

Aug 17, 2009 (Started Apr 17, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Psoriatic Arthritis: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Don't forget to eat with the medicine to avoid stomach upset. Literature states to eat with the medicine as well but not sure if this is for efficacy of the medicine or to prevent stomach problems. Either way, eating helps avoid the stomach problem and I can usually get away with eating a small healthy snack. Always get your blood work done when your doctor requests it.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Stomach upset, Generalized weakness (asthenia)

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 14 patient evaluations for Azathioprine