112 patient evaluations for Prednisone

fluboe
48241 thumb
fluboe
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 38
Condition: Crohn's Disease 7 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: g
I have:
Crohn's Disease

See fluboe's full Prednisone history

May 31, 2014 (Started Sep 06, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Gastrointestinal (GI) bleeding: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Crohn's Disease: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Crohn's flare up: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 60 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Expect weight gain and nervousness, for sure... probably insomnia too. Never go off of the medication without TAPERING the doseage down. Once you start tapering down and your flare-up has subsided, you can take more of the doseage in the morning than in the evening. In fact, once I get down to 40mg/day I take one 20mg tab as early in the morning as possible and then the other 20mg tab around noon. After a few days of this, I start sleeping better (though sometimes it is still hard to get to sleep). Taking melatonin or other herbal sleep remedies can help at night, as well. If I do happen to get tired during the day I take advantage of it and nap. The anxiousness just sort of comes with the territory. For me, it goes away once I'm down to about 20mg per day. It is bearable because I know the reason and I know that I'd rather be anxious than bleeding to death from Crohn's disease. :P I have noticed that this time my mood seems to be much better than usual. Even when I don't feel physically very good, I seem to have a positive mental outlook, which is super rare for me.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 6, 2013 (Started Sep 06, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Gastrointestinal (GI) bleeding: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Crohn's Disease: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Crohn's flare up: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 60 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
MintyPanda
47621 thumb
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See MintyPanda's full Prednisone history

May 27, 2014 (Started May 06, 2014)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Chronic bronchitis: Major
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: 10 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Just don't get prescribed the stuff. The costs usually outweigh the benefits.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
sierramama
60698 thumb
sierramama
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 65
Condition: Lyme 8 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: b
I have:
Lyme

See sierramama's full Prednisone history

Feb 17, 2014 (Started Dec 20, 2005)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Inflammation: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 24 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: BP is high..need to taper down
Cost: < $25 monthly

Feb 12, 2014 (Started Dec 20, 2005)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Inflammation: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 24 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: This drug is a double edged sword. It has controlled my symptoms better than any other drug. But the long term usage (8years) has suppressed my adrenals to the point that they make the taper very difficult. I am at 25 mg. and going to try a very slow taper of .5mg/month. Any faster and the withdrawal symptoms are so difficult. I will talk to my doctor this week about whether I need to add methotrexate before attempting the taper. The less prednisone I take the more pain med I require.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jan 12, 2014 (Started Dec 20, 2005)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Inflammation: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 20 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: This has been the only drug that has improved my quality of life. It is the biggest help for pain. BUT...I was put on it and not tapered off until my body had become totally dependent and my adrenal glands suppressed for too long and will not work now. I personally believe I now have adrenal insufficiency from being on prednisone way too long. I am hoping the appt I have with a new Rheumatologist will provide some fresh approach and answers. IF I taper down more than 1/2mg over 1-2 weeks I have a major flare. Can not think, hard to function and move. Right now I am on 20mg.

  • 0 helpful marks
purpleskies
9865 thumb
purpleskies
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 28
Condition: RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis) 8 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Severe
  • Physical: Mild
I am: g
I have:
RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis)

See purpleskies's full Prednisone history

Nov 12, 2013 (Started Sep 11, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis): Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: 7.5 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
tmmjclole
28640 thumb
tmmjclole
Sex: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
Relapse: Moderate
Sensation: Severe
Overall: Severe
Cognition: severe
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: severe
Walking: moderate
I am: b
I have:
MS

See tmmjclole's full Prednisone history

Oct 14, 2013 (Started Feb 22, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Pneumonia: None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 50 mg Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
skcusorbif
35215 thumb
skcusorbif
Sex: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
Pain: Most
Fatigue: All
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: Little
external_stress: All
Stickman: all
Description:F57y
CFS:7y Dx
FM:?y
I am: b
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See skcusorbif's full Prednisone history

