143 patient evaluations for Amitriptyline

whatdabuck
Portrait_default_thumb
whatdabuck
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 22
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus 7 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Moderate
I am: b
I have:
Systemic Lupus Erythematosus

See whatdabuck's full Amitriptyline history

Jul 1, 2012 (Started Mar 26, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Insomnia: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fibromyalgia: None
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 10 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
lilybet
4948-thumb
lilybet
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Depression: 1
Mania: 0
Emotional: 1
Anxiety: 1
Compulsion: 0
External Stress: Overwhelming
54 F
Function: Moderate
Distress: Low
I am: n
I have:
Major Depressive Disorder

See lilybet's full Amitriptyline history

Jun 1, 2012 (Started Sep 06, 2006)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Chronic pain: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fibromyalgia: Major
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 20 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: As an anti-cholinergic, amitriptyline caused the unexpected side-effect of causing my bladder muscle to barely function at all - detrusor aflexia. UTIs were a result, as well as residual urine.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Feb 23, 2012 (Started Sep 06, 2006)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Chronic pain: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fibromyalgia: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 20 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 15, 2011 (Started Sep 06, 2006)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fibromyalgia: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Chronic pain: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 20 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Amitriptyline is first-rate for fibromyalgia, the drug of choice to start with. For me, it improves sleep and pain. Studies have proven this. Not sure about depression, though. I take other meds for that.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
AnninSC
24794-thumb
AnninSC
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: g
I have:
MS

See AnninSC's full Amitriptyline history

May 5, 2012 (Started Jan 01, 2000)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Insomnia: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Feb 16, 2011 (Started Jan 01, 2000)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Insomnia: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 25 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
Ladywolf319
40465-thumb
Ladywolf319
Data Quality: 3 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 30
Condition: CRPS II 29 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Severe
I am: vb
I have:
CRPS II

See Ladywolf319's full Amitriptyline history

Mar 15, 2012 (Started Feb 15, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: None
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fibromyalgia: None
  • Perceived effectiveness for Insomnia: None
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 10 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
origin
Portrait_default_thumb
origin
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 37
Condition: Sjogren's Syndrome 5 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: g
I have:
Sjogren's Syndrome

See origin's full Amitriptyline history

Feb 20, 2012 (Started Dec 15, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: Slight
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 30 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
mardijuel
39810-thumb
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See mardijuel's full Amitriptyline history

Feb 15, 2012 (Started Jan 06, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Difficulty sleeping through night: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Side effects: Weight gain

Sep 29, 2011 (Started Jan 06, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Difficulty sleeping through night: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Endep makes me hungry and crave carbs. So I reduced dose to 25mgs and take it later at night.
Side effects: Weight gain

  • 1 helpful mark
fleur
35733-thumb
fleur
Sex: F
Data Quality: 0 stars
Relapse: Mild
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Mild
Cognition: moderate
Vision: none
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: vg
I have:
MS

See fleur's full Amitriptyline history

Feb 4, 2012 (Started Nov 12, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve communication: Slight
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jul 3, 2011 (Started Nov 12, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve communication: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: the higher dosage caused nighttime incontinence
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
daiggle
Portrait_default_thumb
daiggle
Sex: M
Data Quality: 0 stars
Depression: 1
Mania: 1
Emotional: 2
Anxiety: 1
Compulsion: 4
External Stress: Moderate
62 M
Function: Moderate
Distress: Moderate
I am: g
I have:
ADHD/ADD

See daiggle's full Amitriptyline history

Jan 20, 2012 (Started Apr 25, 1997)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Diabetic Neuropathy: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Treat my mood condition(s): Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 75 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 7, 2010 (Started Apr 25, 1997)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Treat my mood condition(s): Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 75 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I orginally started taking Amptriptyline in the lowest dose for Diabetic Neuropathy, but when I was diagnosed as Bipolar in 2007 the doseage was upped to the current 75 mg to cover both diseases.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jan 11, 2010 (Started Apr 25, 1997)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Treat my mood condition(s): Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 75 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
jrmccraney
39818-thumb
jrmccraney
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Most
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: Little
external_stress: Some
Stickman: all
Description:F53y
CFS:12y Dx
FM:12y Dx
I am: b
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See jrmccraney's full Amitriptyline history

Dec 31, 2011 (Started Jul 01, 2002)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Insomnia: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Fibromyalgia: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: This definitely helps with the problems I have sleeping, getting to sleep, staying asleep, getting restorative sleep, depression, and pain. I can tell more when I miss 2 or more nights, usually caused by a refill problem. I try to never run out and have to go without a dose. Missing doses causes all my problems like with sleeping, pain, and depression to become worse and my other medications don't seem as effective. I really take a nose dive if more than 2 doses are missed. Missing only 1 is tolerable, missing anymore becomes a big problem. I get anxious, teary, sleepless, and I feel hopeless. It is a horrible feeling.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
grampa
17520-thumb
grampa
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Mood: Good
Cognition: Mild
Autonomic: Mild
Head: moderate
Arms: severe
Legs: moderate
Tremors: none
I am: vg
I have:
MSA

See grampa's full Amitriptyline history

Dec 3, 2011 (Started Oct 01, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Reduce muscle tension at bedtime: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I tried taking 1/2 dosage for 1-2 weeks, since any pain symptoms had stopped. I found that when I woke up in the morning, muscle tension was increasing to the point of discomfort. I immediately resumed the prescribed dosage (25 mg).
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 14, 2011 (Started Oct 01, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Reduce muscle tension at bedtime: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: was more important when I had pain at bedtime
Cost: < $25 monthly

Apr 9, 2011 (Started Oct 01, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Reduce muscle tension at bedtime: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: No negative side effects; most days are pain-free, but don't know if this is just where I am today, or whether the drug is contributing
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jun 28, 2010 (Started Oct 01, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Muscle tension: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Feb 8, 2010 (Started Oct 01, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Muscle tension: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 25 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: In low dosage, it helped me to relax muscles and overcome pain to sleep better
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 143 patient evaluations for Amitriptyline