105 patient evaluations for Topiramate

BradburySauce
30554 thumb
BradburySauce
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: None
Fatigue: Little
Sleep: Little
Stiffness: Little
function: Most
external_stress: Some
Stickman: little
Description:F27y
FM:5y Dx
CFS:5y Dx
I am: n
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See BradburySauce's full Topiramate history

Jan 2, 2011 (Started Jul 01, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Support weight loss: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I originally took Topiramate because I was (wrongly)diagnosed with chronic migraines. On it, I lost 20 pounds. Since getting my diagnosis of Fibromyalgia, I have since gained 40 pounds. My doctor and I have decided that going back on Topiramate might help me get back to a healthy weight. HOWEVER, I think that the Topiramate is causing me to have increased pain and increased intestinal distress. In addition, the weight loss has been minimal. All of the other medications are too strong for the topiramate's weight-loss effects too take effect.

  • 0 helpful marks
foxmafia
38824 thumb
foxmafia
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Most
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: Little
external_stress: Most
Stickman: all
Description:F31y
FM:4y Dx
I am: b
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See foxmafia's full Topiramate history

Dec 31, 2010 (Started Aug 15, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Migraine headaches: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Borderline Personality Disorder: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat

  • 0 helpful marks
COOPERATI
22007 thumb
COOPERATI
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Depression: 4
Mania: 2
Emotional: 4
Anxiety: 4
Compulsion: 4
External Stress: Overwhelming
40 M
Function: Low
Distress: High
I am: vb
I have:
Schizophrenia

See COOPERATI's full Topiramate history

Dec 4, 2010 (Started Feb 18, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Treat my mood condition(s): Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Bipolar Disorder: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Migraine headaches: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: 200 mg Daily

  • 1 helpful mark
NewportNews
17703 thumb
NewportNews
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 50y
  • Duration: 28 yrs
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Unreported
  • Physical: Unreported
0 seizures
237 weeks ago
I have:
Epilepsy

See NewportNews's full Topiramate history

Oct 27, 2010 (Started Jan 01, 2004)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Hearing loss is becoming more obvious, vision problems are rapidly becoming a problem also. itching of my larger skin areas is an unusual and new problem that could maybe be due to Topamax or the antidepressant Prozac, unsure about this. I have had terrible crying jags and depression over inappropriate issues in the last year or so that was assumed to be due to my aging process, but was recently debunked by a hormonal test. I therefore believe that the Topamax is a more likely suspect.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Weight loss, Blurry vision, Hearing problems, Unexplained itching, Unexplained itching

Feb 15, 2010 (Started Jan 01, 2004)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 400 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: The side effects of Topamax are really tough, but not as tough as others, and certainly not as tough as beating the heck out of yourself and frying your brain during a seizure. I never miss a dose, if I do, I could really end up hurting myself. I take it as exactly to the minute as I can, I do the same with all my meds, and for the last several years since I have been doing this, my seizures have been much less invasive into my life. I also NEVER NEVER take generic epilepsy medication. It must be brand always! Generic is NOT the same, no matter who insists that it is. I can take generic on other medication, but generic Topamax allowed me to have 3 months of severe cluster seizures last year.
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Weight loss, Blurry vision, Hearing problems, Unexplained itching, Unexplained itching

  • 2 helpful marks
kack73
17829 thumb
kack73
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 40y
  • Duration: 26 yrs
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
0 seizures
186 weeks ago
I am: g
I have:
Epilepsy

See kack73's full Topiramate history

Oct 13, 2010 (Started Jan 01, 2000)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Epilepsy: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 500 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Bumps on face

  • 0 helpful marks
Milusita
26102 thumb
Milusita
Sex: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
Pain: Most
Fatigue: All
Sleep: All
Stiffness: Most
function: None
external_stress: Little
Stickman: all
Description:F28y
FM:6y Dx
I am: g
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See Milusita's full Topiramate history

Sep 30, 2010 (Started Sep 03, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Anxious mood: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Neuropathic pain- waist down and hands: Slight
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
4teenyearold
Portrait default thumb
4teenyearold
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Pain: Some
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: Some
Stiffness: Most
function: Most
external_stress: Little
Stickman: most
Description:F18y
FM:5y Dx
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See 4teenyearold's full Topiramate history

Sep 13, 2010 (Started Sep 13, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Migraine headaches: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 150 mg Daily
Side effects: Hands Tingling

  • 0 helpful marks
lilttle_anarchy
28070 thumb
lilttle_anarchy
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 45y
  • Duration: 34 yrs
PRO survey: PRO 3
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: Mild
0 seizures
109 weeks ago
I am: n
I have:
Epilepsy

See lilttle_anarchy's full Topiramate history

Sep 8, 2010 (Started Nov 01, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Increase effect of another treatment: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Headaches: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 200 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
crine312
21539 thumb
crine312
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Depression: 4
Mania: 2
Emotional: 4
Anxiety: 3
Compulsion: 3
External Stress: Severe
36 M
Function: Low
Distress: High
I am: b
I have:
PTSD

See crine312's full Topiramate history

Aug 29, 2010 (Started Jul 09, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Post-traumatic stress disorder: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: Somewhat
Advice & Tips: 1. I feel groggy for about 12+ hours after taking this medication. I usually have to resort to taking Caffeine pills as a small "pick-me-up". 2. No unexpected benefits 3. Too sleepy to function to full capability.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Train
12892 thumb
new ASD member
Data Quality: 2 stars
30 years
Female
n
ATEC
  • Speech: 0
  • Sociability: 2
  • Sensory/Cognitive Awareness: 3
  • Health/Physical Behavior: 11
  • ATEC score: 16
I have:
Asperger's

See Train's full Topiramate history

Aug 1, 2010 (Started Jul 21, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Intracranial hypertension: None
  • Perceived effectiveness for Migraine headaches: None
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Very
Dosage: 50 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 105 patient evaluations for Topiramate