Aug 8, 2013 (Started Aug 15, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Bee stings: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Advice & Tips: Stay off your feet or support your arm if its a limb that has been affected. In my case it was my ankle I was stung by a nasty wasp. My ankle swelled up to the point I could not walk without a cane. My rheumy had me on Prednisone (my first experience) for about 5-7 days. The swelling went down the next day I was glad it worked so quickly but wanted to hurry up and get of it because of the side affects it can do to some people. I know it takes a longer period for that but why expose myself to a drug that can do that kind of damage? The only thing is the swelling returned after I stopped the drug but it was slight still fairly painful and held a small pocket of fluid for almost 5 wks. Went in for a second round of treatment after feeling the swelling wasn't going down on its own. It didn't change a thing so I stopped taking it after 3 days. My MD wrote me a script for another anti-inflammatory to try, it failed because of a side affect diarrhea but may work for others. Know your drugs even if the meds are in your hands already knowledge is power. I need to add that this sting was very painful and the Prednisone took most of that away overnight just by reducing the bulk of the swelling.

  • 0 helpful marks
MargotGlass
44989 thumb
MargotGlass
Data Quality: 2 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 30
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus 1 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: Mild
I am: b
I have:
Systemic Lupus Erythematosus

See MargotGlass's full Prednisone history

Jul 14, 2013 (Started Jun 01, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Advice & Tips: I will no longer take Prednisone at any dosage. It makes me feel like I'm losing my mind. Extreme weepiness, depression, anger. For me, it is awful.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jul 11, 2013 (Started Jun 01, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jun 1, 2013 (Started Jun 01, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Advice & Tips: Wane down carefully as prescribed. I started with 20 mg daily last month, and after 2 weeks, went to 15 mg for 4 days, then 10 mg for 4 days, and I will get to 5 mg.
Cost: < $25 monthly

Apr 19, 2012 (Started Jun 01, 2013)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Systemic Lupus Erythematosus: Can’t tell
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Advice & Tips: I hated being on Prednisone, and was never able to see if it had positive effects because I stopped after a couple months. The bloating, weight gain, and moodiness were too much for me to handle. I gained 10-15 pounds while taking it (which is quite extreme on my petite 5'2'' frame). Also, my mood swings were uncontrollable. The drug wasn't for me, and possibly because I was put on too high of a dosage. Because of my bad experience, I never take steroids, unless it is a 1-time injection to help my immune system beat a cold.

  • 0 helpful marks
glemi
Portrait default thumb
glemi
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 66
Condition: Polymyositis
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: None
I have:
Polymyositis

See glemi's full Prednisone history

Mar 20, 2013 (Started Dec 22, 2009)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Polymyositis: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 5 mg Daily
Advice & Tips: Try to get by on the lowest dose possible !
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
LSK
12214 thumb
LSK
Sex: F
Data Quality: 3 stars
Relapse: Mild
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: severe
Vision: none
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: mild
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: g
I have:
MS

See LSK's full Prednisone history

Jan 31, 2013 (Started Feb 09, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Asthma: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Asthma: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 5 mg Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly
Side effects: Weight gain

Feb 27, 2010 (Started Feb 09, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Asthma: Major
  • Side Effects: Moderate
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 10 mg Daily
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Weight gain

Feb 17, 2010 (Started Feb 09, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Asthma: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 10 mg Daily
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Weight gain

  • 0 helpful marks
glad2Balive
Portrait default thumb
glad2Balive
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 66
PF Severity:
I am: n
I have:
Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis

See glad2Balive's full Prednisone history

Dec 12, 2012 (Started Apr 13, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis: Major
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Very
Advice & Tips: The Prednisone dosage began at 10 mg (with 1200 mg of NAC) and gradually reached 40 mg, then was slowly decreased as I began azathioprine; now I take azathiaprine with the NAC which seem to be keeping the disease from encroaching. The prednisone treatment at 40 mg a day for 18 months was extremely negative on my daily life but also extremely effective on my IPF!
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 112 patient evaluations for Prednisone