18 patient evaluations for Alpha Lipoic Acid

westchester
28168 thumb
westchester
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: mild
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: severe
I am: g
I have:
MS

See westchester's full Alpha Lipoic Acid history

Oct 29, 2013 (Started May 12, 2005)

  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 250 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
EdSikov
52249 thumb
EdSikov
Sex: M
Data Quality: 3 stars
On
Mouth/throat: none
Arms: mild
Chest: mild
Legs: mild
I am: n
I have:
Parkinson's

See EdSikov's full Alpha Lipoic Acid history

Jan 11, 2013 (Started Sep 25, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
16777216
41244 thumb
16777216
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Sensation: None
Overall: None
Cognition: none
Vision: none
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: none
Walking: none
I am: vg
I have:
MS

See 16777216's full Alpha Lipoic Acid history

Nov 4, 2012 (Started Jan 01, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I take this mostly every day. It is difficult for me to say this drug does anything specific. I know it is an antioxidant that naturally occurs in the body and is used in respiration. I find that I am less tired when I take this drug. For more information visit this website for the exact form I take: http://www.lef.org/Vitamins-Supplements/Item01208/Super-R-Lipoic-Acid.html 16777216
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jan 8, 2012 (Started Jan 01, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: I am currently trying this naturally occurring, but synthetically produced drug. I haven't taken this long enough to see any definite positive effects toward MS symptoms. I don't have symptoms of MS often enough to make a definite correlation anyway. It seems to have made it more easy to stay up late, without feeling tired or becoming sluggish. This supplement (not a vitamin) is crucial to chemical respiration, recommended for MS by holistic doctors in MS society magazines, it has been shown to be at low levels in people suffering from conic illness. I don't believe it has any negative symptoms, but take at your own risk not evaluated by the FDA.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
binet
37677 thumb
binet
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: moderate
Arms: severe
Chest: mild
Legs: moderate
I am: n
I have:
ALS

See binet's full Alpha Lipoic Acid history

Oct 13, 2012 (Started Sep 08, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Heavy Metal Toxicity: None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 100 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
Dawn Angel
12044 thumb
Dawn Angel
Sex: F
Data Quality: 2 stars
On
Mouth/throat: none
Arms: none
Chest: none
Legs: mild
I am: n
I have:
Parkinson's

See Dawn Angel's full Alpha Lipoic Acid history

Mar 8, 2012 (Started Jun 01, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Neuroprotection: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 1200 mg Daily
Cost: $50-99 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
expastrychef
12697 thumb
expastrychef
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: mild
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I have:
MS

See expastrychef's full Alpha Lipoic Acid history

Feb 15, 2012 (Started Jan 22, 2006)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 300 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Feb 23, 2009 (Started Jan 22, 2006)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 600 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
walksalot
Portrait default thumb
walksalot
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 61
Condition: Colon Cancer
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Unreported
  • Physical: Unreported
I am: g
I have:
Colon Cancer

See walksalot's full Alpha Lipoic Acid history

Nov 30, 2011 (Started Sep 27, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Peripheral neuropathy in hands and feet: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 600 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: It's possible that the numbness in my fingertips eased slightly while I was taking a-lipoic acid, but such easing could just as well have happened on its own. Can't say anything conclusive about efficacy of the treatment.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Oct 9, 2011 (Started Sep 27, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Peripheral neuropathy in hands and feet: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 600 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: There has been one small study of colon cancer patients with peripheral neuropathy caused by oxaliplatin. Some of the participants noticed an improvement in their symptoms. Alpha lipoic acid counteracts the effect of some chemo drugs, notably 5-FU. If my doc starts me back up on Xeloda, I'll likely have to stop the alpha lipoic acid.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
DannyD
13 thumb
DannyD
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: moderate
Arms: mild
Chest: moderate
Legs: moderate
I am: n
I have:
ALS

See DannyD's full Alpha Lipoic Acid history

Nov 12, 2011 (Started Dec 01, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis): None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 600 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: It is an inexpensive treatment that is easy to take (1 pill a day). I didn't notice any difference one way or the other. I decided since I saw no benefit that I would try to find better use for the money.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Koendv
14514 thumb
Koendv
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: none
Arms: severe
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I am: vg
I have:
PMA

See Koendv's full Alpha Lipoic Acid history

Jul 24, 2011 (Started Mar 01, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for PMA (Progressive Muscular Atrophy): Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Oct 1, 2009 (Started Mar 01, 2008)

  • Perceived effectiveness for PMA (Progressive Muscular Atrophy): Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Never
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 100 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
fki2001
20396 thumb
fki2001
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: none
Arms: severe
Chest: moderate
Legs: severe
I am: n
I have:
ALS

See fki2001's full Alpha Lipoic Acid history

Jul 23, 2011 (Started Jul 01, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for antioxidant: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 500 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 18 patient evaluations for Alpha Lipoic Acid