44 patient evaluations for Physical Exercise

bokocrew
58685 thumb
bokocrew
Data Quality: 3 stars
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 21
Condition: Hypermobility Syndrome 7 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Moderate
  • Physical: Mild
I am: b
I have:
Hypermobility Syndrome

See bokocrew's full Physical Exercise history

Oct 31, 2013 (Started Oct 15, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for stress relieve: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: As needed
Advice & Tips: More energy daily, better mood etc.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
StrkL
16679 thumb
StrkL
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Off
Mouth/throat: mild
Arms: none
Chest: none
Legs: moderate
I am: g
I have:
Parkinson's

See StrkL's full Physical Exercise history

Oct 16, 2012 (Started Aug 01, 1965)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Support mental / emotional health: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Parkinson's Disease: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Mood: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 50 min Daily
Advice & Tips: I exercise for strength, endurance, flexibility, balance, speed, and coordination. For details see http://home.earthlink.net/~strkl/
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Muscle aches, Fatigue

Oct 17, 2011 (Started Aug 01, 1965)

  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Mood: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 40 min Daily
Advice & Tips: I've worked really hard on my balance. In fact, it's now the best it's ever been. I listed balance exercises I do at http://home.earthlink.net/~strkl/goals/balance.html I listed a type of exercise that seems to help with my dystonia at http://home.earthlink.net/~strkl/special/ dystonia.html
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Muscle aches, Fatigue

Jul 8, 2011 (Started Aug 01, 1965)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Mood: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 40 min Daily
Advice & Tips: I have noticed that if I miss about three days of exercise, my medications don't work nearly as well. So one of the unexpected positive effects of exercise is that I need less medication that I would need otherwise. Also, while (mild) fatigue is a side effect, I have much more energy when I exercise regularly, than when I don't. I usually exercise first thing in the morning, because that's when I feel the best. If I exercise in the afternoon, I tend to freeze unless I take a nap first.
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Muscle aches, Fatigue

Dec 26, 2010 (Started Aug 01, 1965)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Mood: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 40 min Daily
Advice & Tips: I'm lumping all my aerobic exercise (exercise bike, walking, running, elliptical) into one category - physical exercise. I do about forty minutes each day. I still list weights separately. I've found that my Parkinson's is much better controlled when I exercise regularly. The cost I list is the cost of my gym membership, plus a little extra for shoes and exercise clothes.
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Muscle aches, Fatigue

Oct 3, 2010 (Started Aug 01, 1965)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Mood: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 40 min Daily
Advice & Tips: As of Sept 2010, I am exercising about forty minutes a day. Most days I will combine exercise bicycle with walking and some running. One day a week I will warm up for ten to fifteen minutes on an exercise bike and/or some walking, then lift weights for about half an hour.
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Muscle aches, Fatigue

Nov 29, 2009 (Started Aug 01, 1965)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve mobility: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Mood: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 30 min Daily
Advice & Tips: See my evaluations of exercise bicycle, elliptical trainer, walking, weight training, and running. I've been exercising regularly - mostly running - for over forty years. One major unexpected benefit - I almost never get sick - I seldom get as much as a cold.
Cost: $50-99 monthly
Side effects: Muscle aches, Fatigue

  • 1 helpful mark
Gabryel
39910 thumb
Gabryel
Sex: M
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Some
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: All
Stiffness: All
function: Little
external_stress: Little
Stickman: all
Description:M46y
CFS:13y Dx
FM:14y Dx
I am: n
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See Gabryel's full Physical Exercise history

Jun 1, 2012 (Started Jan 10, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Muscle and joint pain: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: Moderate
  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: 60 min Daily
Cost: $25-49 monthly

Jan 10, 2012 (Started Jan 10, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for General health: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Pain: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Muscle and joint pain: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Very
Dosage: 60 min Daily

  • 0 helpful marks
strawberryebay1
40940 thumb
strawberryebay1
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Relapse: Severe
Sensation: Moderate
Overall: Moderate
Cognition: moderate
Vision: moderate
Speech: moderate
Swallowing: moderate
Upper limb: moderate
Walking: moderate
I am: b
I have:
MS

See strawberryebay1's full Physical Exercise history

Feb 11, 2012 (Started Feb 07, 2012)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Obesity: None
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Sometimes
  • Burden: Very
Advice & Tips: Start Slow, Then Work Your Way Up, If You Have The Energy.
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
beccashere29
33890 thumb
beccashere29
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Pain: Most
Fatigue: Most
Sleep: Some
Stiffness: Most
function: Most
external_stress: Little
Stickman: most
Description:F43y
FM:4y Dx
I am: n
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See beccashere29's full Physical Exercise history

Sep 18, 2011 (Started Apr 04, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fibromyalgia: Major
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 35 min Daily
Side effects: Fatigue

Jun 2, 2011 (Started Apr 04, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Fibromyalgia: Moderate
  • Side Effects: Mild
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Somewhat
Dosage: 35 min Daily
Advice & Tips: I do power 90 with Tony Horton from Beachbody. I absolutely love how it makes me feel!!! It along with Weight Watchers online, has helped me lose inches and 10% of my body weight.
Side effects: Fatigue

  • 0 helpful marks
dray
13679 thumb
dray
Sex: M
Data Quality: 2 stars
Bulbar: moderate
Arms: moderate
Chest: moderate
Legs: moderate
I am: b
I have:
ALS

See dray's full Physical Exercise history

Jul 18, 2011 (Started Apr 04, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Falls: Slight
  • Side Effects: Severe
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Somewhat
Advice & Tips: exercise made my muscles weaken faster
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
theoriginalmattyc
33139 thumb
I have:
Fibromyalgia

See theoriginalmattyc's full Physical Exercise history

Apr 27, 2011 (Started Feb 28, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Obesity: None
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 2 hr Weekly
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
LordPeter
32811 thumb
LordPeter
Data Quality: 1 star
  • Sex: M
  • Age: 63
Condition: Diabetes Type 2
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: None
  • Physical: None
I am: vg
I have:
Diabetes Type 2

See LordPeter's full Physical Exercise history

Apr 20, 2011 (Started May 01, 1996)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Diabetes Type 2: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: A little
Dosage: 20 min Daily
Advice & Tips: I work in the compute industry - lots of sitting in front of a machine. When first diagnosed (1996) I did a lot of walking, jogging, in-line skating, skiing, swimming, etc. and, along with diet and metformin, managed to lose 40 lbs in about 6 months. I moved on to some form of exercise daily - including a weight machine for rainy days plus hard skiing in Winter and hard bicycle riding in summer. In the past 4 years I've cut back to doing about 2 miles every day or two of walking briskly (try to keep up with me, I dare you!) or riding bicycle (top gear 90% of the time on a trail bike but mostly on the road) If I miss more than a couple of days, my energy level goes down and I have to push myself to go out and exercise - then feel MUCH better. Biggest expense was the bike - about $800 back in 1996 and still have it. Next is shoes - worn quite a few pairs out. I'm not counting skiing - that was expensive but worth it. Might go back and do some more but can't afford it currently. Walking is cheap. Don't use the weight machine much (couple of times a year - mostly when it rains for long periods) and will be getting rid of it when we move out of this big house (soon) Climate in Vancouver area lends itself to lots of outdoor exercise most of the year - a blessing.

  • 0 helpful marks
JensDivesion
29050 thumb
JensDivesion
Data Quality: 0 stars
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 41
Condition: Diabetes Type 2 1 additional condition(s)
Quality of Life:
  • Mental: Mild
  • Physical: None
I am: g
I have:
Diabetes Type 2

See JensDivesion's full Physical Exercise history

Apr 13, 2011 (Started Feb 16, 2011)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Diabetes Type 2: Slight
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Very
Dosage: 1 hr Daily
Cost: $25-49 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
OCEANSTARAB
23574 thumb
OCEANSTARAB
Sex: F
Data Quality: 1 star
Sensation: Mild
Overall: None
Cognition: mild
Vision: none
Speech: none
Swallowing: none
Upper limb: mild
Walking: moderate
I am: g
I have:
MS

See OCEANSTARAB's full Physical Exercise history

Jan 24, 2011 (Started Mar 02, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve flexibility/strength: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Walking problems: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Balance problems: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 2 hr Daily
Cost: < $25 monthly

Sep 1, 2010 (Started Mar 02, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Improve flexibility/strength: Slight
  • Perceived effectiveness for Walking problems: Major
  • Perceived effectiveness for Balance problems: Moderate
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 2 hr Daily
Advice & Tips: I have been going to the gym 3 times/week to strengthen whole body. It's been 2 months now and I feel the difference. I also made it to the 1 mile mark on the tread mill!!
Cost: < $25 monthly

Jun 3, 2010 (Started Mar 02, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Usually
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 2 hr Daily
Advice & Tips: MS and exercise go hand in hand. Exercise is a must with MS and people need more education on why!
Cost: < $25 monthly

Mar 2, 2010 (Started Mar 02, 2010)

  • Perceived effectiveness for Multiple Sclerosis: Major
  • Side Effects: None
  • Adherence: Always
  • Burden: Not at all
Dosage: 2 hr Daily
Advice & Tips: My Neurologist sent me to this program, because in Jan, 2010, he noticed my MS had progressed. My progression was minimal, but my balance was off when walking. I started the program on March 2, 2010 and they kept me for 7 weeks. Every Tuesday and Thursday afternoon was my appointment time...same days and time every week. I had an OT, a PT, and a social worker who I still see once a week. My first visit was a 2 1/2 assessment to see where I was with my MS. First they timed me walking. They wanted to see how many meters I could walk in 6 min. I had to walk as fast as I could plus it was done for Cardio. Wow! Then had me do different exercises, stretches etc. to see how much strength I had. My core was weak. Trying to do the "Plank" was impossible. I couldn't raise my upper body off the bed no matter how hard I tried. My first appointment was brutal. I called it "THE BIGGEST LOOSER, MS STYLE". I'm not joking. They pushed you so you would go beyond what you thought you were capable of. First 200 meters of fast walking, then an exercise. Back out to the hall and another 200 meters of walking. Back to the room for a different exercise! This went on for 45 minutes. The break(s) allowed were only for a drink of water! :( I really didn't think I could go through this again. My heart beating, tired legs, tired everything. I had a exercise program to do at home when I wasn't at the clinic. After the first two weeks it did get easier. My heart rate felt ok. My walking distance improved 110% and I felt great. My last day there I had to go through another assessment...just like the one I did at the beginning. Turned out I did improve more than I thought I was capable of. Now I go for walks where I have flat ground, and hills. I wear my brace (AFO) plus use "TREKKING POLES". I'm amazed how much better I feel. I do have bad days, but everyone has those. I feel much better than I did and a lot more positive! Everyone is different, but if a program like this is in your area I can't stress enough how much better it makes you feel. I am from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada and it was called the CHRIS PROGRAM. It was covered by Alberta Health Care so that was a bonus. The program wasn't just for MS patients. There were guys with MD, people who had strokes among people who suffered from other chronic diseases. A PROGRAM THAT CHANGED MY ATTITUDE, MADE ME MORE POSITIVE (no negativity was allowed) AND MADE ME REALIZE I CAN DO IT. Now I know I may have limitations, but I'm still alive. Maybe I can't climb a mountain, but I do know I have skills that I could do just as good or better than someone without a chronic condition. We all have strengths and weaknesses and WITH A POSITIVE MIND YOU CAN DO ANYTHING YOU PUT YOUR MIND TO! Thanks for reading this. It was an experience I'll never forget! ;)
Cost: < $25 monthly

  • 0 helpful marks
Last updated:
Showing 10 of 44 patient evaluations for Physical Exercise